We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great choice for the Paharganj area”
Review of Hotel Lal's Haveli

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Lal's Haveli
Ranked #108 of 715 Hotels in New Delhi
Certificate of Excellence
Osaka, Japan
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“A great choice for the Paharganj area”
Reviewed 28 February 2010

Super eager to please staff, and genuine too. They will go the extra mile, including coming out to the street to get a good auto rickshaw price for you, or even running out to get you a pair of socks should you run out of clean ones! The room was spotless (if only Delhi wasn't so nasty, but I digress....), with wall to wall carpet that wasn't in the least bit gross. Comfy Indian-style bed (think foam futon with better support), satelite TV with some English channels, and plenty of hot water.

I was reading some earlier reviews, and I have to say that the room service food was good (and I've eaten a number of room service meals in India), and the laundry service was good too. Of course, there's also great food just outside your doorstep, including the all-vegetarian restaurant on the ground floor of the hotel. All you can eat veggie indian food for 60 rupees!

My one complaint would be that there's no internet service in the room, or anywhere in the hotel. You have to use an internet cafe nearby. Really, in this day and age, even for a hotel in this class, I'd expect free (or a nominal charge) wi-fi in the room.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kevboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    105
    115
    35
    8
    12
See reviews for
47
76
63
28
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
bangalore
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 29 January 2010

Lal's haveli though in a very busy and crowded area, the insides are really very tastely made and the ambience is quite good. The rooms are very good for their price. The manager and staff are quite courteous. Only problem is the quality of the in house food. Its better to have food outside. For everything else Lal's haveli is a very good VFM stay near New Delhi railway station.

  • Liked — Courteous Staff
  • Disliked — In House Restaurant
  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank SupraTE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kolkata
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2010

I stayed there with my family in last September 2 times. In first phase we stayed there in a AC room for 2 days and in next phase for 1 day in a non AC room.

This hotel is located in Multani dhanda near New delhi railway station (about 5 min in auto ride). Location wise neither too good nor too bad either. But be beware of trouts in new delhi railway station as well as in the auto or rickshaw stand.

Here rooms are well decorated, room service is fare. The hotel has a roof top restaurant with can serve ok ok food. In summer it is impossible to seat in the roof top during lunch time so you better plan accordingly. The hotel has water purifier as well for drinking water.

The biggest disadvantage of this hotel is all rooms are too much hot and humid. You can suffer during the day time even with AC. Donot book any non AC room in summer because it is next to impossible to stay in those rooms without AC.

  • Liked — Located close to New delhi railway station
  • Disliked — Rooms are not very spacious and very hot
  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vaskar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cary, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2010

The hotel has excellent location.Nice staff.However the laundry facilities were poor.We stayed there only for 3 days.The overall experience was nice.It was nice and economic.

  • Liked — Good location,friendly stuff
  • Disliked — Laundry service and room cleaning needs to be emphasised
  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank somu_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, CA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 January 2010

We were getting into Delhi late at night and wanted to be able to book online ahead of time. We did this twice: the first time, we stayed at Hotel Tara Palace in Old Delhi, and the second time we stayed at Hotel Lal's Haveli. Hotel Lal's Haveli was a much better value - the rooms were nice and clean with hot water all of the time, for about half of what we paid at Hotel Tara Palace. The hotel is a short walk from the main traveler strip at Paharganj - convenient so you can walk over there for internet access or if you're craving a shot of Western food, but far enough that you don't have to spend all of your time listening to Bob Marley music and backpackers talking about their latest travels. The staff was super friendly and efficient, and they let us leave luggage there after checkout for the day for free - we tried to give them money and they refused! Great value for the money, and highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pollywog75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2010

I was coming to Delhi for one week from the U.S. There's nothing worse than having to hunt down a hotel at 1am, and I just wanted to know that I had a place to lay my head when I arrived in crazy Delhi. I picked this place because it was around $20/night on hotels.com and had fairly good reviews here.

Things did not get off to a good start. I had called from the U.S. to arrange airport pickup. You know that feeling you get when you arrive in a foreign country and someone is waiting for you with a sign with your name on it? Well, something went wrong, no airport pickup. I was not pleased. HOWEVER, if you stay here, you don't need to pay the $16 they're asking. Just go outside to the prepaid taxi stand, tell them you're going to the Pahar Ganj area and it'll cost you about $6 !!! But be sure to bring the tel number of the hotel with you, as the taxi driver won't know how to get there (even with an address). My taxi stopped near the New Delhi train station to get directions and we were nearly fleeced -- a guy came out of a "tourist office" and said "your manager is in here, come, hotel around the corner". We nearly fell for it. But I told the driver to take off, and eventually we found the hotel. (The touts around the New Delhi train station are legendary.)

The rooms themselves are ordinary. The TV gets cable, which is nice, and you've got a phone. And hot water. But there's not enough pressure to run a shower, so you have to shower Indian-fashion in a sitting position under the faucet. That may not be everyone's cup of tea. You get used to it. There were one or two roaches in the room. The mattress is about 5" thick and pretty hard. But I've been to hotels in Pahar Ganj (like Major's Den) where they don't even give you a damn sheet, so the bedding is forgiveable.

The rooftop restaurant is pretty abysmal, but room service is cheap as hell. The hotel boasts internet, but to get it you have to cross the alley to a tiny, dingy internet cafe where the power fluctuates and the connection is slow as mud. Par for the course.

Hotel staff was okay. Nothing special, but not bad.

Basically, as others have said, this hotel is okay as a place to catch some Zzzzz's when you arrive in Delhi, get your bearings, get over the jetlag, and then find something better. Get a room away from the street to avoid the noise morning and night. I stayed here for 4 days, then went on and stayed at the Maharaja, just down the street. I liked the latter better -- the rooms were cheerier, and there was free wifi in the rooms, all for 700 rs (about 40% less than Lal's Haveli).

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled solo
    • Location
Helpful?
4 Thank derekmayfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Billericay, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
166 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2010

We stayed at this hotel three times all without prior booking, the third time we had the last remainig room which was dingy but like all the others very clean. The staff were attentive and helpful and the rooftop restaurant was pleasant. We would stay here again it was good value for money.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank judybrazil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
Pahar Ganj
Treebo Natraj Yes Please
Treebo Natraj Yes Please
#77 of 715 in New Delhi
238 reviews
Pahar Ganj
Cottage Ganga Inn
Cottage Ganga Inn
#88 of 715 in New Delhi
322 reviews
Hotel Amax Inn
#30 of 715 in New Delhi
715 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pahar Ganj
The White Klove
The White Klove
#145 of 715 in New Delhi
395 reviews
Pahar Ganj
Hotel Hari Piorko
Hotel Hari Piorko
#53 of 715 in New Delhi
1,702 reviews
Pahar Ganj
Hotel Prince Palace Deluxe
Hotel Prince Palace Deluxe
#74 of 715 in New Delhi
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lal's Haveli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lal's Haveli

Property: Hotel Lal's Haveli
Address: 8892-95 Multani Dhanda, New Delhi 110055, India
Region: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi > Pahar Ganj
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#18 Best Value Hotel in New Delhi
#61 Family Hotel in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Lal's Haveli 2*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lal's Haveli as the name indicates, a blend of old world splendour, great eastern traditions and glorious Indian hospitality enhanced by the comfort of the present day of living, it has been designed for the corporate seniors, business men hopping from places, meeting deadlines running the show on the globe. Spacious and bright guest rooms are fitted with air conditioning, heaters, curtains and bed mattresses. The guest rooms are a haven of comfort, there is an aura of gracious olden hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Lal's Haveli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lals Haveli Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing