We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location for budget backpacker”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Ajay Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ajay Guest House
Ranked #497 of 708 Hotels in New Delhi
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
49 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great location for budget backpacker”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2012

Ajay Guest at the Main Bazaar Road in New Delhi has a great location right in the city center. It is known for it's backpackers in the area. The guesthouse is close to the metro station and very convenient to get around Delhi. It also has a delicious restaurant with budget prices and very tasty, simple, honest Indian food. It's a great guesthouse to meet other travellers.

However, there are also some negative points to say about this guesthouse. The rooms were damp, dirty and a bit cold. Although we travelled in the wintertime, we chose not to sleep under the blankets because of the dirtyness. There was also no cleaning service during the 3 nights we stayed here. Finally, they promised a pick up from the airport which they didn't arrange. We had to find the guest house at 3am on our own, which was a dreadful first experience with Delhi.

Overall an average place to stay with great location but not so clean. We feel that there are better places for the same value.

Room Tip: Try to arrive in the daytime!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anthony J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vijay430, General Manager at Ajay Guest House, responded to this review, 23 March 2016
Dear Reviewer,


Thank you for taking your valuable time to provide us with your feedback.

As we always strive to meet and hopefully exceed the expectations of our guest, Our Team is keen to receive feedback from our guests so we have been prompt with sharing the contents of your survey with all departments.

However, we are saddened that you were dissatisfied with your stay.
We do hope that you will allow us another opportunity to welcome you and we would be happy to oversee your reservation to ensure you get a room that does exceed your expectations.
We have frequent return guests, thus I assure you that we will make your stay a memorable one.


Best regards,
Vijay Tiwari
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    52
    36
    9
    31
See reviews for
5
36
48
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
70 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2012 via mobile

ac room costs 800 rupee which is cheap for delhi. the ac works perfect. the room is well equipped with shampoo and toilet paper and such.. relatively clean as well, besides of course the sheets which are stained, typically indian.
the hotel has a small scam going on where your check out time is the same as your check in time... be aware of that, as they intentionally do not make it known.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eilonmorav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vijay430, General Manager at Ajay Guest House, responded to this review, 23 March 2016

Dear Guest


Thank you for choosing to stay at Our Property and for taking out time for such a authentic review.
We strive to customize the experience of each guests and are delighted that our efforts made your stay memorable.

Our entire team looks forward to welcome you back soon.


Warm Regards
Vijay Tiwari
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2012

Had a lovely stay at Ajay guesthouse but it was tainted on our last morning when we had an issue when it came to checking out. We had paid our room fee each night and only had to hand our key in the morning we left but were told that we still needed to pay for 1 more night. This what not true as we had payed each evening but according to their "books" one night was not accounted for.

We had no proof besides our word and it made for a difficult situation. Don't be caught in the same position - when you hand cash over to the person on duty INSIST on a receipt (they don't just hand them out.) This will be your only proof of payment and will avoid the inevatable raised voices and lengthy explanations that you owe them money on checkout...

We had a good stay but due to this blatant dishonesty we will not be back!

Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MannyOnTheMove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vijay430, General Manager at Ajay Guest House, responded to this review, 23 March 2016
Dear Reviewer,


Thank you for taking your valuable time to provide us with your feedback.

As we always strive to meet and hopefully exceed the expectations of our guest, Our Team is keen to receive feedback from our guests so we have been prompt with sharing the contents of your survey with all departments.

However, we are saddened that you were dissatisfied with your stay.
We do hope that you will allow us another opportunity to welcome you and we would be happy to oversee your reservation to ensure you get a room that does exceed your expectations.
We have frequent return guests, thus I assure you that we will make your stay a memorable one.


Best regards,
Vijay Tiwari
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2012

Stayed here for a couple of nights and loved it, great rooms, mine had aircon and a great TV for a decent price. Brown Bread Bakery downstairs (for those that know it from Varanasi), which supports educational projects, is a great place to hang out and meet other travellers. Cheap good wi-fi and a rooftop showing films. Great location too and cheap airport transfers. Can't fault it.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ceris3333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vijay430, General Manager at Ajay Guest House, responded to this review, 23 March 2016

Dear Guest


Thank you for choosing to stay at Our Property and for taking out time for such a authentic review.
We strive to customize the experience of each guests and are delighted that our efforts made your stay memorable.

Our entire team looks forward to welcome you back soon.


Warm Regards
Vijay Tiwari
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria BC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2012

We have stayed at the Ajay Guesthouse several times paying 800 rupees. The staff is what makes it a refuge from the insanity on the street. The rooms tend to be small and dark but the beds are comfortable and the water hot. Not overly clean but acceptable compared to the other hotels in the area. There is a 24 hr coffee shop off the lobby and an internet shop. We found the WIFI did not work in the rooms but was acceptable in the coffee shop.

Room Tip: Like most hotels in this area the Ajay goes straight up off an alley. Most rooms are dark except the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VictoriaBCAnnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vijay430, General Manager at Ajay Guest House, responded to this review, 23 March 2016
Dear Reviewer,


Thank you for taking your valuable time to provide us with your feedback.

As we always strive to meet and hopefully exceed the expectations of our guest, Our Team is keen to receive feedback from our guests so we have been prompt with sharing the contents of your survey with all departments.

However, we are saddened that you were dissatisfied with your stay.
We do hope that you will allow us another opportunity to welcome you and we would be happy to oversee your reservation to ensure you get a room that does exceed your expectations.
We have frequent return guests, thus I assure you that we will make your stay a memorable one.


Best regards,
Vijay Tiwari
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kemble
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2012

I love staying at this place - it is perfect - tucked in off the main bazaar, clean and friendly with great roof top restaurant,excellent facilities and a good vibe.
However, I felt so sad and angry when I learned that the lovely staff NEVER get a day off! They work 12 hours shifts 7 days a week. They are kind and helpful and friendly and efficient which amazes me as they must be extremely tired. I don't feel comfortable staying in a place where this kind of exploitation takes place. Yes, I know it is normal for India but we should take a stand and protest.
Please Ajay's manager give the staff at least one day a week to see their families!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sarajanelawlor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vijay430, General Manager at Ajay Guest House, responded to this review, 23 March 2016

Dear Guest


Thank you for choosing to stay at Our Property and for taking out time for such a authentic review.
We strive to customize the experience of each guests and are delighted that our efforts made your stay memorable.

Our entire team looks forward to welcome you back soon.


Warm Regards
Vijay Tiwari
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2012

Lively feel, even in december. I stayed here when I had to be in Delhi one night to catch a plane back home early next morning.Little hard to find first time, on the Main Bazaar though, right fork from the station, sign is on your left hand side. Airport drop-off is cheap, easily arranged and ready and waiting next morning. Effort has been put into the rooms, to make them much nicer than what you usually get for this price. Ask for clean linnen though. Towels could look less grey.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wietske D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vijay430, General Manager at Ajay Guest House, responded to this review, 23 March 2016

Dear Guest


Thank you for choosing to stay at Our Property and for taking out time for such a authentic review.
We strive to customize the experience of each guests and are delighted that our efforts made your stay memorable.

Our entire team looks forward to welcome you back soon.


Warm Regards
Vijay Tiwari
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
Vivek Hotel
#159 of 708 in New Delhi
3.0 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
Pahar Ganj
Hotel Arjun
Hotel Arjun
#125 of 708 in New Delhi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
Cottage Yes Please
#217 of 708 in New Delhi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pahar Ganj
Hotel Heritage Home
Hotel Heritage Home
#310 of 708 in New Delhi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
Pahar Ganj
Cottage Ganga Inn
Cottage Ganga Inn
#77 of 708 in New Delhi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
Pahar Ganj
Hotel Vishal
Hotel Vishal
#430 of 708 in New Delhi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ajay Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ajay Guest House

Property: Ajay Guest House
Address: 5084 General Market Main Bazar Paharganj Near Khanna Cenima, New Delhi 110055, India
Region: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi > Pahar Ganj
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #497 of 708 Hotels in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Ajay Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ajay Guest House Hotel New Delhi
Ajay Hotel New Delhi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing