We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Decent budget hotel”
Review of Hotel Southern

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Southern
Ranked #583 of 713 Hotels in New Delhi
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
6 reviews
“Decent budget hotel”
Reviewed 8 February 2014

This is my new visit to Delhi and i am quite happy to see the Auto Expo, I was worried about where to stay in Delhi and my friends suggested me Hotel Southern, As i am from south India i too preferred the same. The hotel is quite decent and i am quite happy that i have stayed here. Food at the adyar restaurant is good, Hotel staff are quite helpful and as they have a travels next to the their building it was not difficult to move around city. i am giving only a four star coz the hotel is full packed guess due to the auto expo and the staff were quite busy attending them patiently but they made us wait till the rooms got ready. My overall experience is stay here if you are looking for authenticated south indian food and helpful staff

Room Tip: Ask them to provide room in building and inform 24 hrs before your arrival for free pickup.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tweethy y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

329 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    55
    70
    64
    56
    84
See reviews for
139
49
32
78
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 February 2014

I & my family stayed in this hotel to visit the Auto expo 2014.Let me share my experience, they contacted me one day prior my booking and confirmed my flight details to arrange airport pick for me and it was on time. As soon as I reached, the hotel the receptions welcomed me and allotted the room. The room as exactly the same as I seen on website. It was a family room with good ventilation and was very clean. Room boys are very helpful as well. They even arranged metro tickets to my door steps and suggested what are nearest sightseeing places I can visit as it was my first to Delhi. Overall my trip was excellent, My family enjoyed a lot and I have to thank Southern staff for the same.

Room Tip: Take Family room its very newly renovated
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jack7788
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chhatarpur, India
1 review
Reviewed 4 February 2014

To my expectation Super Deluxe room was very good, though was not so spacious, but enough for me to room around to feel the great environment. Clean room, good interior, wifi facility, great pure veg food in Adyaar ananda bhavan are the main points, which gave me satisfaction for my money to be worth.
Good facility of roaming around in delhi, with the help of their Travels counter. Through bus i was able to visit main monuments of delhi, of course i need to pay for it, but that section is also good. Staff at that section if so helpfull.
One point which needs to be mention is Support Staff at hotel section needs to be more helpfull, in terms of roaming around main market of karol bagh / Gaffar market. Rest they were very nice... :)

Room Tip: Super Deluxe room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank skpSantosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erode, India
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2014

i ahve booked 2 rooms of super delux type online @ paid the full amount. i have paid for extra bed also. but during check in they gave very very small rooms where you can,t move in. there is no palce to put extra bed, no place to put your luggages. rooms we have seen in the web site as super delux is differnt from what we have seen in person. when we asked they told this is super delux only. i belive hotel was busy @ that time. last year i have stayed delus room which was bigger than this only good thing is thy give free airport/ railway staioon pickup / drop

Room Tip: get super delux / suit
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ragneuro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these New Delhi hotels

Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2014

Terrible hotel, don't be cheated by looking at the southern travels hotel photos, extremely misleading pictures,it is nothing but cheating!!. There are insects, bugs behind the curtains, stray dogs roaming freely and barking through out the night. The cloak room is terrible. The staff is very rude and unhelpful. DONT GET CARRIED Away with their pics, the prices are not even cheap! Check in at your own risk!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vasu R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Agra, India
1 review
Reviewed 7 January 2014

With the perfect location near 2 metro stations (Karol Bagh and Jhandewalan), its the excellent hotel with great hospitality. I often book the tours from southern travels, during my visits, i came to know about hotel southern and i booked the same during my visit to delhi. Like their tours, hotel is also superb, it came to my expectation. Great interior, supportive staff, very good wi-fi connectivity, excellent veg food. While booking a hotel everyone is concerned about 3 things Interior, food and service. Regarding food Adyar ananda bhavan gave me full satisfaction, first of all its a pure vegeterian restaurant and with variety of foods it gave me the choice to come closer to south indian food and make me in love with south indian food. My experience was excellent and "Ab baar-baar Sewa ka mauka dengey Southern Walon ;)

Room Tip: Deluxe / Super Deluxe Room with Gr8 Wi-fi facility...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Devender_arya2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 January 2014

I have stayed in this hotel in the last week of December 2013. Very comfortable place to stay and definitely value for money. It is located in the center of city and very much connected to every place in Delhi. Rooms are excellent and service is very good. Food in A2B is excellent and hygienic. This is definitely value for money and would definitely like to stay again in my next visit to Delhi. Thanks for making my trip as a wonderful experience

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pavan Kumar C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Sri Nanak Continental
Hotel Sri Nanak Continental
#632 of 713 in New Delhi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
0.7 mi away
Fabhotel Karol Bagh Metro
Fabhotel Karol Bagh Metro
#106 of 713 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Hill Palace
Hotel Hill Palace
#100 of 713 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Good Palace
Hotel Good Palace
#199 of 713 in New Delhi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Grand Park Inn
Hotel Grand Park Inn
#104 of 713 in New Delhi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 547 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel High 5 Land
Hotel High 5 Land
#565 of 713 in New Delhi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Southern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Southern

Property: Hotel Southern
Address: 18/2 Arya Samaj Road | W.E.A Karol Bagh, New Delhi 110005, India
Region: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi > Biden Pura
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #583 of 713 Hotels in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Southern 2.5*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Southern is a "Friendly Hotel" located strategically in the heart of India's capital and in close proximity to Connaught Place. We are committed to providing personalized, professional guest service and "genuine hospitality". Our mission is to create loyal, satisfied customers who will return to our hotel repeatedly because of the quality and value offered. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Southern reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotels Southern

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing