We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Terrible service.. Please read my experience and be warned.” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Southern

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Southern
Ranked #574 of 706 Hotels in New Delhi
Hyderabad, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Terrible service.. Please read my experience and be warned.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2014

Mine was a one week trip to Delhi with family and I stayed at Hotel Southern for most of the days (One day in Jaipur as part of their package tour). I will make it short...


1. The food provided at hotels while traveling to Jaipur was of very poor quality at the same costly also. For example, we ended up paying Rs90 for a curd rice for having lunch in a very unhygienic environment.

2. The delux room was very small with badly arranged furniture and untidy bathroom.

3. On the first day of the trip we gave a Jeans for dry-cleaning as per their promise that they will return it by the evening. We got the Jeans back on time, only to find that it was badly damaged. Yes. We found it ourselves, it was not pointed out by anybody from the hotel. Naturally we wanted an answer and the laundry people directly came and mentioned that it was a mistake from their boy. But as a customer I needed an answer from the hotel, not the laundry service. I called them four to five times, the answers I got was "manager will call me", "Will settle it last day". The manager didn't call me they just didn't care.

In the third day one reception staff "assured" me this is a "simple" issue and "I had agreed to leave it behind". I could not leave the issue of loosing a Jeans worth Rs 2000 just like that. Finally when I checked again and since the manager was there he was ready to talk to us. He said "it will only be settled in the last day" and didn't explain why.

While checking out, the reception staff (who said she doesn't know anything about this) handed over Rs 800 to us with no explanation on what basis this amount was calculated. Oh wait.. she didn't forget to remind me that this amount will be cut from the laundry employee's staff. So we are the cruel customers and that laundry man is the irresponsible one who made the mistake, while the hotel and it's staffs stay shining bright as always.

Now imagine how they will respond if you loose a Rs 70,000 laptop or a high end camera from the room. Since they are treating the customers like this and never ever bothered to give a proper answer and understand the concerns of the customer and kept of running away from their responsibilities, I wouldn't put my money on them.

You the reader decide..

Room Tip: Never go for 216,217 (Don't know the quality of other delux rooms)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sprmenon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

328 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    55
    70
    63
    56
    84
See reviews for
139
49
32
78
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2014

A Cozy little hotel in Karol Bagh Delhi , stayed at this place for a day back in December 2013 while on a solo Trip to Northern India , Great little hotel with small and Cozy rooms , clean rooms and Bathrooms , highly Cooperative Staff , was served really good south Indian Breakfast here ,all south Indian food is authentic and great at this hotel . Will recommend this hotel for anyone looking for a short stay in Delhi.
There is one little down side to this hotel , i.e they have four building spread across the street ,right next to one another , you may get a room allocated in any one of these buildings, but this should not affect much unless you are huge group of people.
Also people who are looking for a great surrounding this hotel is not for you , be here only for a warm, comfortable ,clean stay and also for it's South Indian Food ;)

Room Tip: Choose Rooms in the main Hotel.They are better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Akhilesh M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2014

I have stayed in several hotels in Delhi and this was my least favorable. Poor breakfast and service is really horrible. I stayed in different rooms (after going on packaged tours). Some rooms only have indian showers. Often no toiletpaper/soaps/towels. It's also windy and loud in the rooms. Reception staff is okay, the rest not so much, except downstairs where you can order roomservice. Wouldn't recommend it.. there are very good hotels nearby where you can go after the tour. Also had bad experiences with the travel agency Southern Travels (though the drivers/tourguids were good).

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Patrick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these New Delhi hotels

Denver, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2014

I have read all the reviews and thought the hotel is not that much good, but until i checked in i came to know the hotel is awesome and the staff are quite nice. NO doubt this is the best hotel in the vicinity the staff are quite helpful and it id quite near to the Karol bagh market where you can buy the entire world. Awseome rooms and experience provided by Hotel Southern

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Munna373
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Korba, India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2014

It is good hotel in karol bagh starting at Rs 2000/- approx per day. services and food quality is good. supermarket is underground. karol bagh is very near. walking distance for bikaner sweets.parking is ok. Only thing is that same items (south indian ) are served in complimentary breakfast.

Room Tip: All rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pawanagrawalkorba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2014

This is my new visit to Delhi and i am quite happy to see the Auto Expo, I was worried about where to stay in Delhi and my friends suggested me Hotel Southern, As i am from south India i too preferred the same. The hotel is quite decent and i am quite happy that i have stayed here. Food at the adyar restaurant is good, Hotel staff are quite helpful and as they have a travels next to the their building it was not difficult to move around city. i am giving only a four star coz the hotel is full packed guess due to the auto expo and the staff were quite busy attending them patiently but they made us wait till the rooms got ready. My overall experience is stay here if you are looking for authenticated south indian food and helpful staff

Room Tip: Ask them to provide room in building and inform 24 hrs before your arrival for free pickup.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tweethy y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2014

I & my family stayed in this hotel to visit the Auto expo 2014.Let me share my experience, they contacted me one day prior my booking and confirmed my flight details to arrange airport pick for me and it was on time. As soon as I reached, the hotel the receptions welcomed me and allotted the room. The room as exactly the same as I seen on website. It was a family room with good ventilation and was very clean. Room boys are very helpful as well. They even arranged metro tickets to my door steps and suggested what are nearest sightseeing places I can visit as it was my first to Delhi. Overall my trip was excellent, My family enjoyed a lot and I have to thank Southern staff for the same.

Room Tip: Take Family room its very newly renovated
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jack7788
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
Hotel Sri Nanak Continental
#629 of 706 in New Delhi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
Fabhotel Karol Bagh Metro
#91 of 706 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
Hotel Good Palace
#174 of 706 in New Delhi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Grand Park Inn
#94 of 706 in New Delhi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 541 reviews
Biden Pura
Hotel Metro View
Hotel Metro View
#158 of 706 in New Delhi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
Pahar Ganj
Hotel Hari Piorko
Hotel Hari Piorko
#46 of 706 in New Delhi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,643 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Southern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Southern

Property: Hotel Southern
Address: 18/2 Arya Samaj Road | W.E.A Karol Bagh, New Delhi 110005, India
Region: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi > Biden Pura
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #574 of 706 Hotels in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Southern 2.5*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Southern is a "Friendly Hotel" located strategically in the heart of India's capital and in close proximity to Connaught Place. We are committed to providing personalized, professional guest service and "genuine hospitality". Our mission is to create loyal, satisfied customers who will return to our hotel repeatedly because of the quality and value offered. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), HostelWorld, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Southern reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotels Southern

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing