We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best place to stay in delhi”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel SunStar Grand
Ranked #48 of 715 Hotels in New Delhi
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“best place to stay in delhi”
Reviewed 26 February 2013

best hotel having pool sonar bath steam bath very nice room and bathrooms very well maintain really nice staff but room service is not good you have to call for water 3 times then they will send u water in res. food quality is not so good as i was on breakfast plain so i experian that food quality is not good but from hotel in walking distance thr in hotel surichi thr u find best of the best dinner lunch and breakfast special Gujrati and rajesthani thali

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Harshdjmehta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
akt1957, Owner at Hotel SunStar Grand, responded to this review, 11 April 2013
.Greetings from Hotel sunstar Grand
Thanks for staying in our hotel & writing a review
You liked the clean & spacious rooms, good location close to market,near METRO, NICE staff, WELL MAINTAINED BATHROOM
You had some problem regarding room service & food.
We have taken it very seriously and warned the staff if this is repeated.
Regarding food quality we have given instructions to stewards to inform cook about the taste of guest.
Thanks for referring our hotel as BEST PLACE TO STAY IN DELHI
We will still try to improve OUR SERVICES & FOOD QUALITY
Thank you for highly recommending our hotel,.
Thanks & Regards. ASHOK TANEJA 9810104774
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

750 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    495
    133
    66
    29
    27
See reviews for
153
160
94
84
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2013

I stayed in this hotel while wedding shopping in Delhi. It was everything I hoped for.

1. Clean.
No bugs or dirt anywhere. Staff available at all hours to clean, but not pushy. They wait until you leave to attend to rooms. Hall ways and reception areas are spotless. Room sheets, towels and other bedding very new and clean.

2. Close to major shopping areas and landmarks.
Hotel is 40 minutes or less from anywhere you want to go in Delhi. It is tucked away from unsafe neighborhoods. In addition, it is walking distance from urban shopping districts.

3. Amazing Friendly Happy Staff.
Service in Delhi is extraordinary overall, but the Staff at Hotel Sunstar are not only attentive they are also happy. There is a family like feeling with this hotel staff that is felt through the place. They are constantly working together and cheerful. Also, they get things done. They were able to book a train for us to Punjab while we were out shopping with complete ease. Also, whenever we asked for room service it came immediately.

4. Yummy and filling buffet breakfast
Each morning the hotel served yummy breakfast which was extremely filling. It was a full buffet including unlimited Indian bread and 4 dishes and eggs and toast. Dishes were generally indian spiced cooked chick peas, oatmeal, breakfast pasta, and another Indian meal. Also unlimited tea coffee and juice. It was basically our brunch.

This delightful hotel will do the trick if visiting Delhi.


I also advice getting a driver for your entire stay in Delhi. They are affordable and needed. Taxis and Rickshas are sad and uncomfortable.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rainara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
akt1957, Owner at Hotel SunStar Grand, responded to this review, 24 February 2013
Greetings from Hotel Sunstar grand
We are thankful to you for writing a good review of our hotel.
You liked the location, You also liked the yummy & filling buffet breakfast
It is only the pleasure of pleasing our customers that keeps us going and we are happy to know that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel.
We will strive to improve our services even further and we will make sure that you keep patronizing our hotel as you have been doing in the past.
Thank you for referring about our good services & referring us "GREAT HOME AWAY FROM HOME".
You have mentioned friendly staff,comfortable clean rooms, clean bed sheets, clean bedding, clean towels & clean bathroom & helpful staff.
Our entire team is very thankful to you for your reviews.

Regards,
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2013 via mobile

Overall this is a good hotel within it's price range. The staff made stressful Delhi manageable and my room was well setout and attractive with marble finishing and flat screen TV. In the end, you get value for money with this place. I would suggest this for budget conscious travellers starting their trip in India.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank aussietravails
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
akt1957, Owner at Hotel SunStar Grand, responded to this review, 24 February 2013
Greetings from Hotel Sunstar grand
We are thankful to you for writing a good review of our hotel.
It is only the pleasure of pleasing our customers that keeps us going and we are happy to
You found our hotel to be value for money.
know that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel.
We will strive to improve our services even further and we will make sure that you keep patronizing our hotel as you have been doing in the past.
Thank you for referring about us as "GOOD MEDIUM BUDGET HOTEL"
You have liked friendly service,comfortable rooms & LCD Tv
Our entire team is very thankful to you for your reviews.

Regards,
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2013

We picked this hotel cause it was rated high on TA but it definitely does not live up to its grade. Bathrooms have flying insects and towels were dirty. Our hotel room door looked as if someone tried to break in so we demanded to change room but the new room had the same problem. We dared not sleep the whole night and put furniture against the door. There were really weird people in the other rooms (didn't look like international tourists!) and they were screaming at night. The porter was untrained and there were absolutely no service at all. The swimming pool looked dreadful and you dare not dive in. It was the worst hotel we stayed in our trip to India - but of course the price should have warned us. My advice: Only stick with the brand names and pay more because it really is not worth it to save a little bit to stay in 3 star hotels if you fall sick or luggage got stolen!!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MMWife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
akt1957, Owner at Hotel SunStar Grand, responded to this review, 13 February 2013
Greetings from Hotel Sunstar grand
We are thankful to you for writing a review of our hotel
You have complained regarding lot of things.But i am sorry to say that your review suggests that you were unhappy about some other thing but you have complained regarding some other things .
You stayed in December which is the coolest month.In this month there are no insects at all
You have complained regarding room door that it seemed as if some body had tried to break open the door forcibly. Sir i would like to remind you that you are in a hotel & not in a lonely place. First of all we never let anyone do such things in our hotel. Moreover we have proper maintenance staff who look after all the fittings & fixtures in the hotel.
You have also mentioned that you kept your luggage against the door.You are making every body assume that there is no safety in a hotel. I would respectfully tell you that such things happen in horror films only.
Again you have said there were some wired people in other room & they screamed all the night. Again sir i can only say that we do not allow any of our guest to make noise in the hotel. You can also make a complaint to front office by intercom which u never did.
Your next complaint is regarding swimming pool.I do not know how u found it dreadful when u have not even used it. Moreover how can you think of diving in a pool which has a depth of only 5 feet. Diving is not allowed in our pool. Your complaint is based on assumptions only .
Again u are assuming that u should stay at branded hotels.You know very well that u pay almost 4 times of our tariff in a branded hotel. U r right that brand hotels are better but just consider the services we provide at such low rates. We can not give a service of 4 star hotel in a budget hotel as we charge very less..
Again u r assuming that your goods can be stolen & u can get sick. U have lost nothing & also u did not get sick but still u r complaining for things which never happened with u during your stay in our hotel.We take proper care about hyegine.
U stayed on 2 visits with us.First visit was on 22/23 dec night. Your second visit was on 29 Dec 2012
It is only the pleasure of pleasing our customers that keeps us going and we are really sorry that u did not enjoy your stay.
You have not mentioned any thing about facilities that count the most which u have reviewed about other hotels.
U have not reviewed about location,room service, rooms size, room cleanliness, bathrooms, staff behaviour, sleep quality & food quality.
Our entire team is very thankful to you for your reviews

Regards,
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2013 via mobile

I could never get the bathtub to work, I was kept awake late at night by street sounds, and i found the mildewy smell in the bathroom more than a little off-putting. The breakfast was lovely, and the hot water pressure from the shower scored very high on my approval scale, but some of the staff seemed resentful when asked to do the slightest tasks. The place didn't cost much, and for nine days, it was an alright base of operations, but I think I'd rather spend twice as much and enjoy my hotel in the capital city.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
akt1957, Owner at Hotel SunStar Grand, responded to this review, 24 February 2013
Greetings from Hotel sunstar grand
We thank you for patronising our hotel
We are very happy to learn that you liked our location & services
You also liked the breakfast & bathroom shower with good pressure
You also said our tariff was very less.
Now i see your complaint regarding bath tub & service of staff.
You stayed 9 days in our hotel. It means hotel was of your liking otherwise you would have shifted to some other hotel.
During your stay you never made a complaint regarding bathtub. WE could have shifted you to some other room.
Regarding staff i can only say that they were doing their job. You never complained regarding any staff. We take strict action against staff who refuses to do any work of guest inside the hotel however he is not allowed to go out.
We hope you will forgive us for such minor complaints & keep coming. We hope you will recommend our hotel to future travelers.
Thanks & Regards
Hotel management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sedona, Arizona
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2013

This hotel is very well located not far for many attractions,markets, temples and metro . I love the beautiful woodwork and old world charm. The rooms are also well appointed and comfortable with marble floors & great bathroom. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The hotel also features a steam sauna, heated pool and Jacuzzi . An excellent value for the money, breakfast comes with the price of the room. I plan to stay here whenever I am in Delhi .

Room Tip: Back side rooms are very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stevenbennybenedict
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
akt1957, Owner at Hotel SunStar Grand, responded to this review, 24 February 2013
Greetings from Hotel Sunstar grand
We are thankful to you for writing a good review of our hotel
You liked the location,& beautiful wood work in the hotel
You have also said excellent value for money. .
It is only the pleasure of pleasing our customers that keeps us going and we are happy to know that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel.
We will strive to improve our services even further and we will make sure that you keep patronizing our hotel as you have been doing in the past.
Thank you for highly recommending our hotel to the future travelers
Our entire team is very thankful to you for your reviews.

Regards,
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2013

We are a group of 20 people on tour from South Africa. This being our first leg of our tour w have recieved a very warm welcome from the hotel staff who have been extremely professional and have the start of the tour very enjoyable.
The facilities of the Sunstar GRand hotel is of the best quality which include, a swimming pool,sauna and very comfortable rooms. Great shower facilities as well a delicious hot breakfast which is served on time as per request.
I hope the rest of the hotels on our tour keep up to this high standard.
This hotel comes with my highest recommendation.

Room Tip: Room 203 is most advisable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ravig461
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
akt1957, Owner at Hotel SunStar Grand, responded to this review, 24 February 2013
Greetings from Hotel Sunstar grand
We are thankful to you for writing a good review of our hotel.
You traveled in a group of 20 from South Africa.
You liked the warm welcome given by our staff. You have found staff to be extremely professional.
You liked the facilities of pool, sauna & steam.
You liked the comfortable rooms & great shower. You also liked the hot delicious breakfast
It is only the pleasure of pleasing our customers that keeps us going and we are happy to know that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel.
We will strive to improve our services even further and we will make sure that you keep patronizing our hotel as you have been doing in the past.
Thank you for referring about our good services.
Our entire team is very thankful to you for your reviews.

Regards,
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
0.1 mi away
Suncourt Hotel Yatri
Suncourt Hotel Yatri
#37 of 715 in New Delhi
785 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Sunstar Residency
Hotel Sunstar Residency
#61 of 715 in New Delhi
315 reviews
0.1 mi away
Wood Castle
Wood Castle
#15 of 715 in New Delhi
1,127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Sunstar Heritage
Hotel Sunstar Heritage
#68 of 715 in New Delhi
251 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel City Star
Hotel City Star
#25 of 715 in New Delhi
1,314 reviews
2.0 mi away
bloomrooms @ New Delhi Railway Station
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel SunStar Grand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel SunStar Grand

Property: Hotel SunStar Grand
Address: 7A/17, W.E.A. Channa Market | Karol Bagh, New Delhi 110005, India
Region: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in New Delhi
#6 Business Hotel in New Delhi
#17 Romantic Hotel in New Delhi
#29 Spa Hotel in New Delhi
#39 Best Value Hotel in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel SunStar Grand 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rooms have the following additional facilities 1)Refrigerator in every room 2)TEA kettle in room 3)Dental kit/Shaving kit/Sewing kit/comb/hair dryer in bathroom 4)24 hour room service 5)24 hour full power & water back-up 6)24 hour running hot water ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel SunStar Grand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunstar Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing