We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rude Awakening”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel SunStar Grand
Ranked #49 of 716 Hotels in New Delhi
Certificate of Excellence
Adelaide, South Australia, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Rude Awakening”
Reviewed 21 October 2013

I was woken by the telephone ringing at 4.00am. Such was the commotion caused by me trying to stop the loud ringing that water from my bottle cascaded all over the night stand. Whilst checking out I mentioned that I had not requested a wake up call & the lovely man on Reception very apologetically said one of my group had given the wrong room number. I was only there to sleep & shower so didn't get the full use of the hotel. Wish I could have stayed longer in New Delhi. The staff seemed friendly & helpful. I appreciated the use of the hairdryer delivered to my room as I chose not to lug around.my GHD (tip: take a travel dryer).

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sian J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
akt1957, Owner at Hotel SunStar Grand, responded to this review, 30 November 2013
Greetings from Hotel sunstar grand
Thanks for sparing your valuable time & writing a review of our hotel.
We are very sorry to know that you were disturbed by a wake up call given to you at 4 am which disturbed your sleep. It is definitely the mistake of front office that he should verify the room no given by some tour leader before giving wake up call. We have taken it very seriously and warned the front staff to be more attentive in future.
You liked the hair dryer facility.
You have praised the staff were friendly & helpful.
Thanks & Regards.
Hotel Management
Ashok Taneja. +91 9810104774
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

746 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    492
    133
    65
    29
    27
See reviews for
153
159
94
81
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Nice stay in this good middle-class hotel. Very friendly staff that offer excellent service. Hotel itself is nice, but there is a big quality-difference between the different rooms. The indoor swimmingpool in the basement is rather peculiar.
I stayed here with a group of 20 people. We had a buffet-dinner on the rooftop: excellent and very tastefull!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mrtjn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
akt1957, Owner at Hotel SunStar Grand, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Greetings from Hotel sunstar grand
Thanks for sparing your valuable time & writing a review of our hotel.
We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay at our budget class hotel. You enjoyed the buffet dinner on the roof-top. You liked the rooms and in-door pool in the basement
Thanks & Regards.
Hotel Management
Ashok Taneja. +91 9810104774
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asansol, India
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013 via mobile

Dear friends I travel on a regular basis an have seen the first of hotels .When I came to Sunstar Grand I was beyond impressed. The service was very prompt and the staff went out of their way for my comfort. The food was fantastic and the room was very clean. MR Sanjay is very friendly and polite with guests.I highly recommend this hotel!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank RAJESH J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
akt1957, Owner at Hotel SunStar Grand, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Greetings from Hotel sunstar grand
Thanks for sparing your valuable time & writing a review of our hotel.
We are delighted to know that you regularly stay at our hotel.
You like the clean rooms and fantastic food
You have praised the service staff were friendly &helpful specially the front office staff

Thanks & Regards.
Hotel Management
Ashok Taneja. +91 9810104774
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

The Sun Star Grand Hotel in Delhi is very good,The rooms are very clean and the Personal is excellent they are all very friendlyThe reception man (Ramesh)is a very friendly guy..You can eat upstairs on the roof with a great view.You can also go downstairs for swimming in the pool or relaxing in the Spa.Of course i will come back i had a very nice stay.

Room Tip: room no 104 is good
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 437Linda1608
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
akt1957, Owner at Hotel SunStar Grand, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Greetings from Hotel sunstar grand
Thanks for sparing your valuable time & writing a review of our hotel.
We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel. You liked the clean rooms.
You enjoyed in the in-door pool.You also liked to eat food at roof-top. You also relaxed in sauna & steam
You have praised the service staff were friendly &helpful specially the front office staff
Thanks & Regards.
Hotel Management
Ashok Taneja. +91 9810104774
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyderabad, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 October 2013

Very close to Karolbag market and metro. Hotel has all the facilities like swimming pool, suana bath & steam bath. Room is big and comfortable. Bed is cozy. Bathroom is clean. Provided with bathroom all the necessities

Biggest disadvantage is there is no sign board in front of the hotel and no information regarding swimming pool and other facilities inside the room.

Room Tip: Backside room is very quiet and good
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Venkat J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
akt1957, Owner at Hotel SunStar Grand, responded to this review, 22 January 2014
Greetings from Hotel sunstar grand
Thanks for sparing your valuable time & writing a review of our hotel.
We are very happy to know that you enjoyed your stay with us.
You liked the pool ,sauna & steam bath.
You have praised the rooms and clean bathroom as spacious & having all necessaties. very well designed and very comfortable beds.
.You also liked the location near market & metro
You have praised the staff were friendly & helpful.
You have complained regarding the board which we had ordered but not yet received. Our old board was damaged during strong wind.We will take care in future to display our facilities
Thanks & Regards.
Hotel Management
Ashok Taneja. +91 9810104774
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 11 October 2013 via mobile

The only thing I would appreciate regarding this hotel is the staff members , they were very cooperative , nice and helpful. The breakfast was just OK. Rooms were small , had small insects around the bed and location was aweful. I would never stay again.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Tahir K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
akt1957, Owner at Hotel SunStar Grand, responded to this review, 1 November 2014
Greetings from Hotel Sunstar Grand!!
Thanks for your reviews
We are pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay with us.
You have praised about the hotel arrangement of airport transfer. Availability of Fridge in the room was appreciated by you along with amenities like free wi-fi.
U liked clean rooms with plenty of hot water in the bathroom.
You have not reviewed our good location and facilities like pool,sauna and steam.
You have mentioned regarding 6 sunstar hotels in adjoining streets. You do not have to worry about this as they all know each other and they will take you to the right place. Our guard gives an address card of the hotel to every guest while they are going out.
Thanks & Regards
Hotel management
Ashok Taneja +91 9810104774
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2013

India is teeming with this type of hotel. Charming but run down. However, I stayed 3 nights before cycling over the Himalayas and it was restful place to chill before setting off. The rooms are airconditioned and the staff was helpful. WiFi was on again off again but when it worked was fine.

Room Tip: Probably away from the street. Rooms have different sizes, so ask to have a look.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HFza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
akt1957, Owner at Hotel SunStar Grand, responded to this review, 20 September 2014
Greetings from Hotel Sunstar Grand!!
Thanks for your reviews
We are pleased to know you enjoyed during stay with us.
You have praised about room are air conditioning and staff is helpful WiFi work fine.
You have recommended our hotel to other travelers . We are very thankful to you for the same

Thanks & Regards
Hotel management
Ashok Taneja +91 9810104774
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
Suncourt Hotel Yatri
#33 of 716 in New Delhi
780 reviews
Hotel Sunstar Residency
#50 of 716 in New Delhi
313 reviews
Wood Castle
#15 of 716 in New Delhi
1,122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Sunstar Heritage
#66 of 716 in New Delhi
245 reviews
Hotel City Star
#23 of 716 in New Delhi
1,299 reviews
Pahar Ganj
Grand Godwin Hotel
Grand Godwin Hotel
#54 of 716 in New Delhi
1,073 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel SunStar Grand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel SunStar Grand

Property: Hotel SunStar Grand
Address: 7A/17, W.E.A. Channa Market | Karol Bagh, New Delhi 110005, India
Region: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in New Delhi
#6 Business Hotel in New Delhi
#17 Romantic Hotel in New Delhi
#30 Spa Hotel in New Delhi
#41 Best Value Hotel in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel SunStar Grand 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rooms have the following additional facilities 1)Refrigerator in every room 2)TEA kettle in room 3)Dental kit/Shaving kit/Sewing kit/comb/hair dryer in bathroom 4)24 hour room service 5)24 hour full power & water back-up 6)24 hour running hot water ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel SunStar Grand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunstar Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing