We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Phenomenal Meal”
Review of Al Lazeez

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Al Lazeez
Ranked #1,640 of 12,661 Restaurants in New Delhi
Restaurant details
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 6 Contributor
187 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Phenomenal Meal”
Reviewed 7 June 2014

We went here on the recommendation of our driver after visiting the Gandhi Smriti. I was thrilled with the quality of the food, the refined setting and the attentive service. We had one of the tastiest dishes that we came across in India (chicken in a Haandi clay pot) but every dish was very pleasing. I would make this a stop anytime I'm in Delhi.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank MCF3114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    8
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A nice evening”
Reviewed 22 May 2014

We had dinner over the weekend here - eight of us (a school re-union)

I'm typically cynical of both the quality of service as well as that of the food, especially when it's Indian cuisine - which I feel is always very oily, almost by default (In Delhi).

I must say that I was pleasantly surprised this time.

Ambience - Pretty nice.
Service - Good, though not outstanding; but no complaints.

Now, the food:

For appetisers, we had

The Gilafi Seekh - Absolutely outstanding, and one of the best I've had in Delhi
The Mutton Chapli - Delicious!
The Dahi Kabab - A first for me, and we had to re-order (it was so good).

And the main course

The Murg Butter Masala and a mutton preparation (I forget the name) - both of which were on the bone, while we'd been promised "boneless" - but that's okay. The meat was cooked well, and the sauce/gravy was excellent (not very oily, too).

My friends and I had an excellent evening there, and we'll surely be back.

My thanks to the stewards and of course, the chef for making our dinner such a nice one!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Anindya C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent food and service”
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Recommended by staff at our hotel. Would definitely recommend eating here especially the fish tikka and fish curry.Go for it!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank GillianB187
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Fabulous lunch? Look no further......”
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Fantastic, caring service and terrific food. My fav had to be the black lentils in spicy sauce and butter chicken and spinach dish.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank maguscanook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Al Lazeez also viewed

New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
 
New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
 

Been to Al Lazeez? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing