We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Metropolis Tourist Home
Ranked #128 of 715 Hotels in New Delhi
Certificate of Excellence
Peterborough
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Disappointing experience”
Reviewed 8 August 2008

This was our second stop over in Delhi so we decided to upgrade ourselves from the previous guesthouse in the middle of Pahar Ganj, and chose this hotel based on appearance.

Despite booking our stay using the hotel website, and receiving email confirmation, we were annoyed to find the night manager had no knowledge of our reservation when we finally arrived at 01.00 am. However he did manage to find us a room (albeit on the small side, but we were in no position to argue as this was all that was left). Our room was fairly clean but had obviously been well used, and the whole hotel could do with a spruce up and although we were given a discount for the inconvenience at check-in, we did not feel that this booking gave value for money.

  • Liked — close proximity to metro station and situation away from hustle and bustle of Pahar Ganj
  • Disliked — terrible reservation experience
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eddiebearontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    54
    62
    23
    9
    6
See reviews for
17
48
27
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2008

The hotel is well located in Paharganj, a lively quarter in Delhi. The rooms are not very nice, with poor lighting and dirty-looking bathrooms. Our room was even very noisy, as we could hear our neighbor in the bathrooms next door, spitting, toilet noises and the lot. Breakfast was not on the roof but in the hotel lobby. Avoid the pancakes, mine had a terrible taste of egg...

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Clearly run-down
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CoconutTom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2007

We thought this hotel was the best to the Paranga (main bazzar) region and a little more expensive for good reason. If u want cheap and cheerful then try the Lord Krishna, if not here was good, a/c not noisy, big clean room and sheets and towels. Will do a deal if not busy and airport taxi only 300R, much less than out previous 'budget' (smylee inn - dont go there) hotel that charged 520R for our pick up.
Lively and best place to stay in Delhi to experience real city life. Haggle hard, but dont be mean and enjoy the surroundings. plus the metro is just over the road and only 6R to Connaught place.

  • Liked — location, staff, room
  • Disliked — room service breakfast v v expensive
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AnnieRead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2007

I've just stayed at this hotel and felt obliged to write a review so you know what you're getting. My friend and I spent quite a while reading reviews of this and other hotels in the mid range of the lonely planet, and there were good and bad reviews for each place, it was difficult to make a choice.
The hotel is at the better end of the bazaar, where the street is a bit wider and not as grimy. Its still the bazaar though, so its dirty and busy all the time, so be prepared for that. Our room was a very large room at the top, it was quiet, with AC, a couple of fans, and even a fridge. The room itself was ok, plain with no character, but sheets and walls were clean. The staff were the friendliest that i came across in India, and seemed interested in helping us with advice on various things. We ate at the restaurants upstairs and down, and thought the food was good too. This place is by no means the Ritz, but for Delhi i think its really ok. MY first night in Delhi was spent in a smaller, cheaper hotel in the middle of the bazaar and it was quitre a nasty experience, a tiny room which felt very dirty.

  • Stayed April 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank nushark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2007

I stayed at the Metropolis Tourist Home in november 2006 and didn't like the place at all. The rooms are clean, but there are no windows, no hot water and the airconditioning is very loud and doesn't really work. The rooms do have a fan aswell, but I was afraid it would come down from the ceiling and since i was lying underneath it.......

The rooftop restaurant is good.

But the worst thing about the hotel I found was the location. I thought Paharganj was cramped with hotels and guesthouses. People constantly hassle you. If I would return to Delhi (which I don't think I will) I would stay somewhere in the southern part of town. It is further from all the sightseeing spots, but in a hectic place as Delhi I think the relative calmness of a suburb is a necessarity.

  • Liked — the rooftop restaurant
  • Disliked — location
  • Stayed January 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank SMZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nice
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2006

I have been to the Metropolis tourist home in the Paharganj area since i wanted a mid range place and this one was supposed to be one the best in this category according to Lonely planet.

I paid 1400 rs/night(24 euros) for a very mediocre room poorly furnished. There were no amenities at all in the bathroom, there was no hot water most of the time and the shower pressure was really weak.
It was impossible to adjust the air con since it was broken.They give you only one sheet(good thing that i had mine) .There was a tiny tv.
On the good side, the room was clean and big and the rooftop restaurant is good.

Overall i had the feeling that this place was overpriced(2star price for what is really a backpacker guesthouse) and i will probably not come back to this hotel.

Helpful?
10 Thank nice-traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
Pahar Ganj
Hotel Lal's Haveli
Hotel Lal's Haveli
#115 of 715 in New Delhi
275 reviews
Pahar Ganj
Cottage Ganga Inn
Cottage Ganga Inn
#88 of 715 in New Delhi
322 reviews
Pahar Ganj
Hotel Prince Palace Deluxe
Hotel Prince Palace Deluxe
#71 of 715 in New Delhi
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Amax Inn
#29 of 715 in New Delhi
714 reviews
Hotel Toronto
#133 of 715 in New Delhi
290 reviews
Pahar Ganj
Treebo Natraj Yes Please
Treebo Natraj Yes Please
#76 of 715 in New Delhi
238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Metropolis Tourist Home? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metropolis Tourist Home

Property: Metropolis Tourist Home
Address: 1634-35,First Floor,Main Bazar, New Delhi 110055, India
Region: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#15 Best Value Hotel in New Delhi
#38 Romantic Hotel in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Metropolis Tourist Home 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel started in 1983 with 20 rooms,it has the best location in comparison to other hotels which are in a very congested areas around.The most famous export market near by makes it an ideal place to stay for handicraft dealers from around the world.hotel is centrally located in delhi with all major tourist destinations and business centers at a radius of not more than 15-20 min,nearest metro station(tube)is at a one min walking distance.The hotel went under a major renovation for one year 2011 to 2012 and re opened on 7 th feb,a major facelift to all 20 rooms, pictures can be seen on travellers review.facilities:aircon,electronic safe,24 hrs hot shower through solar panels,refrigerator,spacious bathrooms with glass curtains,kohler bathroom fittings,spacious balconies which are usp's of our property,electronic door key card system,dedicated internet wifi routers for a perfect internet experience,a multi cuisine restaurant.the hotel is well equiped to serve business travellers and tourist as well ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Metropolis Tourist Home reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metropolis Tourist Home Hotel New Delhi
Metropolis Tourist Home New Delhi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing