We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean room and good breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Chanchal Deluxe
Ranked #416 of 715 Hotels in New Delhi
Reviewed 20 May 2012

Nice, clean and great hotel. Location good. About 10 minutes on the subway. Staff helpful. We stayed in the morning around 9hod. Always on the floor of the men (boys) for cleaning, so because some rooms always ready soon. Breakfast tastes, the top floor (if I recall correctly). Possibilities of classical Indian breakfast or fruit or toast with jam. Bed comfortable and soft. Towel and soap in the bathroom. Tekla warm water. Hearing a noise from outside. Room equipped with ... and table and chair.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Freed00m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (70)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

21 - 27 of 70 reviews

Reviewed 16 May 2012

The hotel is not awful, but it is a better choice for young backpackers!
It's location is not the best----on an alleyway---but close to the railway station. The problem is you have to cross over an overpass to get to the hotel. Our auto-rickshaw driver had to ask 2 other hotels where it was. I didn't really want to go outside after dark.
The breakfast was really nice. We were suppose to stay on our return to Delhi, but changed to a much nicer hotel.
Don't really have any specific complaints, just not my cup of tea!!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
Thank Kit R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2012

Accommodations simple, but clean. Staff very respective, and solve all my problems. Nice location, near the station. Internet is only in the lobby, You must confirm them to pick you up at the airport, with flight number and time. It is very difficult to find the hotel in that small street. Air conditioners work quite noisily - had to switch off, otherwise wouldn't be able to sleep. But luckily it wasn't too hot.

Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
Thank 27Mike27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BhaskarNewDelhi, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Chanchal Deluxe, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2012

Dear Guest,

Many thank you for choosing our “Hotel Chanchal Deluxe” for your recent stay in City (New Delhi).

We would like to assure you that every possible measure shall be taken to avoid reiteration of the issues highlighted in your feedback.

We look forward to see you back at Hotel Chanchal Deluxe.

Best Regards,
Customer Relationship Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2012

We stayed here last year and so came back this time. The rooms are still good - if anything slightly better than last time. Clean, big enough, bathrooms are fine, restaurant is still great value and the rooftop breakfast is a marvellous bonus. We just got an odd feeling about the new management (or at least new staff at reception). We paid 350 Rs prepaid taxi from the airport, they wanted to charge us 600 Rs for the return. We said no, unsurprisingly, and tried the travel desk in the lobby who offered us a cheaper price! It was still more than 350 but it confirmed our suspicion that management was out to make money from unsuspecting tourists. A shame really as the hotel itself is good.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ed_Hellings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BhaskarNewDelhi, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Chanchal Deluxe, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2012

Dear Guest,

Many thank you for choosing our “Hotel Chanchal Deluxe” for your recent stay in City (New Delhi).

In our constant endeavor to provide you better services, your valuable inputs and feedback is important and will help us to further improve our services. We sincerely assure you of our consistent efforts to come up to your expectations and provide delightful service experience in future.


We look forward to welcome you back at Hotel Chanchal Deluxe.

Best Regards,
Guest Relationship Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2012

So let me tell you how the management may take advantage of an unexperienced traveller like myself. I just visited the place and usually woulnt write such a petty review, but I feel that people shouldnt make the same mistakes I made.

It was my first time in delhi and my first time in india for that matter, so after I took a prepaid taxi to the hotel and the driver tried the usual bring-the-traveller-to-a-travel-agency-scam i arrived. The staff of the actual hotel was nice, but the manager who had his little office next door acquired my trust by telling me horrific stories about tourist getting ripped off left and right and that I was safe with him.
He then commenced in using that trust to overcharge me for taxi rides in the city, traintickets and stay in a hotel in agra, which I had to pay upfront.
All in all i was very disappointed and didnt feel comfortable.
It may have been my naivity that i ultimately had to pay for but its a shame that the manager of 3 hotel is willing to rip his already paying customers up so much.
I paid for a trainticket to agra and from agra to jaipur 1000rs each(the tickets each werent worth more than 500) and for a stay in a decent but off the center hotel in agra 2500rs for one night. I managed to fend off a tour with one of his drivers in agra, that would have been another 3500.

Really cannot reccomend this place to anyone. Its best to stay on your own and stick to friends' and travel guidebooks to avoid scams like this.

Room Tip: AC in my room didnt work as did the shower
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VentureBrotherK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BhaskarNewDelhi, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Chanchal Deluxe, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2012

Dear Guest,

Many thank you for choosing our “HotelBalaji Deluxe” for your recent stay in City (New Delhi).
Ref to your review, we had investigated the matter and did not find such a booking in our records. we also have noticed that there is a contradictory statement in your review (“It was your first visit in India” ), whereas you have mentioned your country name as “Arambol, India”.
Besides it, we have a certain guidelines and parameter set by our Management for each travel arranment done by our In-house Travel Desk and also have a CRM team to ensure quality/ value .
We are still taking your feedback in a positive manner and would request you to help us in investigating the matter simply by mailing us your reservation & contact details at feedback@chanchal-hotels.com , so that needful could be done accrodingly.

We look forward to see you back at Hotel Chanchal Deluxe.



Best Regards,
Customer Relationship Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2012

lashings of hot water in the bthcrooms but in noisy rooms. Don't get next to the lift shaft, really noisy, but the breakfast was really good around the corner in the Chanchal Delux(much posher) would stay here again, if only for the great nosh!!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank roodaloo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2012

+ The location didn’t disappoint us. It’s located just 5 min to the train station and in the heart of backpagers area. They also offer free pick up from the airport.

+ The hotel doesn’t lack staff and they are very friendly.

+ Hotel restaurant is fantastic, cheap and great reliable food. Don´t miss breakfast.

- Not shiny clean room according to western standards.

- Small insects in the bathroom, I didn’t dare to ask their names.

- Noisy, old and difficult to control air conditioning. Don’t forget earplugs and take extra blanket.

Soon after you arrive at the hotel you´ll be offered to book a trip with the hotel travel agency, we hired a driver with them. If you have time and you don’t have a lot of money to spend check prices in the area, haggle and take into account that during the whole trip whatever the option you choose is very unlikely that you won´t end up in a restaurant/hotel/shop where the driver won´t take commission from you. Don´t be shy to haggle even if you see written prices, sometimes you´ll be asked to pay more than ten times the price you should pay. The first day we were lost for 3 hours and we arrived to a city we haven’t agreed with our 20 years experience Rajasthan tour driver and he easily got lost when arriving to a place he didn’t have commission in. Take into account you are in India and you will be all trip dealing with commission men.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank david j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
Hotel Rama Inn
#230 of 715 in New Delhi
118 reviews
Pahar Ganj
Hotel Chanchal Continental
Hotel Chanchal Continental
#307 of 715 in New Delhi
91 reviews
Hotel Amax Inn
#24 of 715 in New Delhi
753 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Parkway Deluxe
#154 of 715 in New Delhi
101 reviews
Hotel Chand Palace
#181 of 715 in New Delhi
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Chanchal Deluxe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Chanchal Deluxe

Address: 8575 Araya Kasar Road | Pahar Ganj, New Delhi 110055, India
Region: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #416 of 715 Hotels in New Delhi
Price Range: £16 - £37 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Chanchal Deluxe 2.5*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We welcome you to enjoy luxury accommodation at budget prices with other like minded travelers who start their journey into India from here. We have 54 well appointed AC Rooms with direct dialing telephone in each room, Cable and satellite color TV, Refrigerator with soft drink, attached bath, 24 hrs running hot & cold water, wall to wall carpet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Chanchal Deluxe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing