We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Get in, get out.”
Review of Cottage Yes Please

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Cottage Yes Please
Ranked #216 of 777 Hotels in New Delhi
Reviewed 19 March 2010

We stayed here for two nights and no more luckily. The establishment itself was fine but where do I start...

It was nowhere near as friendly as anywhere else we stayed in India. Our room was fine except for the mouse (we were on the second floor) and although two female travellers neither of us are wusses. We called down to reception who sent someone up. The mouse came running out and ran under the bed. The man then said 'mouse gone' when it obviously was just under the bed! We insisted that they take a look and lo and behold there was a nest underneath, it was filthy. They swept it out at least so we probably had the cleanest room in the hotel after than!

Then we ordered room service - another mistake - some of the food was cold - so we had to send it back to be reheated and this took a while.
The tourist desk downstairs is also not that good - they were trying to charge us more for a taxi to the airport than we paid from the tourist booth so if you can try shop around a bit to bargain better.

The area, Paharganj, was a bit intimidating to us as females and I wouldn't suggest walking around very early morning or late at night. This could have been because of the time of year (January) and it was freezing cold so everyone was wrapped up with faces covered and fires going.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EntityLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (386)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

197 - 203 of 386 reviews

Reviewed 12 March 2010

We both started and ended our trip in Delhi and therefore stayed in this hotel twice in different rooms. It is located in Pahar Ganj at walking distance from New Delhi Station close to the main bazaar which, after travelling in India for 4 weeks, we found was a good place for shopping. In spite of the name, the building is not exactly a 'cottage' considering all the marble floors and stairways, but we would say it is a reliable and quite comfortable hotel for reasonable value with a good location. There is no restaurant at the hotel but there is a good option to eat just opposite it.

We were picked up from the airport at 1:30 am as agreed per email, although at a price: it cost us 600 rupees whereas the drop-off 4 weeks later cost us only 250 rupees. (On a side note, we were surprised to find on arrival that two other hotels had also send representatives to pick us up. This even though we had cancelled our reservation with one of them, which they confirmed, and with the other we had just inquired room availability through their website (we thought) without ever receiving a reply.)

For the first stay we had booked a bit more expensive room (1750 Rs) to allow us to recuperate a bit from the flight and the nocturnal arrival in reasonable comfort. For the extra money you get a lot of extra space, a big bed and a balcony. The balcony however is completely walled and only allows you to look up to the sky through a roster. The room featured some kind of ventilation to the main stairway as a result of which in the morning and night we would sometimes be disturbed by noise from staff or clients in the stairway and downstairs at the reception. We had a look at the cheaper rooms and decided that those were good enough too and reserved one for our later stay.

Arriving 4 weeks later we were pleasantly surprised to find that they indeed still had our reservation, especially since the hotel was completely booked. This room (900 Rs), located at the back of the hotel, we found was of quite good value, with a downside that it has no window but just some sort of ventilation shaft. Just before going to bed a loud continuing hum emerged from it of which at first we thought it was the AC of another room. After calling reception twice the noise stopped when they apparently had switched something off. This could mean that it had been caused by a ventilation system. We had the impression that without complaining we would have had to listen to the hum the whole night. If so, that would in our opinion be a serious disadvantage to that room and possibly to others as well.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ButterChapati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2010

Cottage Yes Please was clean, comfortable and cheap, but the neighborhood is terrible.

If you WANT to stay in the Main Bazaar/Pahar Ganj area (a place where many locals never set foot) Cottage Yes Please is one of the better places, I imagine. We had at least some hot water in the shower, clean sheets, minimal bathroom bugs and arranged for airport pickup late at night (almost 2x price of prepaid taxi at the airport though). Sure, the guy was an hour late to pick us up, but we got there.

The hotel aside, I was really put off by the surrounding drugs and tourist traps of Pahar Ganj. We were advised by a local to book in South Delhi instead. We paid a bit more but our experience in Delhi was so much better the second time around.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MinneUrbanite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2010

We used this hotel a couple of times and were very happy to have made pre-bookings. It is walking distance to the new Delhi train station (10mins) with packs. The hotel is clean comfortable and a bargain for the price charged in Delhi. We were very happy to be able to return to this hotel. All bookings were done on email and when changes were nescessary it was easy over the email. No upfront payments were required and the staff were very friendly. When we wanted to check out late we asked and they confirmed we would have to pay more which I find is very reasonable. We decided to take their offer of leaving our luggage downstairs instead which was great. This is a free service. Top of the range place to stay, and again for the price it is a gem. Well done guys!!

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank casafleon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2010

i stayed at paharganj due to budgetary constraints. cottage yes please was clearly the pick of the bunch. the room and bathroom were relatively clean. hot water was readily available from the tap on most hours of the day and night. there was a wide selection of english language satellite channels on television. the hotel was conveniently located near the metro station, and a 15-minute stroll, unfortunately through the congested, dirty, tout-infested street of paharganj, would get you to the railway station. i could not complain with the 900 rupees/night price tag.

better yet, room service was catered by the wonderful maholtra restaurant just across the street. my favourite restaurant in delhi.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank galacticnick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2009

The hotel itself is fairly nice, and was kept clean. The rooms were comfortable, yet the bed was quite short. I was a little put off the by the area, though. It looked pretty rough, but I had no issues coming or going late at night. There were lots of amenities nearby, restaurants, ATMs, etc. Also lots of shopping. The street was quite noisy at night (typical Delhi...honking horns, barking dogs, although no mooing cows).

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jasoninbrantford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2009

We were staying at the Pearl Plaza and spotted this place from the restaurant opposite.
Ended up returning here twice. Found them to be efficient and helpful, and the room to be excellent in the price range. We requested rooms at the back and got quiet rooms.

The rooms were clean, bathroom highly functional. The 2 rooms we had had different decoration, but both were pleasantly decorated, and used the space efficiently, so that a compact room had enough space for us and our 3 bags. I liked touches such as a magnetic catch on the bathroom door so it remained shut at night, cutting out noise from the open window in there, and curtains across the door to shut out hallway light coming through the relight. It was one of the first rooms in a while where there was no peeling paint any where, or need for maintenance. After 2 months of Indian hotels this place was in excellent condition. I would certainly rate high above Pearl Plaza and Vivek

We had no hassle about paying in advance for the room, though when we used their bag storage for a few days we had to pay a nights deposit for our return visit. They took a lot of care marking our luggage, and checking it on return. Valuable when you see how many bags they have stored. We had a fragile package and they stored it in their office for safety, though it took a while to locate it again.

Although no on-site restaurant there are 2 good restaurants opposite, and they will collect from one if you don't want to leave your room.

Airport taxis were arranged at the pre-paid taxi rank price. They have a tour desk there and a money changer. Laundary can be arranged.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TahoeDog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
Pahar Ganj
Cottage Ganga Inn
Cottage Ganga Inn
#95 of 777 in New Delhi
334 reviews
Pahar Ganj
Treebo Natraj Yes Please
Treebo Natraj Yes Please
#81 of 777 in New Delhi
278 reviews
Pahar Ganj
Hotel Cottage Crown Plaza
Hotel Cottage Crown Plaza
#487 of 777 in New Delhi
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Ajanta
#58 of 777 in New Delhi
1,962 reviews
Hotel Amax Inn
#20 of 777 in New Delhi
811 reviews
Pahar Ganj
Hotel Hari Piorko
Hotel Hari Piorko
#55 of 777 in New Delhi
1,771 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cottage Yes Please? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cottage Yes Please

Address: 1843 - 44 Cottage Yes Please Laxmi Narayan Street Raj Guru Road Chuna Mandi | S.R.T. Nagar, New Delhi 110055, India
Region: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #216 of 777 Hotels in New Delhi
Price Range: £15 - £28 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cottage Yes Please 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Cottage Yes Please reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cottage Yes Please Hotel New Delhi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing