We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Insightful and heartbreaking ”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Gandhi Smriti

Gandhi Smriti
Book In Advance
More Info
US$45.00*
and up
Learn Gandhi's Journey in Delhi
Ranked #16 of 415 things to do in New Delhi
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Mahatma Gandhi's home while in Delhi and the site of his assassination.
Swadlincote, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Insightful and heartbreaking ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2014 via mobile

You see where the great man lived and died, but the place provides so much information in so many different ways. Through art and media and film. As well as through blown up pictures of quotes from people that where close to him. You get to see where he walked his last steps and up to where he was shot. So insightful, definitely recommend, tip the souvenir shop isn't obvious, so ask around for it.

Helpful?
Thank georgiahunt68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,503 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    856
    474
    147
    24
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A hidden gem in the heart of Delhi”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2014

There are many museums dedicated to Gandhi, in Calcutta where he spent much of his life and elsewhere. Gandhi Smirti - where he lived for only a few months prior to his assasination is dedicated more to his assassination and the events leading up to it.
Located in the Embassy quarter, this walled compound provides a quiet and peaceful refuge from the dirt and noise of New Delhi.

The information boards could do with updating, but provide a reasonable background to Gandhi's lifes work and beliefs. As Gandhi is considered the Father of the Indian Nation it is of course all rather rose-tinted, but is certainly worth a couple of hours of your time, and unlike many attractions in Delhi is not filled with hawkers or guides pestering you for your trade.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lund, Sweden
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Worth the time to pay homage.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2014

Apologies for the heading but this was is the only draw to this place for me personally. I had already been to Mumbai to see his office while he was based there and also the Gandhi Ashram in Ahmedabad, so here in Delhi it was much of the same thing (not an issue if you visit this place first though).
I was somehow drawn to the spot where he took his last breath before he died. I was not being morbid but something pulls you in to that spot and you find yourself in a thoughtful and reflective trance and trying to imagine that very day and what it could have been like for all his followers to have witnessed what they did. It is a privilege to stand close to tis spot and pay your respects. Very sad that he was shot by one of his own fellow Hindus all in the name of trying to improve India. It's as if you can feel his presence and maybe a blessing is given by him as you pay homage.

The grounds are nice and peaceful and it is still worth a visit.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank MaheshSweden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, UK
Level Contributor
112 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Peaceful, informative memorial site with an interesting multi-media exhibition”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2014

On a recent return trip to Delhi having previously worked in the area until 2 years ago, I found myself pondering which "sites" I would like to go back and revisit. Gandhi Smriti quickly came out on top. I wasn't disappointed on my return - it's a lovely, peaceful site and has enough historical background to understand enough about Gandhi's life and the events leading up to his assassination. Maybe the main interpretation boards could do with some modernising, rewriting and reordering but the old photographs on the boards tell a great story. It left me wanting to learn a little more about this fascinating man and I've begun reading some biographies of him as a result.
In complete contrast to the black and white story boards downstairs, there is an interesting multi-media exhibition upstairs. It's a fine attempt to give a modern twist to some of the key teachings and events of Gandhi's life although at times it feels a little disjointed and again the individual exhibits could do with some interpretation boards. The friendly, helpful guides who accompany visitors around provide some interpretation but a little more about some of the concepts would add to the experience.
The pathway (with it's raised footsteps) from the house to the prayer ground where Gandhi was shot still conveys a sense of tension and foreboding - I found myself thinking about those last few minutes of his life as I slowly walked the path alongside. Worth combining it with a trip to Gandhi's cremation site at Raj Ghat to complete a very thought-provoking few hours.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank StephenR58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Very Interesting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2014

There was so much info. I loved reading about his life and the historic events. The garden was nice and very beautiful with his last footsteps.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Anna_Kauppila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gandhi Smriti also viewed

New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
 
New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
 

Been to Gandhi Smriti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing