We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just ok for a night”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Centaur Hotel, IGI Airport
Ranked #639 of 707 Hotels in New Delhi
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
84 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Just ok for a night”
Reviewed 27 December 2013

Took that hotel as had a early morning flight from T3. Reaching T3 was two min ride by car from hotel (free service). That is only advantage. Room was just ok. You can make out that once upon a time it was a nice hotel now any more. Door lock does not work. So for dinner & breakfast I had to leave door unlocked and go to lobby. Reception pleaded that they have no solution other than ordering food at room. Breakfast option is just ok. Nothing great. Just like a motel. Dinner was also equally average. Except me most were having food at airlines expense for delayed flight. Room had tel but no dial tone. Some room complained at reception that TV not working. So solution for that also except saying sorry. There should some place where one can complain rather than writing review.

Room Tip: Chekc if room has any leak, door locking. TV. Once you check in they will not change saying no room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kingshuk P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6
    14
    20
    32
    159
See reviews for
42
30
50
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    1.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    1.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    1.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Basingstoke, UK
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013

I was accommodated at this hotel for a night on Nov 29 by Air India, as I had missed a connecting flight. The Hotel is managed by Air India. Since the check-in the experience was abysmal. The reception still use old style ledgers to record the names of visitors, food was of the worst kind, lobby had leaking roofs and the hotels staff were using flower pots to collect water.

The AC in the room was not working. The mini bar was out of order. There were no hand towels in the room. I was welcomed with a tray of food left outside my door by a previous guest. The tray was not picked up for full 20 hours of my stay in the hotel, despite three calls to the housekeeping.

The hotel is a true reflection of the decadence in Air India. If they cannot manage this hotel, the least they can do is to lease it out to some third party who can do a better job!

Room Tip: All the rooms are equally tired!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dmohan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these New Delhi hotels

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
138 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 288 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2013

Previous reviewers have said it all. This hotel is a nightmare. Like others, I was dumped in a taxi and sent here by Air India after my delayed flight from Sydney meant I missed the connecting flight to Bangalore. Terrible service and a battle all the way from air India (but that's another story). The hotel is filthy, falling apart, smelly.....unbelievable. My room was so dirty it was unbearable to touch anything let alone sleep in the bed or use the bathroom. I arrived at 10pm was due to check out at 4am, so with no real alternative (apart from crying) I took a sleeping pill and passed out. There was no other way I could've slept in that room. This hotel should be shut down - and shame on Air India for sending passengers there.

Room Tip: There's no such thing as a good room at this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FrequentFlyer123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2013

We were dumped here by air India after they messed up our flight which they only told us about after a 3hour wait at the check in desk. We were taken to our room and then we left 5 minutes after and went to the the grand New Delhi hotel 5 minutes away instead which was fantastic. The damp and dirt in the cenatuar is disgusting, it seriously needs to be condemned as is unfit for health reasons. If you have young children or asthma then it is not worth the risk to your health. Spend £80 and stay elsewhere.

Room Tip: The grand New Delhi deluxe room is great or the holiday inn or the Raddisson are all 2 minutes away.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hazduppers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013

I stayed at this hotel a couple of years ago and from reading the more recent reviews, it seems as though nothing has changed. Centaur is by far THE WORST hotel I have ever stayed at. You couldn't even pay me to stay at this hotel again.

I stayed at this hotel as it was the very unfortunate location of a conference I was attending. From checking out the website prior to staying at the Centaur, it looked like an amazing hotel. The website is extremely deceiving and this hotel is not a 5 star hotel, it should be closed down.

The rooms were filthy, mould was growing on all of the hallways and covered the walls in the room. Bugs and mosquitos everywhere (lucky I had my malaria vaccination!). Some fellow conference attendees saw rats in the restaurant area. The 'complimentary' bottled water are unsealed and are refilled by the hotel so beware! The lobby, although it would have been quite grand twenty years ago, and it's main water feature is filled with stagnant smelly water with mosquitos breeding.

Hotel staff were rude and not hospitable. The room swipe key would constantly be faulty so in one day I would be going up and down the lifts to get a new card- that wouldn't work anyway!

From my one week stay in this hell hole I got extremely sick- probably from the lack of hygiene and the mould in the hotel rooms.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MurriGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 October 2013

Another air india victim who can say he has gone to hell and back. My friend and I were planning on relaxing in Kathmandu after a week of rushing around north india, instead I found myself wanting to die. If you love a Steven King Shining atmosphere you'll love this hotel. The abandoned lobey has a rather musky smell, bats zoom past your head when you're checking in, only one lift works, there are pools of water on floors from the decaying 1960s pipe work, the monstrous builing looks like a toxic bomb site, only half the hotel is lit up and none of the 20+ water features works so you can't take your mind off missing your flight. On the plus site the food isn't bad, the staff are welcoming (probably because the haven't seen anyone in months), the showers are hot and have suitable soaking pressure, the bottle opener on the bathroom wall was a lovely pleasure, the TVs have intresting static colour displays, the six ashtrays in the rooms were quite convenient and the company of other travelers who were drowning there sorrows was splendid. I could not wait to get out of hell and back into the Delhi airport.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank harryisles1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi
Level Contributor
56 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

The state of Air India is visible. Not only from within, but also from outside.

They have a grand entrance. The centaur mono, half beast half man, catches attention. It is high time Air India pulled out of hotel business or tied up with a reputed hotel chain, Taj - for instance.

The staff is an extension of Air India flights. Uninterested in you.

I recommend this hotel if you have a pressing desire to stay with centaurs and mingle with medusas.

Public sector service at its best. But not within acceptable range.

All the best to visitors.

Do it yourself hotel it is.

Room Tip: Avoid this hotel. If you have money to burn, go to Radisson.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank VivekMetta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
Hotel Green Lotus
#266 of 707 in New Delhi
39 reviews
Mahipal Pur
Hotel Delhi Aerocity
Hotel Delhi Aerocity
#120 of 707 in New Delhi
634 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel International Inn
#130 of 707 in New Delhi
128 reviews
ibis New Delhi Aerocity
#88 of 707 in New Delhi
1,184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Centaur Hotel, IGI Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Centaur Hotel, IGI Airport

Property: Centaur Hotel, IGI Airport
Address: Indira Gandhi International Airport, New Delhi 110037, India
Region: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#81 Luxury Hotel in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Centaur Hotel, IGI Airport 4.5*
Number of rooms: 376
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Agoda, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Centaur Hotel, IGI Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centaur Hotel, Igi Airport Hotel New Delhi
Centaur Hotel New Delhi
Centaur Hotel Delhi
Centaur Hotels

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing