We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“very comfortable stay and very good service.”
Review of On The House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
On The House
Ranked #45 of 1,069 New Delhi B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Mumbai (Bombay), India
2 reviews
“very comfortable stay and very good service.”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

stayed with family for 2 nights and found the place very comfortable and the service was very good too.rooms were very clean and very well done up. restroom facilities were also very well maintained..

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ramesh s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    174
    70
    14
    6
    6
See reviews for
59
58
53
75
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

I had to find a place to stay near the Government buildings at R K Puram. Rather than staying at the Hyatt hotel I decided to go to On The House. A very comfortable ambiance and good service! And a price/quality rating which is much better than the Hyatt...;-)

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Mkwadraat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 April 2014

We had a wonderful time during our 5 days in "On The House". The location, the staff, the amenities, and food were excellent. The rooms were very clean. The staff was very accommodating and helpful. The next time we are in New Delhi, we will stay in "On the House".

Room Tip: Choose a room with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ehsan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
On_The_House, Owner at On The House, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Thanks for staying with us!

Glad you had a great time during your stay & our staff looked after you well. Apart from our facilities & amenities the service provided by our staff from the cook to the house keeping is our USP.

Hope you can come back and stay with us again very soon. You will find that we have completely renovated all the rooms and the whole place has a new look.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014

We travelled to Delhi for a few nights during a longer trip to be at a friend's wedding. Because of that, we were a large group coming and going at different times. At On the House we were able to make a complicated reservation and it worked out smoothly. We also loved the rooms, cozy and filled with lots to look at. The upstairs balcony was breezy and quiet. It was walking distance to a small restaurant/food stall complex and several ATMs. GREAT food stalls, fried yums, etc.

Breakfast was basic but a sufficient portion.

Roger, (the manager? concierge? MC?) was always available and full of helpful information. They even gave us a map of the city to carry around during our stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DaraHopsCars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lille, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 April 2014

great residential area sourrounded by garden close to haus khaz village. On the house is clean and decorated with taste! It is a peacefull place in delhi with helpfull and smily staff! Not too many rooms that s give a good and friendly atmosphere, Travelling in delhi since 15 years, it's the place where i like to stay, far away from the noise, close enough from the metro and all attractions! Sure i ll come back again and again

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Manjushreemsp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
On_The_House, Owner at On The House, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
When a repeat guest comes back again & again, it is the best endorsement for a service industry, specially when there is so much choice in a place like Delhi.

Glad you enjoy your stay with us each time Manjushree. Keep coming & we will always try and keep up the good work !!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bangalore
Level Contributor
98 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

I had great expectations after reading feedback about On The House and looking at the pictures but have mixed feelings after staying there. When we checked in we were informed that the room we had booked was still occupied which was fine with us since we had arrived early. We decided to go out and when we came back, we found our luggage was put into another room which was pointed out to us by the security guard! We were later informed by Roger it was because the new room would be more comfortable for us. I have no way of verifying this as I was not shown the room we had originally booked. I had chosen the original room after checking pictures online, liking the decor and the fact it had a balcony and it certainly looked bigger in the pictures than what we were given. At least we should have been given the option since the specific room was booked in advance knowing we were three. Also there was no one to guide us and give us an overview of the place and it was only when we looked around for the breakfast place the next morning did we realise that the upstair areas (2nd and 3rd floors) were much nicer than the floor we were on which smelt musty. I found the place a bit clinical - not the warmth normally associated with the B&Bs I have stayed at

Room Tip: The rooms on the second and third floors are much better located and decorated than on the first flo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelolust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
On_The_House, Owner at On The House, responded to this review, 3 May 2014
We have three categories of rooms - Superior, Deluxe & Standard - in that order - in as much as the amenities, facilities AND price is concerned. The pictures shown are actual pictures and the rooms look EXACTLY as on our website.

The guests had opted for the cheapest room on the ground floor. We agree the rooms on the upper floors are better - but then they cost more than our standard rooms. On the date (April 20) that the guests made the reservation, these superior rooms were all occupied and hence it was not possible to give them the option to change the rooms, as they have commented.

However, the rooms on the ground floor have the same standards of cleanliness & comfort with modern bathrooms and good ventilation. We do not agree that they 'smell musty' (sic). Since the guest had made a online reservation for a room with twin beds and they were 3 persons, the staff in fact, offered them the adjacent larger room with a large double bed which could also take in an extra bed, so that they could be more comfortable.

Our staff is the USP of our place and most often than not, go out of their way to make our guests feel comfortable and 'at home'. Our many excellent reviews are a testimony to this, where guests have specially singled out our staff by name for the excellent service they provide - very often beyond the call of duty.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Rooms are artistically decorated, spotlessly clean, safe and well equipped. Service is prompt.
We were allowed early check in.
Our room was next to the Kitchen / Dining area and hence very noisy and disturbing in the mornings.
Breakfast requested at 10am which was refused as breakfast closes at 10 am.
However on the same morning we found breakfast service ongoing at 10.30 am to other hotel guests (Westeners).
Probably they have different rules for different guests.

We were charged 15% over room tariff , this being commission payable by the Hotel to Booking.com.
Payment by credit card will also mean an additional 4% charge towards credit card commission.
Hotel collects Booking.com and credit card commission from its guests.
Have booked many times thru Booking.com but did not come across such a deal.


Rating – give 2.5 out of 5

Room Tip: As for room away from Kitchen
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AmeetSardesai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
On_The_House, Owner at On The House, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
This is a review which has been hastily posted by the guest without first ascertaining the complete facts.

Noisy room - Proximity to kitchen:-
Our kitchen has double doors to keep away any sounds. Have never had any complaints so far. However, we have advised the cook to be extra careful especially if there are guests who have arrive after a late night flight & are still sleeping. Since the guest had requested for an early check-in, this being the only room available, we gave them not only an early check-in but a complimentary upgrade to this, a superior deluxe room - our best room.

Breakfast Timings:-
When the guest arrived, they enquired about the breakfast service timings to which the staff informed them that the timing are 7:30 -10:00AM.
Although the above timings are generally followed, at no time are guests REFUSED breakfast. Our guests arrive at all hours - very late night, early morning, after 10:00AM etc. Breakfast is served to ALL at most reasonable hours. There is ABSOLUTELY NO DIFFERENTIATION. FOR US ALL GUESTS are equally important. The observation made by the guest about Indians & Westerners is totally misplaced and is due to a misunderstanding or misconception on their part, is all we can say. In fact, on the second morning they had to leave early and breakfast was served to the at 7:00AM.

Misunderstanding over Tax charged vs booking.com commission:-
The service charge + service tax charged is as follows:
Service Charge 10% on room charges
Service Tax 40% on 12.36% = 4.944% (approx 5%).
Total charged 15%
Perhaps the staff misinformed (or the guest misunderstood) that this charge was to offset the commission paid to booking.com (the commission to booking.com is 12% & is borne totally by us). 
We explained the above to the guest via email and in response received the following email, which explains that the misgivings that the guest had were solely due to a misunderstanding / miscommunication:-
--------------------------
Dear Aradhana,

Thanks for your emails. We appreciate your drive  to communicate with us ( especially when our feedback is not something I as a hotelier would like) which shows a lot of character as a hospitality professional.

Thanks for all other services and early checkin provided by you.

Regards,
Ameet
---------------------------------
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
South Indian Hotel
#546 of 713 in New Delhi
3.0 of 5 bubbles 13 reviews
Hotel Tourist
#318 of 713 in New Delhi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
Biden Pura
Hotel Metro Heights
Hotel Metro Heights
#418 of 713 in New Delhi
3.0 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Delhi Bed and Breakfast
#30 of 1,069 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 371 reviews
Sai Villa
#59 of 1,069 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
Vandana's Bed and Breakfast
#68 of 1,069 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to On The House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about On The House

Property: On The House
Address: B - 4/120 | Safdarjung Enclave, New Delhi 110002, India
Region: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 1,069 B&Bs / Inns in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — On The House 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
'On The House' - More than just a place to sleep. A place to rest your soul! No hotel, however grand, gives you the feel of home like this lovely South Delhi bed and breakfast does. Centrally located in Safdarjung Enclave, it is situated in a modern park facing building convenient for morning walks in a quiet, peaceful and secure environment. It has five luxurious, beautifully furnished, spotlessly clean, air-conditioned rooms with en-suite bathrooms, broad-band & Wi-fi Internet connection, In-house Library, Colour LCD TV, electronic safe & refrigerator. Welcome Drink, complimentary breakfast & Tea/Coffee anytime is 'On The House'. For other meals you can order in-house or delivery food. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your On The House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing