We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent BnB”
Review of On The House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
On The House
Ranked #43 of 1,098 New Delhi B&B and Inns
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Lovely BnB with excellent owner and staff: Aradhna Lanba, Promod Nanda, Roger, Deepak and Ashish. It is in a gated enclave with security guard on location. Friendly, cozy atmosphere, rooms are clean. Good food! Everything is made as comfortable as possible for you. This is our second trip to India that we stayed at On the House. Especially great for females traveling alone or an extended stay in Delhi. Home away from home. There is WiFi at the cute roof top lounge. I had an unexpected change in plans two times and was able to call for their assistance. So helpful. Always felt safe and well cared for. Prepaid the room; however, emailed the BnB directly first for instructions prior to payment so no confusion. I prearranged with them prior to travel for taxi pick-ups and drop-offs and day use. They assigned the same driver who was a careful driver, which is seriously important in India. Also, generally a taxi driver will ONLY take you shopping at their commission kick-back stores. This was never the case with the drivers they use. If there was ever any difficulty communicating, we called the BnB using his mobile and they let him know what we needed. I always carry the BnB phone numbers, a copy of the directions to the BnB off their website, and a Delhi map just in case it is needed. Have not used had to use the directions back yet. Our driver this time, Surrender, knew many short cuts that saved us so much time when going to and from the train stations, which can be extremely jammed with commercial traffic in the evenings. Would not stay anywhere else in Delhi. Thank you everyone for making our stay in Delhi great!!!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank RosieD44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (271)
There are newer reviews for On The House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

57 - 63 of 271 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2014

stayed with family for 2 nights and found the place very comfortable and the service was very good too.rooms were very clean and very well done up. restroom facilities were also very well maintained..

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ramesh s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

I had to find a place to stay near the Government buildings at R K Puram. Rather than staying at the Hyatt hotel I decided to go to On The House. A very comfortable ambiance and good service! And a price/quality rating which is much better than the Hyatt...;-)

Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
2  Thank Mkwadraat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

We had a wonderful time during our 5 days in "On The House". The location, the staff, the amenities, and food were excellent. The rooms were very clean. The staff was very accommodating and helpful. The next time we are in New Delhi, we will stay in "On the House".

Room Tip: Choose a room with a balcony.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ehsan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
On_The_House, Owner at On The House, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

Thanks for staying with us!

Glad you had a great time during your stay & our staff looked after you well. Apart from our facilities & amenities the service provided by our staff from the cook to the house keeping is our USP.

Hope you can come back and stay with us again very soon. You will find that we have completely renovated all the rooms and the whole place has a new look.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

We travelled to Delhi for a few nights during a longer trip to be at a friend's wedding. Because of that, we were a large group coming and going at different times. At On the House we were able to make a complicated reservation and it worked out smoothly. We also loved the rooms, cozy and filled with lots to look at. The upstairs balcony was breezy and quiet. It was walking distance to a small restaurant/food stall complex and several ATMs. GREAT food stalls, fried yums, etc.

Breakfast was basic but a sufficient portion.

Roger, (the manager? concierge? MC?) was always available and full of helpful information. They even gave us a map of the city to carry around during our stay.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DaraHopsCars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

great residential area sourrounded by garden close to haus khaz village. On the house is clean and decorated with taste! It is a peacefull place in delhi with helpfull and smily staff! Not too many rooms that s give a good and friendly atmosphere, Travelling in delhi since 15 years, it's the place where i like to stay, far away from the noise, close enough from the metro and all attractions! Sure i ll come back again and again

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Manjushreemsp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
On_The_House, Owner at On The House, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

When a repeat guest comes back again & again, it is the best endorsement for a service industry, specially when there is so much choice in a place like Delhi.

Glad you enjoy your stay with us each time Manjushree. Keep coming & we will always try and keep up the good work !!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

I had great expectations after reading feedback about On The House and looking at the pictures but have mixed feelings after staying there. When we checked in we were informed that the room we had booked was still occupied which was fine with us since we had arrived early. We decided to go out and when we came back, we found our luggage was put into another room which was pointed out to us by the security guard! We were later informed by Roger it was because the new room would be more comfortable for us. I have no way of verifying this as I was not shown the room we had originally booked. I had chosen the original room after checking pictures online, liking the decor and the fact it had a balcony and it certainly looked bigger in the pictures than what we were given. At least we should have been given the option since the specific room was booked in advance knowing we were three. Also there was no one to guide us and give us an overview of the place and it was only when we looked around for the breakfast place the next morning did we realise that the upstair areas (2nd and 3rd floors) were much nicer than the floor we were on which smelt musty. I found the place a bit clinical - not the warmth normally associated with the B&Bs I have stayed at

Room Tip: The rooms on the second and third floors are much better located and decorated than on the first flo...
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank travelolust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
On_The_House, Owner at On The House, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2014

We have three categories of rooms - Superior, Deluxe & Standard - in that order - in as much as the amenities, facilities AND price is concerned. The pictures shown are actual pictures and the rooms look EXACTLY as on our website.

The guests had opted for the cheapest room on the ground floor. We agree the rooms on the upper floors are better - but then they cost more than our standard rooms. On the date (April 20) that the guests made the reservation, these superior rooms were all occupied and hence it was not possible to give them the option to change the rooms, as they have commented.

However, the rooms on the ground floor have the same standards of cleanliness & comfort with modern bathrooms and good ventilation. We do not agree that they 'smell musty' (sic). Since the guest had made a online reservation for a room with twin beds and they were 3 persons, the staff in fact, offered them the adjacent larger room with a large double bed which could also take in an extra bed, so that they could be more comfortable.

Our staff is the USP of our place and most often than not, go out of their way to make our guests feel comfortable and 'at home'. Our many excellent reviews are a testimony to this, where guests have specially singled out our staff by name for the excellent service they provide - very often beyond the call of duty.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
South Indian Hotel
#556 of 713 in New Delhi
13 reviews
Hauz Khas
Deer Park Villa
Deer Park Villa
#130 of 713 in New Delhi
31 reviews
Biden Pura
Hotel Metro Heights
Hotel Metro Heights
#401 of 713 in New Delhi
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Tourist
#259 of 713 in New Delhi
43 reviews
Delhi Bed and Breakfast
#35 of 1,098 in New Delhi
372 reviews
Vandana's Bed and Breakfast
#74 of 1,098 in New Delhi
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to On The House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about On The House

Address: B - 4/120 | Safdarjung Enclave, New Delhi 110002, India
Region: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 1,098 B&Bs / Inns in New Delhi
Price Range: £40 - £55 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — On The House 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
'On The House' - More than just a place to sleep. A place to rest your soul! No hotel, however grand, gives you the feel of home like this lovely South Delhi bed and breakfast does. Centrally located in Safdarjung Enclave, it is situated in a modern park facing building convenient for morning walks in a quiet, peaceful and secure environment. It has five luxurious, beautifully furnished, spotlessly clean, air-conditioned rooms with en-suite bathrooms, broad-band & Wi-fi Internet connection, In-house Library, Colour LCD TV, electronic safe & refrigerator. Welcome Drink, complimentary breakfast & Tea/Coffee anytime is 'On The House'. For other meals you can order in-house or delivery food. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your On The House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing