We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Calm in the storm”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Tara Palace Chandni Chowk
Ranked #84 of 713 Hotels in New Delhi
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Calm in the storm”
Reviewed 14 October 2013

This place is a peaceful oasis amid the chaos of the old cycle market in old Delhi. The rooms were comfortable and clean and the staff were excellent in providing help with phone cards etc. A room with a window and balcony is recommended. The food was some of the best and cheapest we had in India. The hotel is within walking distance of the Red Fort and lots of shopping. Go to the nearby paper market for lots of bargains. Make sure you agree on a price before you get a rickshaw anywhere. A great place to get the feel for old Delhi.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HCEP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

490 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    164
    209
    89
    18
    10
See reviews for
59
189
91
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013

If you want the 'real' India with all of its known negatives that the open-=minded can ignore then this is the place for you. This hotel is located at the end of a winding alley starting at the grandiose street named The Esplanade with people, animals, and traffic all vying for space. The hotel is very clean,and rooms are spacious and very comfortable(ask for a room with a window and terrace) The food is excellent with the best garlic naan we ate throughout India. All of the staff, we found to be extremely friendly and helpful and made our stay enjoyable. A highly recommended hotel in a fabulous location e.g. shops, markets, Red Fort and numerous temples and mosques all within walking distance.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with window and terrace as these give good views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fulfillingdreams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Immingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
138 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013

The other reviews have said it all. Nice Hotel in the slums. It was our first Hotel in India. Chandi Chowk is mind blowing to all the senses and you a in the midst of a very intense Old Delhi. Not a good choice for us as our daughter was visiting us and we had to make sure she got the metro in the evening. It gets dark in India at 6pm so safety was an issue. Walking back from the metro in the dark was an experience. Not just people danger but not being able to see where you are putting you feet. In the rat infested streets. You can't see the cow poo, the packs of dogs, the rubbish or the open sewers in the dark and heaven forbid tread on somebody asleep on the street, there are many of them.
The hotel is a jewel, breakfast and dinners were good. Room clean and spacious for Delhi. English a bit of a problem for the desk staff but they try to understand by whatever means.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jane s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Anglia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2013 via mobile

I didn't quite appreciate how there could be such a contrast between a nice hotel and Rs neighborhood. It's like the "skid row" of Delhi; so, if you're married to the idea of staying in old Delhi, I can't recommend it more. They had spacious, clean, AC rooms and great breakfast (we went with the Indian options of paratha, so good!). The only hiccup was that the driver wasn't there to pick us up from the airport in the middle of the night, but that's probably because our flight was a bit early and he was a bit late (I don't think it was by any means intentional! We were able to catch a pre-paid taxi into town without too many problems).

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bgannie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Armidale, Australia
Level Contributor
133 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013

If you don't know anything about Chandni Chowk, perhaps living there is not the best start. If you know about Old Delhi, and want to dive in for the full experience of living in the midst of this ultra intense old city, then Tara Palace is the best place to choose. Yes it's in the thick of it, but also it allows you to escape the crush and noise - a small sanctuary to retreat to when it all starts to overwhelm you, which inevitably it does.

The staff are very helpful in all areas, and some of the rooks are simply delightful. We first were given a small room on the second floor, but as it was close to the elevator, we asked to see other options. We were shown a beautiful room on the third floor, with window and small balcony which we grabbed immediately. It was such a pleasure to get back to the quietness and coolness of this room after the noise and crush of people, rickshaws, carts and motorbikes. Believe me, going anywhere in Chandni Chowk after about 4pm is sheer madness.

The food at Tara Palace was some of the best and most reasonably priced we have had in Delhi. Sitting and eating on the rooftop terrace in the evening was absolutely delightful.

If you are getting tired of the scene at Pharganj, but still enjoy the authentic Indian scene, then Tara Palace is a good choice. However, there are a few practicalities you should be aware of. Pharganj is in an unbeatable place - walking distance to Connaught Place, very close Metro - westernised food (of poor quality), shopping more appealing to westernised tastes. From Tara Palace, it is a little walk to the Metro, although by no means far, and it will cost more by rickshaw or taxi to reach New Delhi. But we found these things not a big hindrance to seeing all the usual sites around Delhi.

I can definitely recommend Tara Palace Hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms with windows on second and third floor are definitely best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael1052
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2013

It is difficult to find the hotel by yourself for the first time. Better let the hotel arrange a car to pick up if you arrive at late night. Food is good. I always ordered room service. The food came quickly and in a reasonable price. The front desk is helpful in booking cars. Service is generally good. surrounding area is interesting. Many local fruit stalls, shops and restaurants.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank theresa2046
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
119 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

The Hotel is in a tight alley very close to Red Fort. The taxi cannot enter in the alley, then it will leave you in the in the confusion of the market, 10 meters form a dump: the first impact is not so good!
When you enter in the hotel you will change your mind: the staff is very nice and helpfull and the rooms are small but clean enough.
If you're not picky i suggest you this hotel, because you can immerse yourself in the true Delhi!
Be careful to the trip agency near the hotel: they were wrong to book us trains, sos that we had to change our schedule.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paol1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
Nizamuddin
Hotel Tara Palace Daryaganj
Hotel Tara Palace Daryaganj
#97 of 713 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
Hotel Ajanta
#59 of 713 in New Delhi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,832 reviews
Wood Castle
#14 of 713 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pahar Ganj
Check In Room Chuna Mandi
Check In Room Chuna Mandi
#45 of 713 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
Pahar Ganj
Grand Godwin Hotel
Grand Godwin Hotel
#54 of 713 in New Delhi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,059 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tara Palace Chandni Chowk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tara Palace Chandni Chowk

Property: Hotel Tara Palace Chandni Chowk
Address: 419 Esplanade Road | Cycle Market opp. Red Fort, Chandni Chowk, New Delhi 110006, India
Region: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#41 Best Value Hotel in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Tara Palace Chandni Chowk 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Tara Palace is a friendly hotel which provides comfortable accommodation, free breakfast and free airport pickup. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Tara Palace Chandni Chowk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tara Palace New Delhi
Tara Palace Hotel Delhi
Tara Palace Delhi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing