We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good for a budget stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Tara Palace Chandni Chowk
Ranked #81 of 708 Hotels in New Delhi
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very good for a budget stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2014 via mobile

An oasis of calm in the heart of the hustle & bustle of Old Delhi. Deceptively big hotel, very clean with lovely staff. Accommodating to our schedule. Good food :) Would definitely stay again & absolutely recommend to anyone travelling on a budget & looking to be in the thick of the real Old Delhi.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank BishStock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

488 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    164
    207
    89
    18
    10
See reviews for
58
188
91
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stavanger, Norway
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2014

Five years ago we stayed in this hotel, trusting the good reviews on Tripadvisor. We were not disappointed then. Therefore we wanted to come back to this most interesting part of Delhi. We felt almost like locals when we where leading the taxi-driver to the entrance-path of the hotel (he didn't know the place). And just like the first time, it was hard to understand that our hotel would appear through the narrow road leading from the old cycle-market. But that is the fascinating about Hotel Tara Palace. It is clean, well organized with a service-minded staff, good food (even though it is unusual for a European only to have vegetable food) low prices and the most interesting surroundings you can want to have. We liked to walk among all the workers and merchants at the old cycle market. It is also fascinating to go in and out of the labyrinths formed by the narrow streets. The hotel is a hidden juwel in old Delhi.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bear4022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014

Stayed here with a friend in November. Place is clean and efficiently run for the most part. The front desk staff was pleasant enough, although they called the room constantly to "check on us". The first time or two was nice as it felt as though they just wanted to see how our day was going but it became excessive. The travel agent that works in conjunction with the hotel offers some great package deals, although his "salesman" personality makes him a bit off putting. We did book a driver to go to other regions and the driver was wonderful.

The room service in the hotel is tasty and decently priced. The room service staff, however, was a little on the creepy side. As two young female travelers, we found that if we ordered from room service they came to the room multiple times which seemed unnecessary. Also at breakfast one morning, the dining room attendant brought our breakfast without the fruit. We didn't care until we saw him sneak it out of a drawer in the dining room and shove it in his mouth and pretend as though nothing happened. Very Odd. He also used the bathroom in the dinning room and started making extremely uncomfortable noises as we ate.

The facilities as a whole were clean though and in the right price range. The location is really close to the Red Fort which is interesting.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CTravs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai
Level Contributor
26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2013 via mobile

It took some time to get the room reserved via email. But other than that, it was smooth sailing. The airport pickup was a great add on. The driver was there on time even though I had an early morning flight and was great to talk to as well. The room was clean and everything was immaculate. Even the bathroom was quite nice and clean compared to hotels of a similar standard.

The Indian breakfast was fabulous (Aloo paratha!) and so was the room service dinner (Butter paneer). Room service was quick and efficient. The Jama Masjid and Red Fort were really close by and one could walk to them. The Chandni Chowk bazaar is also at the doorstep. Transfers are arranged at a nominal price by the hotel.

The best thing about the hotel was that they didn't salivate for tips or fleece you with other charges. This is my hotel of choice in this area

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank mystique9999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 December 2013

Loved it here. Great location for spice market and red fort. Great views from roof top and super curries. Hotel collected us from the airport which I would strongly advise you arrange before you go. Nice staff. Definately would stay again

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cath71_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2013

You dont pay much. But you get enough.
Service people were really nice and courteous. I was fasting and one of the staff who was muslim too brought me breakfast even though it was outside breakfast and service time.
Rooms are ok.recommended: rooms with windows and balcony. Quite exciting area.
If you go on the rooftop you have an amazing view.
If you are booking taj mahal tour at the travel agent from the hotel take book the guide too, he is amazing.

Room Tip: Take rooms with window and balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Famu M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2013

The Tara Palace should be called "Tara Shed", the brochure is a masterpiece of subterfuge.
I am a regular traveler to India, and as a European I do try to put myself in surroundings I feel comfortable in, and at the same time watch the budget. This helps me to function properly and do the best for my clients. I am aware of the social challenges in Delhi, I am not a luxury-seeking tourist, I do not judge.
However, the brochures show views and pictures that lulled me into a false sense of security, I booked the Tara "palace" on the basis of the photos, the price, and the fact that it's not too far from Pragati Maiden where I was attending a trade show.
When I actually got there I could only wonder at the imagination of the brochure-maker.
There are supposed to be spectacular views of the Red Fort from the "roof garden". The brochure shows the front of the red fort in all it's glory as if you could sip tea as the sun sets gazing over this marvelous building.
I queried this and was led onto the roof, ducking under the clothes lines, stepping over the electric cables and ducting i was triumphantly shown to one corner of the roof where if I peered between the TV aerials and scaffolding of the surrounding cluttered rooftops I could just about make out a few bricks of one corner of the red fort.
The room was clean, but as usual the vast array of random banks of switches baffled me and the bathroom had cracks and gaps to let in the smoke and fumes from the street fires.
I checked out as soon as i could never to return, there are far better hotels in this price bracket in Karol Bagh.

Room Tip: If you are stuck here, pay for the best room in the place and stay there until the taxi picks you up...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Bigxr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
Nizamuddin
Hotel Tara Palace Daryaganj
Hotel Tara Palace Daryaganj
#88 of 708 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
Hotel Ajanta
#60 of 708 in New Delhi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,808 reviews
Wood Castle
#13 of 708 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pahar Ganj
Check In Room Chuna Mandi
Check In Room Chuna Mandi
#47 of 708 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
Pahar Ganj
Grand Godwin Hotel
Grand Godwin Hotel
#53 of 708 in New Delhi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,055 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tara Palace Chandni Chowk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tara Palace Chandni Chowk

Property: Hotel Tara Palace Chandni Chowk
Address: 419 Esplanade Road | Cycle Market opp. Red Fort, Chandni Chowk, New Delhi 110006, India
Region: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#38 Best Value Hotel in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Tara Palace Chandni Chowk 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Tara Palace is a friendly hotel which provides comfortable accommodation, free breakfast and free airport pickup. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Tara Palace Chandni Chowk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tara Palace New Delhi
Tara Palace Hotel Delhi
Tara Palace Delhi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing