We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and safe place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Tara Palace Chandni Chowk
Ranked #94 of 736 Hotels in New Delhi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 September 2009

Nice and cheap hotel. The rooms are clean and you're just in the middle of old town, not so far from metro line. We stayed there 3 nights, avoid the room near the kitchen because they're always at work.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ufetta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (507)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

391 - 397 of 507 reviews

Reviewed 15 September 2009

We booked the first night of our tour in India and the pick up at the International Airport: they were there to wait for us, which was a good start indeed. :)
The hotel is clean, the staff efficient and helpful.
The location of the hotel could appear at the first glance not very safe, as the place is very crowed, but we felt safer wondering on foot there than in Paharganj.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kitiara31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2009

Very clean rooms, confortable after a crazy day on the streets of old Delhi, very quiet, nice and allways available staff to help you with anything you need. The location couldn't be better. Great food, we could say it was one of the best food we ate in India.
Great value for price.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mariacaxuxa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2009

We chose this hotel because it looked quite nice for its price, and the location was quite interesting for a first contact with India, the hotel itself on a alley in the middle of old Delhi, in walking distance to the Red fort, the big mosque, and the NDLS and DLI railway stations. The rooms are clean and tidy, the neighborhood is quiet and the staff is nice and helpfull, the restaurant has excellent food, maybe the best food we ate in India, available 24h a day!

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank manalokos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2009

Our experience of this hotel started at the airport. The driver was there to welcome us, he was friendly and informative. The front desk staff were outstanding, they were friendly, helpful and nothing was too much trouble. All our special requests had been arranged prior to arrival. The rooms were very clean and well appointed and security was very high on their list of priorities. The 24 hr restaurant and room service was a definite plus point for this property, the waiting staff were efficient and friendly. All in all, a well run hotel.
Mark Walker - Goa

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank kramreklaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2009

This hotel was our first stop in India on a month backpacking trip, sure there are cheaper hostels but it was nice to have the pick up from the airport and the security of knowing someone was waiting for us when our flight arrived at night (and we were late out of the airport because they lost our luggage!!!) Everyone in the hotel was helpful and we could literally order great food at any hour of the day and the food was delicious!!! the men at the front desk were very helpful- gave us internet for free, gave us directions places, on our second day there we met a man named Rameez, that if I can remember works for adventure travel company (his office is attached to the hotel) Rameez sat down with us and we figured out exactly where we wanted to go for the month and together we decided what kind of class of hotels we were willing to stay in, we booked ALL our train tickets (which he had available for us the next day!!!) He then organized a cab to drive us for the next 7 days of our journey to Agra then on to the Rajasthan province! He was very helpful, funny and excellent with English, he will listen to what you wish to do, and honestly gives you a decent rate, throughout our whole trip if there were any issues with our booked hostels or tickets (including flights) we could contact him at any time, he really helped us two girl travelers out ALOT!!!!! Sooo many positives, only negative- make sure you get the hotels you want (ie. if you want to stay in the shopping area or if you want to stay away from other tourists, or if you want to go where all the other backpackers are!!!!! BE CLEAR!!!! Also if there is an area you want to tour and do on your own and pick your own hostel for the night, be sure to let Rameez know and he will plan around any schedule you give him!!!!!! Overall like I said a great place to start the trip and with helpful workers and their travel office to arrange your trip you should have no problems!!! We didn't and have deeply appreciated the help this company has given us!!!

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank CdnBackpackinChix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2009

Hotel Tara Palace website: www.tarapalacedelhi.com

Me and my wife stayed three nights at Tara Palace on two seperate occasions in July 2009 as part of a sightseeing trip (golden triangle).

Following is a list of pros and cons as well as general notes on the hotel and its service:

The Pros
- If you want to be in Old Delhi (or near the Red Fort), the location is good
- Cheapest hotel in it's class that I could find
- Very neat and tidy rooms with good airconditioning
- Away from busy streets (See notes below though)
- Check-in / out fairly easy. No hidden costs, credit cards accepted.
- As per their website no extra taxes were added later on.
- Free airport pick-up
- Complimentary breakfast (Not great, but acceptable)
- Room service menu at very cheap prices
- 15 minutes complimentary internet usage downstairs
- Elevator to all floors

The Cons
- If youve never been to India or a third world country, the location might not be suitable for you
- No leeway with pick-up / drop-off (see notes)
- Travel agent slightly pushy (but probably just doing his job)

Notes
(Please note that most budget hotels in Delhi will have some or all of these issues)
- Hot water only available one of the three days (it was 40 deg C outside though)
water pressure in shower acceptable though.
- Try not to stay on the third floor. The kitchen and restaurant are here and there is a lot of noise echoing through the corridors till the early hours of the morning.
- NIght staff can be quite unfriendly compared to the day staff
- They are willing to do a free pickup from the airport (22km away) but not from New Delhi Train Station (3km away)
- They refused to change the complimentary pick-up (that we did not get) into a complimentary drop-off at the airport (Rs300 extra).
- Late check-out will cost half the daily room rate (Check-out is 12:00)
They will kepp your bags though if you want to collect them later.
- The photos of the rooms on their website are quite accurate.
- Very little soap/shampoo are provided (bring your own)
- Toilet paper is limited, but they will bring more if you ask

Travel agent
(All hotels in Delhi has their own travel desk - they will all try to sell you the world: BEWARE!)
- The travel agent tried his best to get us to cancel our prepaid train tickets to Agra and Jaipur and suggested we hire a car with a driver from him. He said the train to Agra takes more than three hours. (It actually takes exactly 2 hours as advertised). He said a car will only take 3 hours (actually its closer to 5 hours, sometimes more). He tried to get us to cancel hotel reservations and use his reccomendations.
JUST SAY NO THANKYOU!
- We paid Rs1500 for an A/C car and driver for a full day of sightseeing. It is difficult to organise this by yourself and the agent knows this - however, this price can be negociated. Also insist that if you hire a driver, an airport/station drop-off is included.
You will still have to tip the driver as he doesnt see any of the money you pay to the agent.

Summary:
Pleasant stay in general with minor annoyances. If you can get past the location of this hotel (or even if you want to stay in Old Delhi) it is great value for the money.

General Tips for this area:
- There is a Metro train station 750m from the hotel. It can be tricky to find yourself (ask the locals), otherwise 5min by auto rickshaw, appr. Rs20-30 (you have to haggle)
- No matter what they tell you, the Red Fort is only 400m on foot. Jama Masjid is 500m away. (Get a map from the travel desk)
- Pre-paid auto-rickshaw from NDLS to hotel is Rs62. From hotel to NDLS you will have to haggle VERY hard for this price. The hotel will not go lower than Rs300 to call a taxi for you.
- There are very little taxis/auto-rickshaws right outside the hotel, you'll find most on Chandni Chook.
- It is expected that you tip everyone: Doorman, security guard (tip them when you check out), the two people that cary your one suitcase to AND from your room, waiters, etc. Always carry Rs10 notes with you, they are handy for tipping.
- For Google Earth users: here is the location of the hotel: 28°39'16.95"N 77°14'3.82"E

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CX15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
Nizamuddin
Hotel Tara Palace Daryaganj
Hotel Tara Palace Daryaganj
#103 of 736 in New Delhi
67 reviews
Chandni Chowk
Hotel Aiwan e Shahi
Hotel Aiwan e Shahi
#238 of 736 in New Delhi
6 reviews
Pahar Ganj
OYO 2902 Hotel Lal's Haveli
OYO 2902 Hotel Lal's Haveli
#122 of 736 in New Delhi
278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Ajanta
#58 of 736 in New Delhi
1,936 reviews
Pahar Ganj
Check In Room Main Bazar
Check In Room Main Bazar
#70 of 736 in New Delhi
117 reviews
Hotel Sunstar Residency
#63 of 736 in New Delhi
325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tara Palace Chandni Chowk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tara Palace Chandni Chowk

Address: 419 Esplanade Road | Cycle Market opp. Red Fort, Chandni Chowk, New Delhi 110002, India
Region: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi > Chandni Chowk
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#26 Best Value Hotel in New Delhi
Price Range: £21 - £31 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Tara Palace Chandni Chowk 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Tara Palace is a friendly hotel which provides comfortable accommodation, free breakfast and free airport pickup. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Tara Palace Chandni Chowk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tara Palace New Delhi
Tara Palace Hotel Delhi
Tara Palace Delhi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing