We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, clean and modern.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Tara Palace Chandni Chowk
Ranked #96 of 779 Hotels in New Delhi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 August 2010

Very good location - though you do have to walk down a little ally way to find it. Clean rooms, modern, basic. Friendly staff but nothing above and beyond. Breakfast was good. Rates reflect Delhi.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 1982loulou1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (510)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

314 - 320 of 510 reviews

Reviewed 15 August 2010

Hotel Tara Palace is situated in Chandni Chowk in the Old Cycle Market.
You get there via one alley on Esplanade Road.
It,s an oasis of rest and peace in roaring old Delhi.
Red Fort and Jama alMasjid on walking distance.
Metro also that close...so most places of intrest within reach.
The staff and personal are helpfull and friendly..nice pickup service from the airport(free}
Also good adress to terminate your holliday.....cheap taxi to airport ...roomrent for half a day so you can leave in the middle of the night clean and relaxed,

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ronaldvangool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2010

We arrived in Delhi from London and had no idea what to expect and only pieced together what we could from lonely planet and trip advisor. We were thankful for the airport pick up service and for the Internet facility. The food was decent enough and the rooms were clean with aircon. It was all a bit hilarious lugging our luggage through the bicycle Market and then up the narrow lift. Brill though. The travel beuro next door were more than willing to help us plan our rajhastan trip and when we had done that we stayed in Tara palace again. We liked this hotel it s ideal fir exploring the fascinating city of Delhi.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Turtle8403
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2010

hidden amongst alleys off the old cycle market lies this lovely clean hotel. rooms basic but spotless and hot water. no view from room but rooftop view is amazing. our last night the staff put a table on the rooftop and we dined up there with a view of the fort and the hustle/bustle below - awesome. price seemed spot on. famous jalebiwala very close!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kel015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2010

Hotel Tara Palace is good & cheap hotel in Delhi. It is near chandni chownk.Hotel restaurant good food and good value for money. Excellent Wi-fi connection in lobby.You can enjoy cheap & good meal there.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sobamo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2010

Upon arrival at night the dark alley where this hotel is located might be a turn off--but don't let that scare you away from this wonderful hotel. We loved staying in Old Delhi and this was the perfect location from which to explore red fort (meh, not worth entering) and Jama Masjid (hide your camera or they'll charge you). A street with restaurants and bars (we visited Thugs) is only a 40 Rs rickshaw ride away for nightlife (as much nightlife as there is in Delhi).

I'm currently a week and a half into my India trip (tara palace was our first stop for 4 nights) and my favorite part so far has been to sit on the roof of hotel Tara Palace and have drinks. They don't have formal seating but they'll bring a table and chairs out for you. It is incredible--the views are outstanding. Can see red fort and Jama Masjid (better to see from the roof than pay to visit IMO) and watch kites fly, the sunset, etc. We were visited by some large monkeys one night while we read outside in the evening. Very cool overall.

Plus the price is great and the service is amazing--what more can you ask for! We hadn't planned our trip before arriving so we used the agent adjacent to the hotel to book it all and a driver--no complaints!

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kmf54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2010

Except for a nights sleep, this hotel is not recommended for anything else.
It's a basic hotel with ok rooms, but the location is a pain - hidden inbetween small streets and no parking. And it is a pain to find it within the market streets in Old Delhi.

We were given a room with inward facing window, meaning we looked into the hotel windows from our window. The bed was hard, but ok for a night. Rest of the room had a good and clean bathroom, AC, ceiling fan and TV. No minibar.

The breakfast and dinner in the restaurant (which is a standard hotel room made into a dining room & breakfast room) was a boring experience. They had only vegeterian food on the menu both on breakfast and dinner. We dropped that, and went out to eat instead but that was a pain itself: Since we were non-indians, we looked for a clean and acceptable restaurant in the area, which was impossible to find. The only solution was McDonalds just nearby.

Wifi was available only in reception. On the plus side, it was possible to enter the rooftop, where you could get a nice view of Red Fort and the city itself.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Claus J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
Nizamuddin
Hotel Tara Palace Daryaganj
Hotel Tara Palace Daryaganj
#104 of 779 in New Delhi
75 reviews
Chandni Chowk
Hotel Aiwan e Shahi
Hotel Aiwan e Shahi
#293 of 779 in New Delhi
6 reviews
Hotel Ajanta
#58 of 779 in New Delhi
2,012 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pahar Ganj
Grand Godwin Hotel
Grand Godwin Hotel
#46 of 779 in New Delhi
1,249 reviews
Pahar Ganj
Hotel Hari Piorko
Hotel Hari Piorko
#56 of 779 in New Delhi
1,796 reviews
Pahar Ganj
Hotel Godwin Deluxe
Hotel Godwin Deluxe
#42 of 779 in New Delhi
971 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tara Palace Chandni Chowk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tara Palace Chandni Chowk

Address: 419 Esplanade Road | Cycle Market opp. Red Fort, Chandni Chowk, New Delhi 110002, India
Region: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi > Chandni Chowk
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#43 Best Value Hotel in New Delhi
Price Range: £20 - £31 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Tara Palace Chandni Chowk 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Tara Palace is a friendly hotel which provides comfortable accommodation, free breakfast and free airport pickup. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Tara Palace Chandni Chowk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tara Palace New Delhi
Tara Palace Delhi
Tara Palace Hotel Delhi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing