We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warning: Hotel from Hell!!!”
Review of Megha Palace

Megha Palace
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Megha Palace
Ranked #307 of 715 Hotels in New Delhi
Reviewed 24 August 2012

I picked 1 out of 5 because it wouldn't let me pick zero.

We arrived to reserve a room for the following night and asked if we could check-in at around 8am the next morning. Of course we were told "no problem". The next morning we arrived and we were told we never showed up the previous night. They tried to charge us 1050 rupees for the previous night as they had checked us in by mistake. We naturally refused saying it was staff error and staff responsibility. The employee who had taken our reservation informed us that he had 500 rupees taken from his salary for his mistake. When we went to check out we added up the bill and the same employee had added 500 rupees for the night he had mistakenly checked us in for. After I got angry about this I was told to "RELAX". I was horrified that a receptionist would be so disgraceful and dishonest as to try to con us to pay for his mistake and I would not recommend this place if it was the last hotel in India.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Martin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (16)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 11 of 16 reviews

Reviewed 11 November 2010

Used for Business Trip of outstation associates. Very centrally located in Centre of Delhi in Old Rajender Nagar.

Just 2 minutes from Rajendra Place Metro Station and on the line which directly connects to Connought Place, where we needed to visit frequently.

Just average, but our purpose of a centrally located hotel, low budget and just decent rooms was fulfilled.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gsaraf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2010

My 3 day stay was nice and so confortable, I was also surprised with the quality of food they served to me. Food quality was nice and balanced spicy.

Stayed: April 2010, travelled on business
1  Thank sumit1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2009

Looks like an apartment converted to a Hotel.

Interiors are decent and well maintained.

But no good support from reception regarding travel or tourism.

Food provided is not good enough and not on time. Probably getting from some other source.

No other activity in the hotel when you come out of the room. Overall a congested feeling.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank pgriitb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2009

The hotel is ok, clean and have good service. The staff was very helpful, and everytime we had questions they helped us imediatly. We booked a 4 days trip with them and thaught it was very good. We had our own guide and driver that we were very satisfied with. We could enjoy our vaccation and see the real India in a way that we could not do by ourselves.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank fridalinnea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2009

I had booked a super deluxe room with the hotel for one night, since i had to board a train back home from my honeymoon trip.
I reached the hotel at night around 23.00 and was led up to my room. The room had a torn bedsheet which I told them to change, upon removing the bedsheet we saw a gapping hole in the mattress cover too.
The replacement bedsheet had oil stains on it and looked pretty old from the blue stains.
The bathroom had two torn towels, in fact it seemed they had been used for more than they should have, since they were nearly thread bare.
The refrigerator was kept in a wooden closet and at one corner you could see a large damp patch due to improper drainage of defrost water.
The AC had a front panel that was stuck on with CelloTape.
The room was too small to be comfortable and felt suffocating,even for normal rooms charges, i would have not booked it, had i known about it, leave alone "Superior Deluxe Room".
The elevators moved with a jerk as if it was to giveaway any moment now.
We were dog tired from our trip and since it was for a night, we had to put up with the hotel.
I would definitely not recommend this hotel to anybody since they are cheating people by giving fancy names to rooms which by any standards are inhospitable.
A huge THUMBS DOWN for this hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Guess79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2009

After we hopped into a taxi at the airport (pre-paid no less) who conveniently couldn't speak English when we gave our hotel address, we were whisked off to a so called tourism office who then showed us Megha Palace.

The sad and dreary reception is manned by a surly, sour and rude man who was reticent to provide us with fast or friendly service. After he huffed through the sign-in process we were shown the stuffy rooms. We were shown our room by a sleazy character who would not leave us in peace and confronted with filthy linen, grimy and paint peeling on the walls, exposed wires from light fittings, leaky plumbing, abused and dilapidated furniture. I didn't expect much in Delhi, but this was the pits for the US$35 night they were asking....I can unreservedly say it is way too much for what it is, and what it is, is extremely poor.

When we tried to checkout the following morning the managers attitude had not changed. He in fact told us to sit while he quietly called the so-called "tourist information man", or otherwise known as commison/scammer. who intercepted us. We were promptly whisked off again to try and make bookings for tours we did not want. Thanks Megha Palace!

AVOID THIS ONE AT ALL COSTS! We have stayed in some low budget places, and this one is not value for money nor is it an ethical operation.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OzStuee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
Hotel Diplomat
#235 of 715 in New Delhi
101 reviews
Megha Sheraton
#335 of 715 in New Delhi
60 reviews
Mahipal Pur
La Sapphire Hotel
La Sapphire Hotel
#488 of 715 in New Delhi
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hauz Khas
Shreyans Inn
Shreyans Inn
#207 of 715 in New Delhi
64 reviews
ITC Maurya, New Delhi
#14 of 715 in New Delhi
2,634 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Megha Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Megha Palace

Address: 39/3 Megha Palace Near Water Tank, New Delhi 110060, India
Region: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #307 of 715 Hotels in New Delhi
Price Range: £14 - £21 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Megha Palace 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Megha Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Megha Palace New Delhi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing