We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A delightful home-from-home guest house just outside the main hub-bub of Delhi”
Review of Tej Abode

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tej Abode
Ranked #79 of 1,084 New Delhi B&B and Inns
London
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“A delightful home-from-home guest house just outside the main hub-bub of Delhi”
Reviewed 1 March 2010

Tej Abode is a delightful home-from-home guest house just outside the main hub-bub of New Delhi. It's a relatively short journey to the main airport too and didn't take too long to get into down-town Delhi.

Our room was lovely, very clean with a decent bathroom, air-con and satellite TV and Wi-Fi.

The staff were really friendly and helpful and couldn't do enough for us.

The home cooked food was fantastic and the evening meal we had was delicious and which we really enjoyed.

The staff at Tej Abode organised a driver for the day for us who showed us the sights of New Delhi which was a very good thing to do.

I would definitely recommend staying at this place as it's a little gem!

  • Stayed February 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KatherineRay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    62
    21
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
28
13
14
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York, NY
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2009

This place is not bad - we enjoyed our stay, but I wouldn't recommend it to everyone. It's not a 5 star (or even 4 star) hotel. For example, even though the rooms are tidy, they are cleaned to the standard of say, how well you would clean your room if your sister was coming over to stay at your house, definitely not to the level of a luxury hotel. The breakfast is good, the location is out of town but it hardly matters since you're going to be driving everywhere, and for this it's convenient. I think that the hosts and their helpfulness is the main attraction here, and this is a good spot for people who want an alternative to a cookie cutter hotel. But for luxury and amenities, just go to a hotel.

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jaizee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cville
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 July 2009

This is a hotel that understands it is in hospitality business. I have to visit Delhi on a regular basis and had (a) run out of friends, and (b) grown to loathe Delhi hotels around C-circle. Tej's Abode is the perfect solution to both griefs. It's set in a mostly residential area (no place in India is fully residential) and is reasonably near to the airport and railway stations. My cab driver couldn't understand why I would go all the way out to GK-2 when there were all these lovely roach-motels in Paharganj, and he gloomily predicted that in a few years hotels like Tej's Abode would be all over Delhi. I'm not so sure about that; Tej's Abode is a class apart. But I certainly hope he is right.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tripper044
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
west barnstable
2 reviews
Reviewed 22 July 2009

this was the most comfortable place i stayed in all of india. during the beginning of summer heat in delhi, tej abode was an oasis of good food, beautiful and comfortable rooms, ac, full digital cable. such a breath of fresh air and hosts that were cool, down to earth and so accomodating. i highly recommend.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mdamelio7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austria & Germany
1 review
Reviewed 15 November 2008

Enjoyed the experience beeing in Delhi, but not in the normal hotels as everywhere in the world, but instead in a more private smaller property: the Tej Abode.
Stayed for almost a week in the Tej. Great for exploring from there complete New Delhi area as well as a good starting point for a trip to the south (Jaipur & Taj Mahal - ask Vikram or the team from Tej for suggestions, they organized me a great two day trip).
Great and very helpful team, for evry request they had an answer (e.g. forget the "breakfast" times like in other hotels: when I got up I got my breakfast - and it didn't matter that it was already after 1 PM ;-))
Looking forward for my next trip to India - the place to stay is already clear for me: it will be again the Tej

  • Liked — Personal touch - had more the feeling of beeing a guest in a family
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank HerbieB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boston
1 review
Reviewed 12 November 2008

The abode provided five star services from the moment we walked through the door. The staff and service was excellent, food was wonderful and the rooms were clean modern and very tastefully decorated. All in all the hospitality and amenities of this boutique property make it our #1 place to stay in Delhi. We'll be recommending the abode to all our family and friends.

Jaspal Singh and Erica Rai, Cambridge, MA, USA, October 24th 2008

  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank jasrai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kolkotta
1 review
Reviewed 7 November 2008

The place is killer! And the food is to die for… had to over eat a couple of times :)
And the staff is also very well mannered and helpful. Loved the stay.

  • Liked — FOOD
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank sharan_006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
Greater Kailash I
Hotel Meridian Plaza
Hotel Meridian Plaza
#160 of 716 in New Delhi
126 reviews
Treebo Conclave Riviera
#153 of 716 in New Delhi
32 reviews
Grand FFOUR
#129 of 716 in New Delhi
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
FabHotel Regalia GK1
#50 of 1,084 in New Delhi
85 reviews
Sai Villa
#61 of 1,084 in New Delhi
211 reviews
Vandana's Bed and Breakfast
#74 of 1,084 in New Delhi
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tej Abode? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tej Abode

Property: Tej Abode
Address: S-309, GK 2, Ground Floor | Greater Kailash - 2, New Delhi 110048, India
Region: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #79 of 1,084 B&Bs / Inns in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bed and Breakfast -GK2 -New Delhi-Centrally located - A vibrant, cozy and safe place where many cultures meet in perfect harmony with a single purpose of making a home away from home. Your well educated and widely travelled hosts offer you intrinsic Indian hospitality and international sophistication at surprisingly budgeted prices. 4 Spacious, airy and well lit rooms appointed with all 5 star amenities greet you as you step in.All bathrooms are western style and attached to the rooms - there is no sharing of the bathrooms with the other guests. Also , this property maintains its uniqueness with the ethnicity of India through the furniture , art pieces and general treatment of the whole property. Discover our specialties....our food, our comradeire, our travel desk and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Tej Abode reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing