We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic welcome to India”
Review of Shanti Home

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Shanti Home
Ranked #4 of 713 Hotels in New Delhi
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Fantastic welcome to India”
Reviewed 18 April 2013

We stayed at the Shanti Home for the first night of our trip to India before heading back to the airport to fly to Darjeeling. Got picked up from the airport by a very friendly driver, and got a great welcome in the Shanti Home by the owners. Our room was lovely, the staff were extremely friendly and kind and the tandoori food on the delightful rooftop balcony was the best we had in India. The breakfast was also excellent, and we had a very good massage to help us unwind after our flight. If I come back to Delhi I will be staying here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mike K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,137 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    853
    215
    43
    18
    8
See reviews for
139
480
196
86
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2013

We stayed at Shanti Home after 3 weeks in Rajasthan before our flight home. I have never experienced such wonderful, warm hospitality, even from boutique hotels in the States. The rooms are immaculate, cuisine delectable, and staff unparalleled in their kindness and professionalism. The amenities were just what a road weary traveler could ask for, and you are treated as a honored guest. Thank you Shanti Home!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2013

Great stay. Nice rooms excellent roofstop restaurant. Thanks again for the cooking course. Excellent welcome and very comfirtable place to stay. Staff were very accomodating with extra beds. Very good breakfast and really helpful staff, going out of their way to help us.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gcooksley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Latina Scalo, Italy
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2013

I recently had a very nice stay here. The location is great. Our room was lovely and extremely well looked after, both in terms of maintenance and cleaning. The rooms were perfect for relaxation. Extremely highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alice B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colwyn Bay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
154 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2013

Exceptionally high standard of service. Welcomed with garlands and by staff who are clearly and rightly proud to show the hotel`s facilities on arrival. Very good spacious comfortable rooms, 2 lounges , attractive roof top restaurant. 6 of us aged 5 to mid 60s have just enjoyed a superb stay at the Shanti Home at the beginning and end of our India tour. The name means peace/ rest / tranquility. The Shanti offers this in abundance and consistently high friendly service from the WHOLE team. An exceptional owner/ manager who went out of his way to help us and other guests personally. Excellent chefs and restaurant teams. We all enjoyed the cooking course offered at the hotel. An ideal base to start and finish your tour of India, which we and many others did. Great to have a tranquil area that manages to shut away the bustle of Delhi and New Delhi. Also Small parks in same road..Nice to relax in the parks to see the local cricket and games, talk to the local residents.

Room Tip: Best rooms are on the Second Floor. They were very happy to accomodate our two grand daughters in th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Charles C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amersfoort, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2013

Wish I could go back today! We had a wonderful stay at Shanti home, our nicest most welcoming in India! Staff is so friendly and super helpful. Shanti Home is blessed with a great chef whose skills make you want to eat more than you're capable of. Highly recommended! We also had a lovely facial. I can't wait to go back for a cooking class.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DyonneP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

Following the long haul flight from LHR to New Delhi, with my first adrenaline-fuelled experience of being driven through New Delhi in an air conditioned Toyota; our arrival at the tall, imposing security gates to the street where our hotel was located was initially a cause of unease and uncertainty about our personal safety and welfare.

How wrong I was, nothing could be further from the truith. Greeted by welcoming staff, armed with broad smiles, our luggage was seemlessly taken care of as we checked in at the basement reception. Adorned with a necklace of marigolds and informed that as guests we were gods, certainly woke me up to the level of customer service that was delivered at this venue.

The bedroom accommodation was very comfortable, well laid out and spacious. A comfortable lounge is provided for guests along with a laptop for those that wanted to catch up on e-mails etc.

The restaurant service up on the roof was excellent with staff relaxing the rules on breakfast meal times and serving good wholesome foods.

This was one of the friendliest hotels we stayed at during our three week tour.

Worth noting - if you have mobility problems the lift doesnt go all the way to the roof top, leaving the final flight of fairly steep stairs to negotiate, from and to the lift.

All-in-all a well presented and run hotel offering near perfect customer service, I would have no hesitation in staying there again if I am lucky enough to return to New Delhi

Room Tip: Choose a room on one of the higher floors to get a better view of the local area. As a boutique hote...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nigel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
3.2 mi away
Wood Castle Grand
Wood Castle Grand
#2 of 713 in New Delhi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
7.1 mi away
Wood Castle
Wood Castle
#14 of 713 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,113 reviews
7.9 mi away
The Leela Palace New Delhi
The Leela Palace New Delhi
#1 of 713 in New Delhi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,742 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Taj Palace Hotel
Taj Palace Hotel
#5 of 713 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,662 reviews
9.1 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#10 of 713 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,865 reviews
9.6 mi away
The Lalit New Delhi
The Lalit New Delhi
#44 of 713 in New Delhi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shanti Home? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shanti Home

Property: Shanti Home
Address: A - 1/300 | Janakpuri, New Delhi 110058, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in New Delhi
#8 Family Hotel in New Delhi
#19 Business Hotel in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Shanti Home 3.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
17 exclusively designed rooms & suites, Shanti Home in New Delhi is perhaps the only choice for the discerning traveler looking for more than just a room. Shanti Home reflects India's spirit in a harmonious blend of tradition & contemporary sophistication Exquisite interiors, impeccable service and fine cuisine combine to create an experience that is warm and intimate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your Shanti Home reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shanti Home New Delhi
Shanti Home Hotel New Delhi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing