We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly hotel but not for everybody”
Review of Shanti Home

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Shanti Home
Ranked #5 of 779 Hotels in New Delhi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 May 2013

Shanti Home would have to be the most obliging and customer service focused places I've stayed. Everything from airport transfers, providing local directions/advice and booking rail tickets was done honestly, efficiently and cost-effectively.

The boutique hotel is small enough that it feels like a home rather than a large, commercial hotel which allows the plentiful staff to individually know their guests. The rooftop restaurant made some of the best food we had the pleasure of eating anywhere in India and its breakfasts were the perfect start to a day's exploring Delhi.

The only downside some people will find with Shanti Home is its location. Requiring a reasonable trip on the metro to get into the city centre certainly won't suit everybody. Personally I think it added another layer to our Delhi experience. The first time it was unpleasant but once we knew where we were going it enhanced our day and certainly made us appreciate the great hotel we had the privilege to return to each evening.

Best bits:
1. Amazing food in the rooftop restaurant (note, not many alternatives nearby that we were aware of)
2. Great staff who went out of their way to help us with last minute rail tickets etc
3. Very good rooms, nice beds, bathrooms were good

Overall, good value for money if you're willing to be away from tourist central in the heart of Delhi.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Jaaust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,166)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

457 - 463 of 1,166 reviews

Reviewed 13 May 2013

Wow
We were going to Delhi for tourism and we saw the Trip Advisors had positive reviews of this hotel, so we booked it.
We had high expectations, but the hotel surpassed them all
The hotel itself was clean and functional, with all the facilities, but what made this hotel outstanding was the staff
They were the most helpful and attentive staff I have ever had the pleasure of being served by, nothing was to much, everything was a pleasure
To all the staff at the Shanti Home who made our 3 night stay so wonderful, a very big Thank You

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Tony S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2013

Shanti Home is a very friendly, warm, inviting place to stay. I spent several days to begin my month long journey in India at Shanti home and it was a great way to acclimate. The staff were incredibly helpful - helped me to set up a couple of trains to Agra, Jaipur, etc. and the owner is very knowledgeable about southern India (Goa - esp) as well. I returned for my last night in Delhi and the staff was super welcoming - like returning to see my family. I even had a "shoe" incident where I was headed to the airport with the wrong pair of shoes - they were kind enough to correct the mistake by sending a motorbike with my hiking shoes to the airport so that I could return with them home. I don't know many hotels that would go to that length to make sure that I was a happy customer. And, I cannot say enough about the food, the ice cold Kingfishers and the rooms have a ton of character and super clean. True, the location is a little bit out of the way - but it also made for a good intro into using the very efficient metro system in Delhi. Pooja (on the hotel staff) is wonderful!!!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Beth G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2013

We just had our third trip to Shanti Home. The staff are excellent, very friendly and helpful and always willing to answer your questions. The Lantern Restaurant on the roof is lovely and Chef Adil and his team serve fabulous food. Their cookery classes are wonderful and all the kitchen teamed joined in to make our session great fun. Everyone at Shanti Home takes the time and trouble to help you enjoy your trip to Delhi.
JAM, West Berkshire, UK.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank JAMTWO398
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2013

Very stylish hotel with a lot more character than the big corporates. The decorations are delightful and there are wonderful little touches which were way beyond expectations - such as Indian phones to borrow, additional offerings from the chef and so on. Really delighted to have found such a great place in Delhi and I'll definitely be back. The staff, especially Ravi the manager, we're all amazing. Thank you and namaste.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank girlwizz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2013

First of all, allow me to start with the hotel's Indian traditional style of welcoming the guests which feels very nice.

Apart from that, the manners of the entire hotel crew is extremely good and social and they are always pro-active in attending to your needs.

Very good and nice people who will always make you feel welcome. Heartiest Thanks to Pooja, Ravi, Rekha, Mahipal, Adil, Ashok, Madan and everyone else whose names I might have missed.

Everyone in the hotel deserves a pat on the back. :-)

Best Regards,
Rajdeep

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Rajdeep K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2013

We stayed at Shanti Home for 3 nights while in Delhi and we could not have been happier with our stay. The staff took such good care of us, customizing our tours and even sending us off with snack bags when we headed out for the day. The rooms were very clean and stylish, we stayed in the "Bollywood" room and rested very comfortably there. The water pressure in the shower wasn't great, but that was not a huge issue for us. The restaurant was amazing and offered one of the best meals we had during our entire stay in India. Again, the restaurant staff was amazing, very friendly and welcoming. You'll feel like you're staying in a friend's home, this is not your typical hotel, it's much better!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Meena L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
5.9 mi away
Roseate House New Delhi
Roseate House New Delhi
#8 of 779 in New Delhi
547 reviews
3.2 mi away
Wood Castle Grand
Wood Castle Grand
#15 of 779 in New Delhi
231 reviews
5.8 mi away
Andaz Delhi - A concept by Hyatt
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
The Leela Palace New Delhi
The Leela Palace New Delhi
#1 of 779 in New Delhi
3,076 reviews
7.1 mi away
Wood Castle
Wood Castle
#35 of 779 in New Delhi
1,153 reviews
13 mi away
The Suryaa
The Suryaa
#21 of 779 in New Delhi
2,183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shanti Home? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shanti Home

Address: A - 1/300 | Janakpuri, New Delhi 110058, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in New Delhi
#5 Family Hotel in New Delhi
#19 Business Hotel in New Delhi
#72 Best Value Hotel in New Delhi
Price Range: £49 - £84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Shanti Home 3.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
17 exclusively designed rooms & suites, Shanti Home in New Delhi is perhaps the only choice for the discerning traveler looking for more than just a room. Shanti Home reflects India's spirit in a harmonious blend of tradition & contemporary sophistication Exquisite interiors, impeccable service and fine cuisine combine to create an experience that is warm and intimate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Shanti Home reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shanti Home New Delhi
Shanti Home Hotel New Delhi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing