We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice hotel”
Review of Shanti Home

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Shanti Home
Ranked #6 of 777 Hotels in New Delhi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 January 2014

Stayed here for a day with some friends. I had a pretty decent experience at this Hotel, the staff were attentive and kind, the location was good and rooms were comfortable. Hotel came with a complimentary wi-fi facility which proved pretty handy. Breakfast menu was standard and filling. had booked at the last minute so could not get a very good bargain on the room rates. But all in all a good experience.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank vaibhav g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,164)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

380 - 386 of 1,164 reviews

Reviewed 31 December 2013 via mobile

I know you can't always believe what you read but this is really as good a stay as others rate, we were picked up promptly from the airport and even though it was 2am we were offered food or refreshments on arrival. The room "Bombay Masala" was clean & tidy and the bed comfortable. The staff and service are exceptional and the food for breakfast & evening meal was good quality. To find a negative about this place you would have to be really picky, especially for the price you pay. So keep up the good work Pooja and staff you are doing and exceptional job.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank budyup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

Stayed here for one night during a 3-week tour through northern India. Only disappointment was not staying here longer. Welcome was sweet (marigold necklace, bindi on forehead and photo at front desk), room was spic and span with reliable internet service, high end soaps/shampoos in rooms, rooftop restaurant was delicious, and travel support with hiring drivers / booking rail tickets flawless. Would highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Stephan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2013 via mobile

Delhi is a crazy and overwhelming city for a tourist so far from home but shanti home was an absolute gem. The hotel is beautifully furnished and equipped with everything you need. The meals were wonderful and the rooftop garden was a highlight for us. Our tours were organised and the staff was always lovely. The only downfall would be that I was promised via email a cost of our stay and at check out it was 150USD more which I was not so happy about.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Helou D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2013

My traveling companion and I booked luxury rooms here for two nights at the end of a five-week Indian adventure, and I'm happy we did. We were seeking a quiet place for much needed rest and relaxation, and we had no intention of venturing out -- we merely wanted to prepare for the long journey home. Shanti Home was a wise choice for that. It is not centrally located to downtown Delhi, but we were fine with that. In fact, we met another traveler there preparing for a 3-week trek, who like us, was sublimely happy to simply enjoy the beautiful home-like environment for a few days before embarking on his adventure.

I enjoyed my spacious,spotless, and comfortable room and bath (we'd gotten used to "bucket baths" in an ashram, so it was pure luxury to have a proper shower!), with an inviting king size bed. There are lovely guest lounges on every floor with computers and high-speed internet connections, so we were able to re-connect with family and friends quite easily.

There is a separate television room with DVD's and a nice yoga room with hardwood floors. There is massage and mehendi available, too. The Lantern, the rooftop dining room, is superb, the food and service outstanding in every way.

Aside from its beautiful ambiance, what made Shanti Home so special for me was the staff. I truly felt like I was in the company of angels! They were always smiling and eager to please. I credit Shanti Home's unique tip policy for that. Guests are asked to simply put tips into the elephant banks in the guest lobby and restaurant -- the tips are shared equally among the staff. This brilliant policy took the awkward "guess work" out of interactions with staff, easing the way for genuine and pleasant exchanges. As a result, I'm sure I way "over tipped," and I was happy to do so. I left Shanti Home well rested and ready for the long journey home.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DesertInnKeeper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2013 via mobile

Although only stayed one night so can't comment on the location, I couldn't fault any aspect of the hotel. Clean, spacious, courteous and helpful staff even with a midnight arrival, great standard breakfast on the rooftop, excellent WiFi and excellently decorated.

Thoroughly recommended.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Frangipannitraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2013

We stayed for one night at the Shanti Home, and we only wish it could have been a longer stay.

After a difficult cab ride to the hotel, which we arranged ourselves, we were very happy to arrive. The welcome was exceptional and the second you walk into this small boutique hotel you know you are in a good place.

The room was beautiful and incredibly comfortable - we were asked when we reached our room if we'd like coffee bringing to the room - something you would usually only expect of a much more expensive hotel - so when we then asked whether we wanted lattes, cappuccinos or any other kind of coffee we were really impressed.

Despite being a relatively small boutique hotel, we were blown away by the facilities - including an in-house spa which offers incredibly good value massages, a wonderful restaurant on the roof which served us delicious food at lunch, dinner and breakfast - the latter of which was absolutely wonderful and the best breakfast we had in our trip across India. There's even a tailor in the basement if you need alterations or wish to have an affordable handmade suit made for you during your stay. There are no televisions in the rooms, which was fine for us as it would have been out-of-sorts with the very relaxing feel of the hotel. There is however a wonderful TV room which is incredible, and was a lovely way to meet other guests if you want to, though we often had it to ourselves and a quick call to front desk can have drinks brought up. We loved the idea that if we were staying in the hotel with friends that there would be a perfect place for us all to meet up for drinks, entertainment and trip planning.

What else can I tell you to assure you that this hotel is amazing? Well - it has a lovely yoga room, and you can arrange private yoga classes with the hotel. And there are laptops on every floor that you can use for anything you need to do online - plus there's wifi throughout the hotel including on the roof restaurant, so you have no problems connecting on your own devices and getting stuff done wherever you are in the hotel.

Our bathroom was great too - lovely free toiletries to use, and a great shower.

The staff at the hotel were incredible and treated us like royalty throughout our stay. We were broken hearted to leave! For the prices charged by this hotel, we cannot recommend this hotel highly enough.

The staff and management of this hotel should be very very proud of what they've achieved - and to be currently the second best rated hotel in New Delhi, second only to the very posh Leela Palace hotel which is often four times the price of this hotel, is testament to what a brilliant job the team at Shanti Home have done to run such a wonderful hotel.

Our advice - if you can get a room, snap it up. We can't understand how anyone could be disappointed.

Room Tip: We stayed in Bombay Talkies, just next to the spa - the room was peaceful, and it was lovely getting...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MattJGibbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
5.9 mi away
Roseate House New Delhi
Roseate House New Delhi
#7 of 777 in New Delhi
505 reviews
3.2 mi away
Wood Castle Grand
Wood Castle Grand
#11 of 777 in New Delhi
225 reviews
5.8 mi away
Andaz Delhi - A concept by Hyatt
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
The Leela Palace New Delhi
The Leela Palace New Delhi
#1 of 777 in New Delhi
3,032 reviews
7.1 mi away
Wood Castle
Wood Castle
#32 of 777 in New Delhi
1,151 reviews
3.2 mi away
WelcomHotel Dwarka
WelcomHotel Dwarka
#646 of 777 in New Delhi
2,032 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shanti Home? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shanti Home

Address: A - 1/300 | Janakpuri, New Delhi 110058, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in New Delhi
#5 Family Hotel in New Delhi
#19 Business Hotel in New Delhi
Price Range: £51 - £83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Shanti Home 3.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
17 exclusively designed rooms & suites, Shanti Home in New Delhi is perhaps the only choice for the discerning traveler looking for more than just a room. Shanti Home reflects India's spirit in a harmonious blend of tradition & contemporary sophistication Exquisite interiors, impeccable service and fine cuisine combine to create an experience that is warm and intimate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Shanti Home reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shanti Home New Delhi
Shanti Home Hotel New Delhi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing