We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for a good first impression of India”
Review of Shanti Home

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Shanti Home
Ranked #5 of 715 Hotels in New Delhi
Certificate of Excellence
La Paz, Bolivia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great for a good first impression of India”
Reviewed 23 February 2014

We booked the hotel for our first night in New Delhi considering we wouldn't go into the city on the first day after having had a 36+hr flight. It was the best decision we could have made. Shanti home is a beautiful and unique boutique hotel that makes you feel right at home. The service is the very best. It seems as if it were run by a family and they're ready to help 24/7. The food is also very good. Upon arriving we booked massage sessions as well as poking lessons. I would not doubt about coming back here on a next visit.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank natmor1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,141 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    857
    215
    43
    18
    8
See reviews for
139
481
197
86
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Budgewoi, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014 via mobile

I have stayed at Shanti twice now and intend to return in the future. The great delight of this place is the staff who are unfailingly friendly & helpful, especially Pooja on the front desk.
I visit India for charity work & am often accompanied by people who have never travelled before. Bringing them straight to Shanti is a good way to ease them into a difficult country. The floors of the hotel which have a central lounge room are particularly good for groups.
Shanti will organise a car & driver for long or short sightseeing trips. Ask for Manoj as driver. He is terrific!
The only reason not to stay here is if you have difficulty with stairs. There are lots & even if you use the lift, it does not connect all areas floors of the hotel. BUT if stairs are not a problem for you then I highly recommend you stay here!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelmo54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 February 2014

On a recent trip to India, I flew in and out of New Delhi. I spent a total of 4 nights at Shanti Home (2 on arrival and 2 on departure). It's definitely a hidden gem! It's a boutique hotel, so all the rooms are different. The two I stayed in were clean, cozy and comfortable. There are beautifully decorated lounges on each floor, with laptops available for guests. The rooftop restaurant was a treat: All the meals I ate there were excellent and reasonably priced (breakfast is included). The accommodations are great, but what makes this hotel stand out is the staff. Everyone - from the moment you walk through the gate - is courteous and helpful. Truly 5-star service!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sybillagd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2014

This was our last hotel on our trip and I wanted to try an urban boutique hotel Indian style for a contrast. I was so glad we did - our room was small but perfectly formed (the bed was massive and very comfortable) and as we had been travelling since the crack of dawn the huge shower was very much appreciated. The staff were extremely helpful especially in assisting us print off our boarding passes for our flights home the following day. Best of all was the meal - the meal was a much lighter take on the food we had been eating throughout our trip - I had a vegetable curry in which the component parts really tasted fresh and of themselves and were firm textured - there is a tendency it to be over soft usually. If we had only had longer I would have take the opportunity to take one of the cookery courses offered by the chef and learnt more about Indian cooking to this standard. Our breakfast was also beautifully prepared, with lovely fresh fruit and excellent coffee.
Even though the hotel is in the thick city and traffic noise is all around, it seemed remarkably quiet. It also has the advantage of being the right side of the city for the airport so it doesn't take hours to get there.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dina P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2014

Having touched down in India, we stayed here for just one night before our schedule moved us on. It proved to be a good choice. The room was tastefully decorated, quiet and comfortable. Staff were friendly and efficient, the food on the roof-top restaurant was great, and musicians played as we ate. We didn't have an opportunity to really explore the immediate area, though it looked to be mostly residential.
Would recommend.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brisgard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2014

We are a couple, and Shanti Home have made our stay extremely comfortable. We had an inward facing room (which is good to hide from the traffic noise), great food, good massage, and overall the staff were very helpful. Additionally, I forgot a shirt in the closet which was posted to our next address in India.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014

The title of this review is what we gleaned from other reviews before we chose this hotel, and it couldn't be more apt.
We were very jet-lagged and tired when we arrived, having flown for 13 hours overnight in economy and not slept much, never mind the time difference from the UK. It was my partners birthday on the day we arrived, and we were greeted with an amazing homemade chocolate cream cake courtesy of the hotel as well as lovely flower garland.
Our room was beautiful and the complimentary full body massage and sauna experience was the perfect way to unwind.
Pooja on reception was very knowledgeable and helpful when it came to travel arrangements and the rest of the staff were so courteous and helpful and we felt so well looked after.7
The food in the restaruant was some of the best we tasted in 5 weeks travelling around India - particularly the taster menu ginger lamb curry which was divine!!
I would truly recommend this hotel to anyone heading to Delhi, despite the location being somewhat out of town.
Worth going out of the way for.

Room Tip: they dont have a pool but didnt want to drag the 'excellent' rating down! We stayed in '...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CriticalLis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
3.2 mi away
Wood Castle Grand
Wood Castle Grand
#2 of 715 in New Delhi
208 reviews
7.9 mi away
The Leela Palace New Delhi
The Leela Palace New Delhi
#1 of 715 in New Delhi
2,771 reviews
7.1 mi away
Wood Castle
Wood Castle
#14 of 715 in New Delhi
1,115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Taj Palace Hotel
Taj Palace Hotel
#6 of 715 in New Delhi
2,710 reviews
9.0 mi away
Hotel City Star
Hotel City Star
#24 of 715 in New Delhi
1,286 reviews
9.2 mi away
bloomrooms @ New Delhi Railway Station
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shanti Home? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shanti Home

Property: Shanti Home
Address: A - 1/300 | Janakpuri, New Delhi 110058, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in New Delhi
#8 Family Hotel in New Delhi
#19 Business Hotel in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Shanti Home 3.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
17 exclusively designed rooms & suites, Shanti Home in New Delhi is perhaps the only choice for the discerning traveler looking for more than just a room. Shanti Home reflects India's spirit in a harmonious blend of tradition & contemporary sophistication Exquisite interiors, impeccable service and fine cuisine combine to create an experience that is warm and intimate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Shanti Home reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shanti Home New Delhi
Shanti Home Hotel New Delhi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing