We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Wonderful Start to Our Holiday”
Review of Shanti Home

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Shanti Home
Ranked #4 of 715 Hotels in New Delhi
Certificate of Excellence
Britain
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A Wonderful Start to Our Holiday”
Reviewed 5 April 2014

This was my wife's first trip to India, and she was somewhat apprehensive, but the warm welcome that we received on arrival made her feel at ease. The room was very comfortable, with a/c, and the combination of lounges and rooftop restaurant and sitting out area meant that we could just sit and relax and plan our trips out. As others have said the food is an absolute delight, and the staff so very friendly and attentive. We were at the Shanti for the Festival of Holi and participated in the festivities arranged by the hotel. The children of the family next door pelted us with water and colours, whilst their parents offered us freshly cooked Indian sweets. Overall the Shanti was an excellent place to start our holiday, and as we moved on to Agra my wife commented that she was feeling quite at ease with India.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cliveinoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,148 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    862
    216
    44
    18
    8
See reviews for
141
485
198
86
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014

An oasis of a hotel with staff who could not do more for us, with great professionalism. All staff seemed genuinely interested in our well-being and our plans. We had a cookery class with Chef Arun, that was really good fun and the end result delicious. A comfortable bedroom, a kettle available if we wanted

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chenille_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brampton, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

We chose this hotel based on Trip advisor recommendations plus they offered a package which was a 1 day tour of New Delhi and a day trip to Agra to see the Taj Mahal. We had a premium room (Delhousie) which was a smallish room with a balcony with minimal space to hang clothes. What makes this hotel special is the staff not the hotel amenities. All the staff were engaging and helpful. They arranged that we could experience and participate in Holi Festival. We ate Breakfast and dinner on the roof top restaurant and the food was excellent. The chef would come out of the kitchen to get our feedback on the food. The day trip to Agra worked out well as the driver arranged a tour guide for the Taj Mahal. However the one day sightseeing tour of Delhi, with a Chauffeur driven car was lacking as the driver would take us the the sight but there was no one to explain what we were looking at. The front desk staff were excellent in responding to my e-mails and arranging anything I wanted to do. I would recommend staying here however I would hire a tour group for touring New Delhi

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Greg M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ware, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
346 reviews
147 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 218 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

We arrived for one night stay after flying from Cochin on 25 March

After a tour of the main aspects of the hotel we were shown to a room on the first floor where our bags had already arrived - the room had everything you would want from an overnight stay - so no problems....

However within 5 minutes of our arrival the phone went and we were told we had been upgraded to a better room on 3rd floor - oh Calcutta - immediately there was a knock at the door and there were staff waiting to move us to the new room

The move completed with minimal fuss - oh Calcutta - much bigger - enormous bed on marble plinth - all the usual storage and sitting areas - large bathroom with 2 sinks and a large shower area - constant hot and controllable - an improvement on the first floor but then that room seemed more than acceptable

Restaurant is on top floor (4th) and is partially open to the elements - as I had DB I only had the cream of tomato which was tasty and hit the spot - my wife had a lamb kebab cooked in the tandoori oven and which was very tasty and well presented - there is an extensive drinks menu from which the Indian G+Ts come recommended - breakfast was to the same standard with choice of international and Indian options

Of particular note is the attention and service provided by the staff who are always eager to make sure there is nothing amiss

The hotel is close to a traffic intersection and being Delhi there is always the background soundtrack provided by the horn sections - this is not a problem as the bedroom is well insulated - and noise can only be heard in the bathroom which is not a place you normally spend anytime unless you have DB!!!!

Ours was an overnight stay and from our experiences this hotel has much to recommend it - thank you

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PeteD60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monmouth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2014

This compact hotel is rather like Dr who's Tardis! It contains almost everything in a remarkably small volume yet never seems cramped! The staff team are all charming and helpful to the nth degree. Clearly they specialise in the likes of us 'westerners' and accordingly understand our needs, The roof top restaurant is lovely as is the food offered and the service with which it is offered. For a comfortable base from which to explore or work, we would have no hesitation in recommending it.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Colin522
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buenos Aires, Argentina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2014

I stayed at both Shanti Home in New Delhi and Goa during my past trip to India a month ago. I had the best time. Staff is very friendly and helpful, rooms area spacious and clean, the breakfast at the rooftop is lovely every morning.
Shanti Home New Delhi was an oasis to find in chaotic loud Delhi. The metro is very close to the hotel and will take you almost everywhere.

And beautiful lovely fun New Shanti Home in Goa is FANTASTIC! It has a very cool sophisticated unique style with lovely artwork and photography. The staff is very attentive and they will make your stay just the best. Definitely the best place to stay at north Goa. Can´t wait to go back!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank luciana b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level 6 Contributor
198 reviews
170 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014

For us the best aspect of Shanti Home was the staff, who were excellent. Our room was simply decorated and cosy in the cold February evenings. In contrast, the rooftop restaurant lost some of its charm when closed off from the cold night air. The food was fresh and delicious. A good small hotel for stopovers in Delhi.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RoRoBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
3.2 mi away
Wood Castle Grand
Wood Castle Grand
#7 of 715 in New Delhi
209 reviews
7.9 mi away
The Leela Palace New Delhi
The Leela Palace New Delhi
#1 of 715 in New Delhi
2,832 reviews
7.1 mi away
Wood Castle
Wood Castle
#16 of 715 in New Delhi
1,127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Roseate House New Delhi
Roseate House New Delhi
#3 of 715 in New Delhi
285 reviews
9.2 mi away
bloomrooms @ New Delhi Railway Station
13.0 mi away
The Suryaa New Delhi
The Suryaa New Delhi
#18 of 715 in New Delhi
1,714 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shanti Home? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shanti Home

Property: Shanti Home
Address: A - 1/300 | Janakpuri, New Delhi 110058, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in New Delhi
#8 Family Hotel in New Delhi
#19 Business Hotel in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Shanti Home 3.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
17 exclusively designed rooms & suites, Shanti Home in New Delhi is perhaps the only choice for the discerning traveler looking for more than just a room. Shanti Home reflects India's spirit in a harmonious blend of tradition & contemporary sophistication Exquisite interiors, impeccable service and fine cuisine combine to create an experience that is warm and intimate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Shanti Home reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shanti Home New Delhi
Shanti Home Hotel New Delhi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing