We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem!”
Review of Shanti Home

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Shanti Home
Ranked #4 of 733 Hotels in New Delhi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 April 2014

We are newbies in India and Pooja and the staff of Shanti home could not have been more welcoming and helpful. They even helped us to negotiate the walk to the metro. The hotel itself is cosy and characterful and the rooftop restaurant is friendly, as well as serving delicious food. Our room was comfy and very clean. All was so good we are going back for more.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Julie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,155)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

323 - 329 of 1,155 reviews

Reviewed 8 April 2014

We stayed at shanti home for 4 nights in April. The ambiance, decor and furniture is charming like traditional Indian home.
'Backwaters' our room at Shanti home was spacious and comfortable. The highlights were a large -sized bed. The staff were very welcoming and best ever was the food. Each room is different and each has its own charm.It has 2 lovely lounges. One of the lounges has a laptop to help you with all different things. The other lounge has a TV with all different type of movies from kids movies to Bollywood movies. The breakfast was first rate, it included the traditional Indian dish and the regular continental breakfast. The banana and Nutella crepe was fabulous and yummy.
Pooja helped us arranging different tours around the city and flight to get from one place to the other. The security was fabulous. Just a wonderful place to stay in New Delhi.
LILIA TRIGG

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank kathtrigg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014

What a lovely hotel. Definitely an Oasis as I found Delhi quite challenging the noise and crowds
The staff were attentive and very helpful when our flights to Kerala needed to be changed.
Rooms large, clean and well appointed. Would have like tea and coffee facilities but not a problem as room service good. Asked if massage was available on our arrival and that was organised within an hour. Great breakfast and dinner. As mentioned in another review having the 'tip' elephant took away that awkwardness at the end of a meal. If you felt the service was good you could do so anonymously also you knew that tips would be shared equally.
Not in the centre of Delhi but close to Metro , one of the staff escorted us to it initially just as well crossing the road was quite an experience!
I would definitely recommend the Shanti for the high standard of individual care the staff give you.

Room Tip: Dalhouise has a nice balcony. Kaljouire very nice and calming but no window. Oh Calcutta rooom looke...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GMH2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Delhi is frantic and chaotic but the Shanti Home is a lovely and peaceful hotel that gives some respite from the city. It has an interesting decor with good rooms and good food. The staff went out of their way to help us which is what really made our stay memorable.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steve_H53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2014

This was my wife's first trip to India, and she was somewhat apprehensive, but the warm welcome that we received on arrival made her feel at ease. The room was very comfortable, with a/c, and the combination of lounges and rooftop restaurant and sitting out area meant that we could just sit and relax and plan our trips out. As others have said the food is an absolute delight, and the staff so very friendly and attentive. We were at the Shanti for the Festival of Holi and participated in the festivities arranged by the hotel. The children of the family next door pelted us with water and colours, whilst their parents offered us freshly cooked Indian sweets. Overall the Shanti was an excellent place to start our holiday, and as we moved on to Agra my wife commented that she was feeling quite at ease with India.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cliveinoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2014

An oasis of a hotel with staff who could not do more for us, with great professionalism. All staff seemed genuinely interested in our well-being and our plans. We had a cookery class with Chef Arun, that was really good fun and the end result delicious. A comfortable bedroom, a kettle available if we wanted

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chenille_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

We chose this hotel based on Trip advisor recommendations plus they offered a package which was a 1 day tour of New Delhi and a day trip to Agra to see the Taj Mahal. We had a premium room (Delhousie) which was a smallish room with a balcony with minimal space to hang clothes. What makes this hotel special is the staff not the hotel amenities. All the staff were engaging and helpful. They arranged that we could experience and participate in Holi Festival. We ate Breakfast and dinner on the roof top restaurant and the food was excellent. The chef would come out of the kitchen to get our feedback on the food. The day trip to Agra worked out well as the driver arranged a tour guide for the Taj Mahal. However the one day sightseeing tour of Delhi, with a Chauffeur driven car was lacking as the driver would take us the the sight but there was no one to explain what we were looking at. The front desk staff were excellent in responding to my e-mails and arranging anything I wanted to do. I would recommend staying here however I would hire a tour group for touring New Delhi

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Greg M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
5.9 mi away
Roseate House New Delhi
Roseate House New Delhi
#5 of 733 in New Delhi
432 reviews
7.9 mi away
The Leela Palace New Delhi
The Leela Palace New Delhi
#1 of 733 in New Delhi
2,989 reviews
5.8 mi away
Andaz Delhi - A concept by Hyatt
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Wood Castle Grand
Wood Castle Grand
#12 of 733 in New Delhi
221 reviews
7.1 mi away
Wood Castle
Wood Castle
#21 of 733 in New Delhi
1,142 reviews
3.2 mi away
WelcomHotel Dwarka
WelcomHotel Dwarka
#25 of 733 in New Delhi
2,436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shanti Home? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shanti Home

Address: A - 1/300 | Janakpuri, New Delhi 110058, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in New Delhi
#8 Family Hotel in New Delhi
#19 Business Hotel in New Delhi
Price Range: £58 - £89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Shanti Home 3.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
17 exclusively designed rooms & suites, Shanti Home in New Delhi is perhaps the only choice for the discerning traveler looking for more than just a room. Shanti Home reflects India's spirit in a harmonious blend of tradition & contemporary sophistication Exquisite interiors, impeccable service and fine cuisine combine to create an experience that is warm and intimate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Shanti Home reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shanti Home New Delhi
Shanti Home Hotel New Delhi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing