We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“very sweet place, amazingly helpful and friendly staff!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Shanti Home

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Shanti Home
Ranked #5 of 707 Hotels in New Delhi
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, Texas
1 review
“very sweet place, amazingly helpful and friendly staff!”
Reviewed 2 September 2009

I stayed at the Shanti home a couple times during my stay in India. When you walk in the staff is there to welcome you with smiles, a flowers and a welcome drink. The ambience of the entire hotel is very peaceful and inviting. Pooja was so helpful with arranging transport and allowed me to leave luggage stored safely at the hotel for a month while I traveled around the country! The rooftop restaurant was excellent and the service very attentive! I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone and will certainly be back the next time in India!

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sedonagirl1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,132 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    849
    214
    43
    18
    8
See reviews for
138
479
196
85
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
Reviewed 1 September 2009

We were referred to the Shanti Home when initially planning our trip to India. We wanted to go all over Rajasthan and to Mumbai. They planned the entire three week trip for us. It was the best trip we've ever taken and surpassed all of our expectations. The Shanti Home, itself, is fabulous. The rooms are spacious and modern and the staff is extremely friendly. Our stay included many personal touches that made our experience extra special -- flowers on arrival, a welcome sign in our room, complimentary massages, and personal attention at the complimentary and tasty breakfast. Also, as an added bonus, the food in the restaurant was the best we had in all of India! AND - They invited us to eat our dinner in their TV room (comfortable couches, flat screen TV) while watching a Bollywood movie -- it was so much fun! Overall, we'd highly recommend this hotel to ANYONE considering a stay in India.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank phalaphe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Muscat Governorate, Oman
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2009

We had 2 nights stay here - one at the beginning and one at the end of a motorbike trip over the Himalayas. On arrival at the hotel after pick-up following a night flight and very jaded, I discovered that I had picked up the wrong baggage off the carousel at the airport - oops - well they all look the same! Didnt faze the staff at all - they arranged a car and driver back to the airport to help out with the HUGE amount of paperwork involved in claiming the correct bag. Back to the hotel for a wonderful massage to calm down. After the bike trip we arrived at 10 at night with back muscle spasms following a suspect cracked rib after falling off the bike on a mountain pass. Immediately they arranged for a doctor who prescribed pain killers, they provided a hot water bottle whilst someone went out to get the pills and would not take a penny for it all. What can you say about that level of service? Cannot recommend this gem of a place highly enough - the staff are just superb. Thanks a million.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kiwisinoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2009

From the time we checked in till we departed after a 3 night stay we experienced true service. It is not a five star hotel but i assure you the service is better than any i have stayed at..and i have stayed at many. The food at the rooftop restaurant, the massage in the Spa and just lounging about in the lounges. It was a haven from the mad mad city that is Delhi and every evening we looked forward to getting back to Shanti Home.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank johnmdsouza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 August 2009

After several hours of air travel and a late night arrival, it was a welcome relief to come 'home' to Shanti Home. In the bustle and commotion of Delhi, Shanti Home, though a bit set back from the airport, is a true sanctuary. The staff was incredibly welcome, friendly and a comfort as a lone female traveler waiting for my friend to arrive the next day.
Shanti Home was the first stop on a whirlwind month-long tour of North-Western India. That said, I had the opportunity to experience several (roughly eleven different 'luxury' hotels around India) and Shanti Home provided the best experience, food, staff, accommodations, far and away. I only wish I was able to stay longer.
The staff was incredibly accommodating and I had the best tandoori chicken of my trip here.
The Shanti Home also organized my trip throughout India. My main contact, Pooja, was responsive and everything went as smoothly as possible. I would certainly recommend Shanti Home to others and look forward to returning in the future.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elle9904
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
milano
Level Contributor
62 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2009

No doubt this place is nice and very clean, but....

1. Delhi is a huge city (around 17 million people live there) and staying at Shanti Home will make you loose hours stuck in traffic jams or spending your afternoons on the metro, as this hotel is in Janakpuri, a suburb which is about 25 stops from Connaugt Place and most places of interests (and add a 10 minute walk in the middle of nowhere to reach the Uttam Nagar Eaest tube station from the hotel). If you have dinner in central Delhi getting back to the hotel can become a nightmare...no taxi driver knows where it is and all they can do is heading to Janakpuri and starting to ask everyone if they know a place called "Shanti Home"...on hour second night it took us almost 2 hours to reach our bed!

2. Shanti Home is ridiculously pricey for Indian standards!!
A standard room at a 5 star chain hotel (Oberoi, Lalit, Taj, etc...) does not cost much more than one of the best rooms at Shanti Home (a luxury room at Shanti Home is about RS 12.000 per night, while you can get a room at the Oberoi or similar places for around Rs 16.000, which will mean utmost luxury in the best places in town and not just a nice room in Janakpuri). I frankly don't understand why some reviews refer to "good value for money"...

3. To be honest I think that those who call Shanti Home "a boutique hotel" have never stayed at a boutique hotel in their lives...warm welcome and decent rooms are not enough to make a boutique hotel. Have a look at the wash rooms in one of the luxury rooms at Shanti Home and I am sure you will not call them "boutique" (although they are very clean). Plus, I don 't think a "boutique hotel" can be without air conditioned in the common areas....getting out of our room was like entering a oven!!!

4. Food is ok but nothing to dream about and the roof terrace is cute but, again, nothing special.

In a word, Shanti Home is highly overrated and overpriced in relation to its location and to Indian standards.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank giorgionet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Takoma Park, Maryland
1 review
Reviewed 17 August 2009

Like its name suggest Shanti Home has the quality of making you feel both at home and at peace in the midst of New Delhi's hustle and bustle. The staff is amazing, kind and professional; rooms are clean and beautifully organized. At time it felt as if the hotel became one of New Delhi's tourist attraction for me!

When staying there do not skip any opportunity to eat in their rooftop restaurant. Beyond the amazing food it is also a very nice place to sit and relax. If you need to further deepen the Shanti feeling, do not leave before treating yourself with an Ayur-Vedic massage.

By far the best thing about Shanti Home is the people who run the place, they will look for you and will help to make your trip in India a safer and easier experience.

Enjoy your trip!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EYAV71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
3.2 mi away
Wood Castle Grand
Wood Castle Grand
#2 of 707 in New Delhi
195 reviews
7.9 mi away
The Leela Palace New Delhi
The Leela Palace New Delhi
#1 of 707 in New Delhi
2,673 reviews
7.1 mi away
Wood Castle
Wood Castle
#13 of 707 in New Delhi
1,108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Taj Palace Hotel
Taj Palace Hotel
#6 of 707 in New Delhi
2,597 reviews
9.1 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#9 of 707 in New Delhi
2,833 reviews
9.1 mi away
Shangri-La's Eros Hotel
Shangri-La's Eros Hotel
#17 of 707 in New Delhi
2,597 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shanti Home? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shanti Home

Property: Shanti Home
Address: A - 1/300 | Janakpuri, New Delhi 110058, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in New Delhi
#8 Family Hotel in New Delhi
#19 Business Hotel in New Delhi
#67 Best Value Hotel in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Shanti Home 3.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
17 exclusively designed rooms & suites, Shanti Home in New Delhi is perhaps the only choice for the discerning traveler looking for more than just a room. Shanti Home reflects India's spirit in a harmonious blend of tradition & contemporary sophistication Exquisite interiors, impeccable service and fine cuisine combine to create an experience that is warm and intimate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Shanti Home reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shanti Home New Delhi
Shanti Home Hotel New Delhi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing