We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My Shanti Home”
Review of Shanti Home

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Shanti Home
Ranked #5 of 716 Hotels in New Delhi
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“My Shanti Home”
Reviewed 23 May 2010

My words would be few to describe the warmth of this lovely hotel. I planned a Himachal trip with a 2 day stop over in Delhi. I had booked a suite and was provided "Konark" over an email and the staff confirmed my booking. I never paid a single dime as advance and the booking was confirmed over a phone call.I booked an Agra package, but cancelled it at the last moment and planned to stay in the hotel due to heat wave. Pooja was so cool and provided many options with a smiling face. Her concern was how I will benefit and get the maximum out of my trip. Pooja you are terrific! Lata showed us the room which were terrific for every dime I paid. Includes the forest essentials soaps, clean rooms, immaculate air conditioning. The hotel has a decent collection of books. The games include chess, chinese checkers. A gym with Bose music system and decent set of equipments and not to forget a complete wifi building. If you don't have a laptop don't worry the first floor library has a laptop and scanner to use 24/7.
Now coming to food the lantern serves a delicious food. I never heard a "No" and they made me biryani which was not in the menu. Their warmth to us for our small needs and the detail was an experience which makes them at par with a 5 star hotel. This reinforced my belief that people who run the hotel makes it world a best place.Rajat you have a fantastic team and they are your assets.
My 8 year old daughter Vedika loved all of them.
I am coming back again and would definitely recommend all of you this daimond of delhi

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kapihare2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,144 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    859
    216
    43
    18
    8
See reviews for
140
483
197
86
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Munich, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2010

We have recently returned from our second stay at Shanti Home, and somehow I don't think it will be our last. From the moment you enter into the tranquil, beautifully decorated grounds (you are greeted with a cold, refreshing beverage, which is heaven after the blistering heat), you feel at home. There seems to be no guest request that is too much for Rajat and his gracious staff to take care of. As an example, I left some medication in my room, emailed Rajat, and received a package in Goa a few days later. Incredible service, exceeding all expectations!

While in Delhi, we normally book the Shanti Home packages, which offer excellent value (and friendly English-speaking drivers). The vehicles are clean and have A/C if you'd like. It is well worth it to take advantage of these offerings--you can see much of Delhi in a day, if you time things correctly... we did... twice! Also, the trip to Agra (while long) was incredibly memorable... this monument will simply take your breath away. Make sure and stop by the 'famous' Petha (Indian sweet) shop along the main highway just outside of Agra.

The rooms at Shanti Home are spacious and well-cared for (not to mention spotless). We have stayed in both the Calcutta and the Bollywood rooms--lighting, water pressure, the A/C: perfect! Free WiFi was also a bonus (worked on our iphones). Also, the Lantern restaurant is a MUST. Not only is the food tasty and fresh, but the service is so attentive and warm. Although we enjoyed Delhi restaurants (and gelaterias) by day, we always seemed to have dinner at the Lantern!

In summary, Shanti Home has truly become our second home in Delhi: I couldn't imagine staying anywhere else. Thank you, Rajat and colleagues for taking such good care of us! We hope to see you one day soon. Namaste!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Love2Escape
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakland, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2010

I've been a devoted user of TripAdvisor for a long while, but this is my first review. I was so pleasantly charmed by my recent experience at the Shanti Home that I feel I owe it to them and you, my fellow travelers, to share the experience. I arrived at the tail end of a 3-week trip in India, where I had grown accustomed to a level of service and hospitality that, I thought, came with mid-priced India hotels (not bad, but nothing distinctive). Shanti House was a very unexpected and welcomed exception. The staff is awesome; all of them. They were so eager to help and make my 3-day stay in Delhi, despite the record-breaking heat wave, a memorable one. The rooms are charming and very clean. The bed was outfitted with crisp and cool white cotton sheets (no creepy bedspreads to peel off the bed), and the rooftop, al fresca dining experience, with excellent India cuisine, was excellent. It was so hot last week in Delhi that I didn't have the energy to do much, so I was really grateful for all that Shanti Home had to offer. But what really distinguishes the hotel is the amazing service and attention to guest experience. It was as good as many 5-star hotels I've visited.
I hate to admit it, but I'm a news junkie, so I would have appreciated an in-room television (but certainly no deal breaker, and there was a charming TV lounge on my floor). The whole hotel has free wifi, which was great. I would have made good use of a desk in my room, since I had work to do. I definitely would have appreciated a better bedside reading light, and I have no sense of Delhi geography, so I can't give great insight on the location. It was a 40 minute drive to Connaught Place and about 35 minutes from/to the airport. It is close to the Metro, which I used one time, but, due to the heat wave, gave up in preference for A/C taxis.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank razz94610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bangalore
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2010

good hotel at a convenient location. best services.. a perfect value for the money offered. stayed with my family for a couple of days at this place. would recomend this to everyone.

  • Stayed June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kaurs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2010

We booked this hotel having read the reviews here and it did not disappoint. It is truly a wonderful retreat from the dust, heat and noise of Delhi. The rooms are large, clean and handsomly furnished. The hotel also boasts a number of public rooms that are beautifully decked out and great to kick back in. What really marks this place out is the service. Pooja and the front of house staff were exceptional. I cannot speak highly enough of their courtesy, helpfulness and warmth. This place is a gem, I would definately return.

  • Stayed June 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonFlet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delhi
1 review
Reviewed 6 May 2010

The Hotel Ambience is quite good. Got a chance to visit the hotel and check out the rooms, it was wonderful. The services were quite good. You can get a room in a much affortable price of around 6K and get services like a 5-star. Must visit.

Regards
Sarina

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SarinaDelhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Noida
1 review
Reviewed 5 May 2010

Its a very good experience to stay here. i had stay in july 2007 the infrastructure the view ,the spacious bedroom the boloney's attached with him.This is a very good place where any one can stay also its not expansive.

Stayed July 2007
Helpful?
Thank yogesh83yogi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
3.2 mi away
Wood Castle Grand
Wood Castle Grand
#4 of 716 in New Delhi
208 reviews
7.9 mi away
The Leela Palace New Delhi
The Leela Palace New Delhi
#1 of 716 in New Delhi
2,798 reviews
7.1 mi away
Wood Castle
Wood Castle
#14 of 716 in New Delhi
1,120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.0 mi away
Hotel City Star
Hotel City Star
#23 of 716 in New Delhi
1,297 reviews
9.2 mi away
bloomrooms @ New Delhi Railway Station
6.5 mi away
Taj Palace Hotel
Taj Palace Hotel
#6 of 716 in New Delhi
2,741 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shanti Home? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shanti Home

Property: Shanti Home
Address: A - 1/300 | Janakpuri, New Delhi 110058, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in New Delhi
#8 Family Hotel in New Delhi
#19 Business Hotel in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Shanti Home 3.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
17 exclusively designed rooms & suites, Shanti Home in New Delhi is perhaps the only choice for the discerning traveler looking for more than just a room. Shanti Home reflects India's spirit in a harmonious blend of tradition & contemporary sophistication Exquisite interiors, impeccable service and fine cuisine combine to create an experience that is warm and intimate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Shanti Home reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shanti Home New Delhi
Shanti Home Hotel New Delhi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing