We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“There's a reason this is #1”
Review of Shanti Home

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Shanti Home
Ranked #4 of 777 Hotels in New Delhi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 October 2010

All the highlights of these reviews are certainly worth repeating but I'll focus on our special circumstances. We arrived here at the end of a two week trip and I wasn't feeling well after some probably food-born illness. The hotel is beautiful, in a quieter more residential neighborhood of delhi, but was very welcome when what I wanted to do most was rest. We took a cooking class, which was a lot of fun and very informative (you get to keep your recipes)! Unfortunately, my wife got sick our last night and was dizzy and slipped on the stairs and hurt her ankle. The staff rushed in and put some ointment on it and wrapped it up and offered to take us to the doctor. It was also my birthday which I had not announced in any way, and they showed up with a cake and sang happy birthday. We ended up staying an extra day which was no problem to rest up for our flight and they were very accomodating. I would definitely stay here again, hopefully feeling better next time.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank globetrotterJM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,164)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

828 - 834 of 1,164 reviews

Reviewed 22 October 2010

How good a hotel is depends for the most part on the quality of its staff and Shanti Home has staff who are genuinely friendly (not obsequious as can frequently be found in larger, more impersonal hotels), interested and helpful - I cannot praise them enough.
The hotel is well appointed but does not have all those features which are the norm in the big chains - no minibar in each room (a good thing), no TV in each room - just the one in the lounge (neither a good nor a bad thing). There is free internet access for those who cannot live without their regular fix.
The rooftop restaurant provided for all our gastronomic needs and I can strongly recommend the food.
Although situated in very unusual surroundings for a hotel catering mainly for foreign visitors, one soon forgets about its environs such is the service and the product which is provided by the owners and their very friendly and solicitous staff. The nearest Metro station is about 300 yards away and it then takes about 20 minute to reach the centre of New Delhi on this newly built system. The service is efficient and comfortable with air-conditioned carriages, far better than the London Underground!
In chatting with Mr Verma, the owner, and his wife, we learnt that he is soon to open a similar hotel in Goa. I look forward to its completion and hope to visit there in the not-too-distant future.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Guernsey_Tom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2010

Shanti Home lives up to its name and has a great feel about it. The decor gives you the true feel of India with the best of facilites. The shower deserves a special mention! But everything about the place made us feel at home. The staff were great and coudn't do enough for us, whether it was a late night dinner on the atmospheric roof top terrace or a snack in front of the TV watching the Commonwealth Games!

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank munro55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2010

The hotel has a great authentic Indian charm...from the rooms to the lobby and the attentive staff this place is special. They gladly arrange ground transport to/from the airport as well as taxis with guides for a day of sightseeing in town. The rooms are beautifully decorated and have very modern bathrooms. Free internet on the 2nd floor. The rooftop restaurant is nothing too fancy but the food is good.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dieg0San
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2010

It's got a serene environment, very well maintained. Some may find it small or cramped. Rooms are overall clean. Wifi was weak in some areas of hotel, including my room. The only issue i may have is with the rooms being slighly over-priced and the fact the hotel is situated in a gated community - which makes access to it during late nights a major issue! Out flight arrived late in the night and we had trouble locating the place.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank chennaiite82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2010

I spent 5 days at the Shanti Home and loved it. The best thing about the hotel is the staff. They could not have been more helpful or friendly -nothing was too much trouble.
The rooms were a good size-the bathrooms large and lots of hot water. Everything was spotless. The roof terrace was lovely for dinner and the food exceptional. My partner stayed longer than I did and the staff seem to have looked after him like a good friend.
I had a facial which was great and my partner had a massage.
We hired a car and driver to take us to the Taj Mahal (which is one of the most beautiful places i have ever been). The journey is very long but there is lots to see on the way.
All the drivers we had were very pleasant and helpful.
The only slight downside is it seems quite a long way from the centre but there is a metro very close and to hire a car was very reasonable. Dont let that put you off.
I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel.
Many thanks for a great stay. xx Claire

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ClaireSP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2010

Wow. This is a fantastic place to stay in Delhi. Stayed here twice and have no regrets. It is near to the airport and the city and it has everything you'd want. Fantastic rooftop restaurant tops off a great experience.

Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
1  Thank RTWTripping
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
5.9 mi away
Roseate House New Delhi
Roseate House New Delhi
#7 of 777 in New Delhi
513 reviews
3.2 mi away
Wood Castle Grand
Wood Castle Grand
#16 of 777 in New Delhi
226 reviews
7.9 mi away
The Leela Palace New Delhi
The Leela Palace New Delhi
#1 of 777 in New Delhi
3,050 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Andaz Delhi - A concept by Hyatt
7.1 mi away
Wood Castle
Wood Castle
#32 of 777 in New Delhi
1,151 reviews
3.2 mi away
WelcomHotel Dwarka
WelcomHotel Dwarka
#645 of 777 in New Delhi
2,039 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shanti Home? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shanti Home

Address: A - 1/300 | Janakpuri, New Delhi 110058, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in New Delhi
#5 Family Hotel in New Delhi
#19 Business Hotel in New Delhi
Price Range: £51 - £76 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Shanti Home 3.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
17 exclusively designed rooms & suites, Shanti Home in New Delhi is perhaps the only choice for the discerning traveler looking for more than just a room. Shanti Home reflects India's spirit in a harmonious blend of tradition & contemporary sophistication Exquisite interiors, impeccable service and fine cuisine combine to create an experience that is warm and intimate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Shanti Home reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shanti Home New Delhi
Shanti Home Hotel New Delhi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing