We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top class hotel made so by great attention to the details and staff”
Review of Shanti Home

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Shanti Home
Ranked #4 of 779 Hotels in New Delhi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 March 2011

We stayed here for a few nights, mainly because it was closer to the airport and we had a very early flight on our last night. Shanti home was one of the nicest surprises in our 3 weeks in India, during which time we stayed at 5-star or boutique hotels only. The location is not too central, but with the metro 5 mins walk away, it is only 35 mins to Connaught Place, and 10 min more to Old Delhi. The metro itself was excellent - clean, air-conditioned, not even that crowded at rush hour - much nicer than either London Underground or the New York subway.

The building itself looks like it was once a suburban Delhi apartment block, but it has been reborn as a really nice boutique hotel. Most of this is down to the care and attention to detail that has gone into the refurbishment of the place. In India it seems rare to get this level of caring for hotels, and this really stands out. Rooms are not huge, but are made comfortable by good interior design and furnishings. Lots of small touches like biscuits in the rooms, free wifi, free laptop, mobile phone or SIM usage etc make this place stand out. The staff were some of the best we experienced in India, and everything was handled professionally, promptly and to a high standard.

The free breakfast in the rooftop restaurant was once again the best we'd experienced in India, with cereal, cut fruits, yogurt, eggs, samosas, pancakes, etc etc. Waiting staff were up to the high standards set elsewhere in the hotel. Dinner too was delicious.

We both received complimentary massages as part of the package we had booked, and like everything else, these were the best of the many we had on this trip. Over an hour of full body massage, followed by sauna, and green tea. Perfect!

I spoke with the owner/manager and he informed me that he was to open a sister hotel in Goa by the end of the year, and if they take this attention to detail and staff training there, I've no doubt it would be a success.

I'm sorry if this review seems to full of praise, but after 3 weeks of very expensive boutique hotels or 5 stars, most of whom failed to deliver up to the expected standards (see my other reviews), it felt so nice to find a place that did. I would unconditionally recommend this place.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AMP-TA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,167)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

784 - 790 of 1,167 reviews

Reviewed 24 February 2011

One of the best hotels I have ever stayed in. In our travels we have stayed in numerous hotels and this one certainly enters our top ten! The staff are courteous and very helpful and it was a delight to return here from our travels elswhere in India and Nepal. The rooms are spotlessly clean and it offers a great rooftop restaurant. A truly memorable experience. If you stay here take the metro into the centre of the city. Great fun! The people always at hand to guide you through the often chaotic area that surrounds this fine establishment.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sobers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2011

Beautiful building with rooms nicely decorated. You'll love it if you're looking for unique Inida flavor. However facility is not good enough in the room - no working desk in the dulex room, no TV, no pajarma, no water heater, no sofa. Room size is not big - just one bed room size even for luxry room. Overall comfortable & clean stay, more for travelling rather than business. But I think it is over rated and over priced compare with other hotels in the town.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Psyche_3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2011

Shanti Home in Delhi is a wonderful place to stay. The rooms are all distinct, with whimsical names and lots of character. All staff members are friendly, helpful, and very knowledgeable about Delhi. They'll help you with your plans and book a trusty car and driver for you. The restaurant is open until all hours, with delicious Tandoori and butter chicken. This lovely hotel is a must!

Stayed: January 2011, travelled with family
1  Thank Jacey57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2011

this is the best hotel for stay last time we stayed in this hotel it was really nice i would like to stay again i just love it.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sonialove1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2011

the hosts of the hotel are so welcoming.They make you feel at home. All trips were organised for us and in time.Food awesome and most of all awesome location

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yashwani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2011

I chose this place because of the excellent reviews and it certainly lived up to them. Our room was on the small side but very nice and clean with good airconditioning and a modern bathroom which cannot be taken for granted when travelling in India. If I can say so, the only negative point was that there was no tv in the room (there's a common living room where you can watch a movie if you want to). Roof top terrace with a really good restaurant run by really friendly young staff. The best thing about this place is the staff, who from the moment we arrived till the moment we left went out of their way to make our stay comfortable, organised our transfers, organised our day trip to taj mahal, bfast in bed at 6am, packed lunch for tour, although we had checked out they let us use the massage room to shower and freshen up before our flight back home. It's a pity we were only there for one night..

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pam-brussels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
5.9 mi away
Roseate House New Delhi
Roseate House New Delhi
#8 of 779 in New Delhi
551 reviews
3.2 mi away
Wood Castle Grand
Wood Castle Grand
#21 of 779 in New Delhi
231 reviews
5.8 mi away
Andaz Delhi - A concept by Hyatt
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
The Leela Palace New Delhi
The Leela Palace New Delhi
#1 of 779 in New Delhi
3,082 reviews
13 mi away
The Suryaa
The Suryaa
#19 of 779 in New Delhi
2,194 reviews
7.1 mi away
Wood Castle
Wood Castle
#37 of 779 in New Delhi
1,154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shanti Home? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shanti Home

Address: A - 1/300 | Janakpuri, New Delhi 110058, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in New Delhi
#5 Family Hotel in New Delhi
#19 Business Hotel in New Delhi
#76 Best Value Hotel in New Delhi
Price Range: £49 - £85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Shanti Home 3.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
17 exclusively designed rooms & suites, Shanti Home in New Delhi is perhaps the only choice for the discerning traveler looking for more than just a room. Shanti Home reflects India's spirit in a harmonious blend of tradition & contemporary sophistication Exquisite interiors, impeccable service and fine cuisine combine to create an experience that is warm and intimate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Shanti Home reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shanti Home New Delhi
Shanti Home Hotel New Delhi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing