We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bargaining hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Star Paradise
Ranked #608 of 777 Hotels in New Delhi
Reviewed 15 November 2011

Though the rates and facilities were checked trough internet , but when i reached there they said i have to pay 100rp/ for internet charge , but after showing the adv. of the hotel in hotel , accept by 700 rp, for AC + wifi room, but in the last of my trip whn i had gone to this hotel , he wanted to charge me with the same amount , but there wasnt AC and Wifi , and aslo when i asked to turn on the heater for hot water, just for 6-7 min. it was working and after that it was switched off from reception. at time of checking out the hotel, i complain about the services which should be availblE, but he refused and incridbly said u ur self didnt use the internet , its not hotels problem, by the way he didnt know i had an snapshot from the wifi connection during differnet periods of time which it wasnt availbilE. finaally after so much bargaining i paid 550 for non AC , without wifi, without hot water.....!!!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kavir H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (71)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

47 - 53 of 71 reviews

Reviewed 30 March 2011

I found this place after leaving my over-priced booked hotel nearby. The lobby was bright and clean, the staff very polite and friendly. I was pleasantly surprised to find the room big, bright and cool, with a pretty good bathroom (for Delhi standards). I paid just 450 rupees and slept well. It's easy to find - up a side street off the main bazaar. It's quite a pleasant alley, not like some of the more dodgy ones you see! They gave me a free wake-up call as requested and asked if there was anything I needed every time I passed a staff member. Best of all is the location - very close to the main station.

Only downside is no wifi at all, but there are plenty of internet cafes nearby, some of which let you plug your laptop in.

Room Tip: Don't book online - turn up and haggle!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dutchj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2010

We stayed two nights in this hotel in the end of July. We booked on-line. When we came to the reception, they said that the actual rate is different from what is advertised in the internet and asked to pay Rs 975 for AC double room.
When we saw the room we were in shock... even I stayed before in Paharganj area, I did not expect to find so dirty room with dirty bed sheets... and pee unflushed in the toilet... There was no service for ages in this room!
The whole area in Main Bazar was under severe reconstruction and it was dangerous to walk there.
There are better value for money options in Arakashan street just 200 m away - cleaner and cheaper.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MoscowBikeTours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2010

There were often people sleeping on the floor, not only in the night and also in front of the reception and the stairs.
The bed sheets were dirty and there was lots of fungus in the bathroom. No toilet paper. We were paying for a A/C room, but it didn't work most of the time.
Room service is provided, but it's very slow and the tray with our eating remaining has laid there for three days (attracting insects of various sizes).

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank uLinx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2010

Hotel Star Paradise is very close to Newdelhi railway station.The hotel staff are very friendly. Booking is the room is very easy by simply sending an email.Food supply is very good.Most foreigners visiting this hotel.
It is a group of hotels,having several other hotels nearby,so getting a room is no problem.Hotel arranges sight seeing programmes.Its room tariff is very low with all facilities.I visited several times to this hotel earlier for its good service provider.

Stayed: April 2008, travelled solo
Thank iswar61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2009

Stayed here for first two nights after arriving in Delhi. It looks nothing like the internet images and felt more like a prison than a hotel. Dismal rooms. A rat was spotted in the corridor.
We were fooled by their prompt and efficient response to email bookings from UK.
There are cleaner and better places to stay in the same area.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank roadroam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2008

This is simply the worst hotel I have ever stayed at. The arranged taxi organised by the hotel did not meet me at the airport, the location is off the main bizarre down a side alley. The room is poorly equipped and had one ripped bed sheet, no cover or duvet, just a dirty blanket. The entire place is filthy dirty. The bathroom is just disgusting. They say it’s 24 hour hot water but when I did not find this, I was told hot water was from 5am to 8am. I also had rats in my bedroom. I could not wait to leave. I would not suggest staying here to anyone. The staff sleep in the corridors and main reception.

  • Stayed: March 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Lee_Melbourn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
Hotel Welcom Inn
#468 of 777 in New Delhi
5 reviews
Pahar Ganj
Hotel Cottage Crown Plaza
Hotel Cottage Crown Plaza
#486 of 777 in New Delhi
61 reviews
Hotel Maanvi
#577 of 777 in New Delhi
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Kwality
#358 of 777 in New Delhi
98 reviews
Pahar Ganj
Hotel Shivam International
Hotel Shivam International
#406 of 777 in New Delhi
19 reviews
Woodland Deluxe
#418 of 777 in New Delhi
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Star Paradise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Star Paradise

Address: 4582 Main Bazar | Pahar Ganj, New Delhi 110055, India
Region: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi > Pahar Ganj
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #608 of 777 Hotels in New Delhi
Price Range: £8 - £16 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Star Paradise 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Star Paradise reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Star Paradise Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing