We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Who let the dogs out?”
Review of Silver Ferns Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Silver Ferns Hotel
Ranked #615 of 715 Hotels in New Delhi
Reviewed 20 July 2012

We arrived in Delhi around midnight and we only had a few hours to stay before we took the earliest train to Agra. The hotel looked dreary and the room looked more like a sad little hovel. Overall, there was nothing significant about this hotel save for the 'breakfast' they prepared for our train trip: some sandwich which tasted old, 2 boiled eggs and 2 bananas. Oh yes. The people talking and the dogs barking outside made sleep soo difficult. What's up with the overpriced and underwhelming accommodations in India??

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank riain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (93)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

60 - 66 of 93 reviews

Reviewed 15 June 2012

Rooms are quite spacious and modern. Service is reasonable. Great for transit between flights.

Good little grocery and book shop near buy.

Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
Thank ExpatFamily2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2012

stayed here for one night, in a standard deluxe room. since it was off season they gave discounted rates. (Rs 4000/ all inclusive).
location behind PVR movie hall in saket in the middle of the market. the malviya nagar metro station is 200m away.
Lots of places to eat just outside. 24h general store opposite the hotel.
Clean room and bathroom, comfortable bed
decent breakfast

Down side:
not so quiet area
discotheque near by so a bit of music does filter in at night, but did not bother me, might be a problem for someone who is a ver light sleeper, ask for rooms on the other side

Towels were clean but could have been cleaner

overall good value for money

Room Tip: discotheque near by so a bit of music does filter in but did not bother me, might be a problem for s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sanjoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 10 October 2013

Dear Sir
Thank you for choosing our hotel for your recent stay in New Delhi. We have read your comments about the hotel and we greatly appreciate that you took the time to write them, Guest Feedback encourage us in improving our service.It is our endavour to provide you best of the services while you stay in our hotel. As our guest's satisfaction is our main priority. It is very important for us that our guests’ experiences are shared. It was a pleasure to have you as our guest. We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your collaboration and we hope to see you again soon at our hotel.

Thanks and Regards
Budget India Holidays
9873371533

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2012

We stayed at this hotel in January as part of a group of guests attending a wedding. The hotel has extremely pleasant staff, particularly the porters. It is a boutique hotel, which normally means compact and three star.
The location in Saket overlooks an aged shopping centre with the usual Pizza Hut and McD outlets. Guests must be prepared for the packs of dogs which roam the area and have a habit of barking in unison at about 6am. This area can also look very unkempt, and though the hotel can do nothing about it, they have advised they assist with the cleaning.
Unfortunately the hotel did not have heating in the rooms during our stay and we were told the air conditioning would not blow out warm air. As the evening temperatures can drop to 36 degrees Fahrenheit, all that was provided was an old electric fan heater, which gave a headache after a while.
When we asked for an iron and ironing board, the ironing board was old and falling to pieces. The iron had certainly seen better days.
The hotel facilities are sufficient for a base from which to travel to central Delhi, but do not expect to laze about the hotel, as there is no outside area to sit and enjoy the sun or comfortable lounge area. I have stayed in this hotel twice in the last 12 months and this review reflects both stays, though there has been a slight improvements during this time. However the staff are very willing to put things right when asked.
The staff in the Omina restaurant, where breakfast is served could do with some training, as you often have to ask twice for things and sometimes the buffet food is not replenished or cups or spoons available. However there is one particularly good restaurant manager who was on duty on the Wednesday we arrived and the following Sunday and Monday.
Overall I would comment that the hotel is more suited to a short stay, rather than a week.

Room Tip: For a slightly quieter room and bright sunny outlook request rooms with an odd number e.g. 307
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JohnShashi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2011

A very good rating of this hotel prompted to choose this property which is situated in the heart of the south Delhi entertainment complex of Saket. After living 7 yesrs in Delhi as a resident, staying in a hotel was a rare experience and Silver Fern hotels fulfilled all the requirements from watching a bollywood movie to getting my hair cut done. On top of everything everything at a short distance of less then hundred metres. The property is ideal for a solo busness traveler or a family on visit to incredible India. Close to majot tourist place like Qutub Minar, having lots of eating places and restaurants, haivng its own multi cousine restraunts are the highlights of the property making it so popular. On negative side, the hotel prices shown do not include city an luxory charges and the whole deal pinches when you clear your bill. The morning breakfast is free but basic. Staff is good and keeps remembers all its repeat visitors. The approach to the hotel is across the parking place of the multiplex which seems quite unusual to the first time visitors.

Room Tip: Ask in advance for a twin bed room if you nedd since these rooms are in short supply
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bhupendraa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 10 October 2013

Dear Sir
Thank you for choosing our hotel for your recent stay in New Delhi. We have read your comments about the hotel and we greatly appreciate that you took the time to write them, Guest Feedback encourage us in improving our service.It is our endavour to provide you best of the services while you stay in our hotel. As our guest's satisfaction is our main priority. It is very important for us that our guests’ experiences are shared. It was a pleasure to have you as our guest. We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your collaboration and we hope to see you again soon at our hotel.

Thanks and Regards
Budget India Holidays
9873371533

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2011

Comfortable hotel in Saket, i.e. a nice area quite far out from the centre of Delhi. However, a metro station is very close by and getting to and from the centre is very easy. Good standard rooms, very clean and apparently quite new. Helpfulness and competence of staff well above average. Good breakfast buffet, prompt room service and good food in the evening. Sound insulation is very poor, so it can get noisy from inside and outside, but that was not too much of a problem for me personally. Enjoyed my two nights there.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Flo1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 10 October 2013

Dear Sir
Thank you for choosing our hotel for your recent stay in New Delhi. We have read your comments about the hotel and we greatly appreciate that you took the time to write them, Guest Feedback encourage us in improving our service.It is our endavour to provide you best of the services while you stay in our hotel. As our guest's satisfaction is our main priority. It is very important for us that our guests’ experiences are shared. It was a pleasure to have you as our guest. We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your collaboration and we hope to see you again soon at our hotel.

Thanks and Regards
Budget India Holidays
9873371533

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2011

We were really happy with the Silver Ferns. We stayed there for 2 nights at the beginning of an individual tour of Delhi, Agra and Rajasthan and then again for 3 nights at the end of our tour.

The hotel is a normal business type hotel with everything you need and is located on a small square with some fast food restaurants and a great cinema where we went to see a Bollywood film. It is also easy to get an auto rikshaw outside the hotel and it is near the metro and across the street from a nice small park where the locals play cricket.

Our room was large and comfortable, the bed was large and comfortable and the bathroom was good. There was also free internet and coffee and tea in the rooms. We ordered food from room service and it was really good and not at all expensive.

The best thing about the hotel was the staff, they were so friendly and helpful and nothing was too much touble for them. They were really good with giving directiond and advice and the porter even walked half way to the metro with us to show us where it was. On the morning we left for Agra by train, we had to leave at 5am and because that was too early for the normal breakfast, the staff organised a warm packed breakfast for us to eat on the train.

We would definitely stay at the Silver Ferns again!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HayleyNL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 10 October 2013

Dear Sir
Thank you for choosing our hotel for your recent stay in New Delhi. We have read your comments about the hotel and we greatly appreciate that you took the time to write them, Guest Feedback encourage us in improving our service.It is our endavour to provide you best of the services while you stay in our hotel. As our guest's satisfaction is our main priority. It is very important for us that our guests’ experiences are shared. It was a pleasure to have you as our guest. We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your collaboration and we hope to see you again soon at our hotel.

Thanks and Regards
Budget India Holidays
9873371533

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
0.1 mi away
FabHotel Anutham Saket
FabHotel Anutham Saket
#327 of 715 in New Delhi
61 reviews
0.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Carlson Saket, New Delhi
0.7 mi away
Sage Hotel
Sage Hotel
#444 of 715 in New Delhi
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Qutub Residency
Qutub Residency
#610 of 715 in New Delhi
50 reviews
0.8 mi away
Svelte Hotel and Personal Suites
0.5 mi away
Sheraton New Delhi
Sheraton New Delhi
#21 of 715 in New Delhi
1,624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silver Ferns Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Ferns Hotel

Address: 31-32, Community Centre Saket | Saket, New Delhi 110017, India
Region: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #615 of 715 Hotels in New Delhi
Price Range: £60 - £94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Silver Ferns Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Silver Ferns is ideally located in the south of Delhi, Saket, one of the most up market localities. The hotel is located amidst the first PVR built in the Capital. The Boutique Hotel is at a half hour distance from The Airport, Station, Connaught Place and International exhibitions and convention centres such as the Pragati Maidan. The historical locations too are within 30 minutes proximity. Comfortable, carefully considered rooms in wood and subtle colours are a soothing place to return to at the end of the business day. All rooms are Wi – Fi friendly that will keep you in touch with the Business Global Village. The Hotel consists of Club Rooms and Deluxe Rooms. All rooms are provided with well stocked Soft Drinks Bars with aerated drinks and the Club Rooms are with a full-fledged Bar. The Club Rooms are also provided with a complimentary bottle of Domestic Wine, Fruit basket and pick up from the Airport or Station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Silver Ferns Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Silver Ferns

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing