We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Gateway To The Himalaya” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Legend Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Legend Inn
Ranked #66 of 701 Hotels in New Delhi
Certificate of Excellence
Rapid City, South Dakota
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Gateway To The Himalaya”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2011

This Hotel is wonderful the people here make you feel very at home and help you in any way or form they can. Coming from the US they took very good care of me and the Pricing is very reasonable. They have a great food menu that is quick and priced better than any local place around. I would HIGHLY recommend this hotel. The mountaineering artifacts and the climbing wall make this a paradise to anyone heading to the Himalaya

Room Tip: I stayed in the Tenzing Norgay Suite and it was clean and very beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike10636
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    109
    57
    8
    1
    2
See reviews for
29
37
23
47
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
madrid
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2011

We decided to book this room because of it's good reviews, but to be honest we were quite disappinted.

It's not that the hotel is bad, but it's definitely not worth the money you pay.

The hotel is comfortable, the rooms are big, and staff is friendly. But the bathrooms are not clean.
Paying 4000 rupees (64€) for this, when you could pay 5000 rupees (80€) and find a nice internet offer for a top notch 5star hotel is just stupid. (I was).

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yocastus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holywood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2011

For value and comfort at a reasonable price in Delhi the Legend Inn can't be beaten. Yogesh and Dinesh the front desk managers couldn't be more helpful. Food is good, rooms are clean with efficient AC. I've been staying here since 2001 and keep coming back with large groups of young people and adults. The overwhelmingly positive reviews say it all. (The one guy who gave the poor review must be mad to expect 5 star accommodation at this price!)

Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Christine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bend, Oregon
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2011

My stay at the Legend Inn was extremely comfortable and pleasant. The desk managers were exceptionally helpful. The food was great and the place was clean and quiet.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mgvandenberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Western Australia
Level Contributor
307 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 353 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2011

After taking confidence in my fellow TA members' reviews, I thought this was going to be a good place to stay. Oh how wrong I was, and what were these previous reviewers smoking for this dump to be given such a high ranking.....please let me know because I would love to smoke some too!

The first disappointment was the non-attendance of my pre-arranged airport transfer. I waited about 15-20 minutes before 'spitting the dummy' and paying for a transfer at the airport. On arrival, I complained that there was nobody waiting for me. After a minor heated discussion, and the owner contacting the driver to prove he is there, and me telling him the facts on what time I arrived and how there WAS NOBODY - he refunded me the transfer costs. OK, a resolve had been met and I was pleased, but this was not to last.

My first impression of the property was very average, the reception area was hot, humid, uncomfortable and poorly presented. The elevator which took me to my floor was extremely tiny (and hot / uncomfortable) and may present problems for anyone who suffers from claustrophobia. The room key to my suite didn't work very well nor the lock itself. Which to me posed a security problem, to the extent that when I did retire for the night I dragged the sofa in front of the door.

The room was very spacious, but I requested a minimum of a double bed.....what I got was two, very uncomfortable, small single beds. One air-conditioner worked quite good but was extremely noisy (which was annoying and prevented a good night's sleep) and the other one seemed OK. The room had most of the standard amenities, just that the quality was on par with the room's condition - poor. The only good thing were the drinks available from within the mini-bar.

The bathroom was cramped, dirty, badly maintained and had several small bugs wandering around freely. The water pipe leading to the sink leaked and left water on the floor, which eventually spread toward the toilet - needless to say that when any clothes touched the floor they would hit this stagnant water. The actual shower was so dirty and disgusting I didn't use it.

After enduring a very bad night of very little sleep and a lot of discomfort, I checked out and headed toward the Intercontinental Eros by 10:00am the following morning. (I actually rang them and made the reservation at 4:00am in the morning and stated "If a room is available now send a driver now to collect me...PLEASE!!!!!")

Overall, India is terribly overpriced in it's accommodation tariffs, but I rather pay another 10,000rp and stay somewhere decent than this disgusting dive of a hotel. Avoid at all costs or suffer the same plight I endured. YOU HAVE BEEN WARNED.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DJEargasm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2011

Rooms were very comfortable and the staff was super friendly and helpful! And the food was really good too. The room service had a good variety of western, chinese, and indian dishes. It was also really easy to arrange a car through the hotel to get us wherever we needed to go.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wenttoindiayay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2011

A great stay, even with Delhi melting outside! Luckily the AC was working perfectly and Dinesh and tean were on standby with excellent cutsomer service. Great, clean rooms and absolute efficiency!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jenjamjar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
Greater Kailash I
Hotel Meridian Plaza
Hotel Meridian Plaza
#145 of 701 in New Delhi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
Basil the Residency
#74 of 701 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
The Muse Sarovar Portico
#89 of 701 in New Delhi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Treebo Conclave Riviera
#156 of 701 in New Delhi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 18 reviews
bloomrooms @ Link Rd
#18 of 701 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 927 reviews
Defence Colony
OYO Premium South Delhi
OYO Premium South Delhi
#303 of 701 in New Delhi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Legend Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Legend Inn

Property: The Legend Inn
Address: E - 4, New Delhi 110065, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi > Greater Kailash I
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#26 Family Hotel in New Delhi
#32 Romantic Hotel in New Delhi
#55 Business Hotel in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Legend Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Legend Inn, Delhi is an executive budget hotel ideal for business travellers as well as tourists. It is located in a posh locality of South Delhi about 100 meters from the metro train station and 1 km from Nehru place a famous commercial complex. Popular restaurants and shopping is walking distance and the well known shopping complexes of South Extension and Lajpat Nagar are less than 2 kms away. The Legend Inn is owned by world famous mountaineer Capt M S Kohli and it appropriately has a mountaineering theme with a 40ft high artificial climbing wall and rooms named after Himalayan peaks or Legendary mountaineers of the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK) and Agoda so you can book your The Legend Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Legend Hotel New Delhi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing