We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding.”
Review of The Legend Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Legend Inn
Ranked #66 of 716 Hotels in New Delhi
Certificate of Excellence
Brookline, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Outstanding.”
Reviewed 3 May 2013

I don't do many reviews but I had to write about this place. Established 20 yrs ago by India's foremost mountaineer and a friend of the late Sir Edmund Hilary, this is a family run place that is the best place to stay for someone who wants a B and B in the posh and safe South Delhi area. It is central to everything and is only 100 yds from the Kailash Colony Metro station, which is the only viable public transport in this city. This is the letter of thanks I gave the owner/manager when I left:

I am writing to offer my sincere thanks for making such wonderful arrangements for our family’s stay in Delhi at your guesthouse, The Legend Inn. Our entire family of four generations enjoyed staying here, from April 3rd through today, May 3rd, 2013, albeit with short breaks for travel elsewhere. All our friends and family who visited us during this long stay were also very impressed with the accommodations here, and wowed by the fast and gracious service.
We are very grateful for the tremendous effort that everyone at the Legend Inn put in to making our stay exceedingly comfortable, the rooms spotlessly clean, us and our luggage safe and our comings and goings convenient. Kudos to you and the entire Legend Inn organization: without exaggeration we have never seen the likes of this service in any hotel we have stayed at in the last decade across the world.
We would like to mention a few people whose work ethic and professionalism went above and beyond the high bar set by all of your staff. To start with, I cannot adequately put into words our admiration for Mr Yogesh Bhandari, the Front Office Manager. Similarly, Mr Vineet Kumar and Mr Dinesh Dhondiyal also gave us incredible hospitality, and round the clock service.

The hot morning breakfasts served so graciously in our rooms by Subhash and Mayank, with help from Amarnath and Joginder, were a complete joy. In fact all the meals we had were memorably delicious and quenched any desire to go to our favorite haunts where we used to eat Mughlai food on previous visits! Malkan and Dheeraj kept our rooms clean and, along with Joginder, helped with moving our luggage.

The Legend Inn’s luxurious rooms, great location and safe environment make for a very comfortable home-away-from-home experience for the leisure or business traveler. Kudos to you, the Legend Inn organization and its wonderful staff. We will definitely be back, hopefully next year!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Naren G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    121
    60
    8
    1
    2
See reviews for
33
41
25
48
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2013

I cannot recommend this hotel enough.

As a well averse international traveller, I was pleasantly surprised by the Legend Inn Hotel, Delhi. We had a stay of 9 days. The food was great, service was impeccable and the staff were very obliging and helpful.

It was the ideal location, clean and quiet.

Will definitely be staying here again

Room Tip: We stayed in the Deluxe Suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marten V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2013

March 6 to March 9 and March 14 to March 17, 2013 in Deluxe AC Single Room. This is an excellent place for a stay in Delhi. The room was big enough and there were all necessary amenities. The service was very fast. There is no restaurant, but room service can get you everything you need at very reasonable prices. The people at the reception go out of their way to make your stay pleasant and memorable. My flight to Vienna was scheduled at 2 a.m. and I was pleasantly surprised that I was given a very late checkout at 10 p.m. without any additional cost. For people loving mountains this is a very special place as it has many memories of Sir Edmund Hillary who climbed Mount Everest for the first time.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Herbert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2013 via mobile

We were met at the airport with no hitches by a driver who took us in an AC car to the hotel and served us refreshments from a cool box en route. A great start! On arrival, we found we were in a twin instead of a double room, but without any hesitation this was quickly rectified. The service throughout our stay was outstanding and we had no complaints. Our room was very comfortable, the breakfast (which was included, as was high speed wifi) was generous and the location is ideal, being a short walk to the metro. This isn't a luxury hotel by any means but we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and found it excellent value for money. We would recommend this hotel highly!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Setorah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Germany
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2013

We stayed in this hotel for one night during our trip in India. We had WiFi and 2 bottles of water in the rooms with no extra charges. Rooms were noisy, since the hotel is located on a road with traffic day and night, but comfortable.
Dinner and breakfast were served in a basement room, with no windows, but the food was ok.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HolyGuys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
1 review
Reviewed 19 January 2013

We stayed as group, 12 persons, in variety of rooms and suites from January 12 to 15 and again from 17 to 19. All rooms/ suites were well appointed and comfortable. The service and attention to detail really made our stay very comfortable and enjoyable.The hotel staff arranged for all our transportation needs and met all our variety of requests and demands promptly and with a smile.
I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sahaj29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2013

We stayed for three nights in the Legend Inn from 23rd-26th Dec. It is a very comfotable hotel. The rooms are spacious, clean and well appointed. there is a choice of Continental, American and Indian breakfasts. The food was good and plentiful.
The staff were wonderfully attentive- nothing seemed too much trouble for them, and even anticipated our needs! We really appreciated the offer of tea and toast brought up to our room when we returned, very late, from our trip to the Taj Mahal.
The hotel arranged our pick up from the train station with the driver waiting over an hour for us as the train was delayed. They also arranged our car for the Taj Mahal trip and gave us good advice on what to see and what to avoid in Delhi ( there were protests in Delhi and road closures at the time of our visit).
Another lovely touch was when the staff kindly rearranged the Christmas tree so we could have family and group photos on Christmas Day!
I would definitely recommend this hotel and if we are ever lucky enough to visit Delhi again, we'll be back in the Legend Inn. Thank you all.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lawnmowerqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
Grand FFOUR
#122 of 716 in New Delhi
49 reviews
Greater Kailash I
Hotel Meridian Plaza
Hotel Meridian Plaza
#160 of 716 in New Delhi
126 reviews
Treebo Conclave Riviera
#181 of 716 in New Delhi
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Wood Castle
#15 of 716 in New Delhi
1,122 reviews
Basil the Residency
#86 of 716 in New Delhi
152 reviews
Pahar Ganj
Grand Godwin Hotel
Grand Godwin Hotel
#55 of 716 in New Delhi
1,074 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Legend Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Legend Inn

Property: The Legend Inn
Address: E - 4, New Delhi 110065, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi > Greater Kailash I
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#26 Family Hotel in New Delhi
#32 Romantic Hotel in New Delhi
#55 Best Value Hotel in New Delhi
#55 Business Hotel in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Legend Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Legend Inn, Delhi is an executive budget hotel ideal for business travellers as well as tourists. It is located in a posh locality of South Delhi about 100 meters from the metro train station and 1 km from Nehru place a famous commercial complex. Popular restaurants and shopping is walking distance and the well known shopping complexes of South Extension and Lajpat Nagar are less than 2 kms away. The Legend Inn is owned by world famous mountaineer Capt M S Kohli and it appropriately has a mountaineering theme with a 40ft high artificial climbing wall and rooms named after Himalayan peaks or Legendary mountaineers of the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Legend Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Legend Hotel New Delhi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing