We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Modern/Fusion Cuisine” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Spice Route

The Spice Route
Ranked #34 of 12,530 Restaurants in New Delhi
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$20 - US$100
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Romantic, Groups, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Full Bar, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
119 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Modern/Fusion Cuisine”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014

The food was really good. The ambiance was also unique and we were constantly looking around at the ceiling or the mirrors and talking about it

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank J p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VWanchoo, Sr. Exec. VP & GM at The Spice Route, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your compliments on the food and ambience at the Spice Route. I am glad that we succeeded in providing you a memorable dining experience.

Thank you once again for patronizing us, we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm regards,

Vijay Wanchoo
Sr. Exec. VP & GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

650 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    354
    167
    75
    37
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zhengzhou, China
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Set menu overpriced”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014 via mobile

Decor is awesome.
As for service, we asked for a sommelier yet our waiter did not give the impression of knowing anything about wine. For the price you would expect decent advice on wines.
The set menu was very overpriced for the food. I can't comment on the rest of the menu.
Disappointing.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank OGL404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VWanchoo, Sr. Exec. VP & GM at The Spice Route, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your compliments on the décor of the Spice Route. I have noted your feedback about wine service and would like to humbly assure you that all the staff members know their job well and are much appreciated for the same. Please accept my sincere apologies for not being able to deliver up to your expectations on this particular instance. Your feedback is valuable to us so that we continuously work on exceeding expectations.

We look forward to another chance of serving you.

Warm regards,

Vijay Wanchoo
Sr. Exec. VP & GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“My Favourite restaurant in Delhi”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

This is my favourite restaurant in Delhi .Always fantastically managed .with most consistent food and service .No other restaurant in entire delhi comes close to this .Taipan at the Oberoi , The Chinese restaurant at the Taj and other free standing ones are a joke compared to the one at Imperial .This restaurant is all about quality and consistency .
All hotels must learn this from Spice route in Imperial and Jamawar at the leela in Bangalore.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Cook1932
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VWanchoo, Sr. Exec. VP & GM at The Spice Route, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your compliments on the consistent food & service at the Spice Route. I appreciate your gracious comments and am glad that we succeeded in providing you a memorable dining experience.

Thank you once again for patronizing us, we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm regards,

Vijay Wanchoo
Sr. Exec. VP & GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayne, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
84 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014

terrific food and ambiance but a bit expensive. service also very good. ate there with my family and something for everyone.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank martin h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VWanchoo, Dear Guest, at The Spice Route, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your compliments on the ambience, food & service at the Spice Route. I'm glad to note your appreciation for the whole experience.

Thank you once again for patronizing us, we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm regards,

Vijay Wanchoo
Sr. Exec. VP & GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, North Carolina
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing story”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

The restaurant is amazing. The inside decor of the place will intrigue you and sets a great ambiance for dinner. My wife and I went to New Delhi for a short weekend trip and made reservations here for dinner. The food was great and the wine was perfect. The decorations definitely kept us entertained throughout dinner.

We were given a tour of the restaurant and explained that it took about 7 years to complete due to much of the decorations coming from ruins around the country up to 400 years old. The paintings along the walls are also done by hand and tell the story of life in a way indicative of India. I definitely recommend having your wait staff show you the tour.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank airbornedoc16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VWanchoo, Sr. Exec. VP & GM at The Spice Route, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your compliments on the ambience and food at the Spice Route. I'm glad to note your appreciation for the concept and the whole experience.

Thank you once again for patronizing us, we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm regards,

Vijay Wanchoo
Sr. Exec. VP & GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Spice Route also viewed

New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
 
New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
 
New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
 

Been to The Spice Route? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing