We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice place for leisure time”
Review of Orient Express

Orient Express
Ranked #53 of 12,605 Restaurants in New Delhi
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Mumbannar, Australia
1 review
“A nice place for leisure time”
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Food location all good. All time food with evening spent all upto the mark.The Orient Express at the Taj Palace captures the mystique of the legendary train the Orient Express that has been traversing Europe for over a century. Transporting in regal splendor diplomats and duchesses, comment and courtesans, private eyes and spies.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank AKS70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tphgm_del, General Manager at Orient Express, responded to this review, 8 September 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Taj Palace, New Delhi!

Thank you for sparing your precious time and sharing your feedback on the Trip Advisor.

We have noted your kind feedback with respect to your meal experience at our European dining restaurant - Orient Express and thank you for the same. Your feedback has been communicated to the Orient Express team.

Orient Express captures the mystique of the legendary train, the Orient Express, which has been traversing Europe for over a century. The dining area successfully recreates a carriage in the train, and with it, the ambience of a bygone era. Although the Orient Express menu includes cuisines from all those countries through which the train passes, the focus is on classical French.

We thank you for your kind patronage of Orient Express and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

With best regards,

Taljinder Singh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    124
    34
    5
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
28 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Brilliant Service”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Absolutely wonderful food and service! Absolute must do when in Delhi, the train carriage set up is an amazing feat in its own.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank singhrajnesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tphgm_del, General Manager at Orient Express, responded to this review, 8 September 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Taj Palace, New Delhi!

Thank you for your kind feedback on your dining experience at the Orient Express. Your compliments for the food and service is well appreciated and have been communicated to the team at Orient Express. This is truly motivating and only encourages us to perform better and exceed the expectations of our esteemed guests such as you.

The Orient Express has just completed 30 years and is perhaps one of the very few restaurants globally, that have been left untouched without renovations for this many years. We and Orient Express would love to welcome you back and thank you once again for your compliments.

With best regards,

Taljinder Singh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
85 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Superb”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Had dropped out of the 50 top restaurants in the world. But sure to be back next time around.

Great Ambiance, real luxury. a True Spoiling

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Viraf P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tphgm_del, General Manager at Orient Express, responded to this review, 25 October 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Taj Palace, New Delhi!

Thank you for sharing your feedback in the Trip Advisor regarding your meal experience at Taj Palace, New Delhi.

Your kind words of appreciation for the Orient Express has been noted and conveyed to the entire team. Comments such as these always encourage us in enhancing our efforts to provide the best in hospitality and service.

It was indeed a pleasure having you at the Taj Palace and we look forward to welcoming you again.

With best regards,

Taljinder Singh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nice, France
Level Contributor
190 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“A romantic and delicious experience”
Reviewed 11 July 2014

I went there because it is located in the Taj Palace hotel where I stayed during my business trip to Delhi (a hotel I can just warmly recommend). I knew this restaurant was very well rated and went there with my wife, hoping we would not be disappointed. We have not been: the atmosphere is quite special and romantic (you have your dinner in a replica of a Orient express train), the service is particularly great (the kinf of quality of service you find in only unique restaurants), the food is delicious and a discrete but talented pianist contributes to a great moment. It's of course a bit on the expensive side (for India) but so great. You can go there and be assured you will have a great moment. It is now in the top 10 of the best restaurants I had the privilege to experience around the world.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RogerTorrenti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tphgm_del, General Manager at Orient Express, responded to this review, 25 October 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Taj Palace, New Delhi!

Thank you for sparing your valuable time and sharing your feedback in the Trip Advisor.

I have noted your feedback and I am delighted to know that you had a great meal experience with your wife at our European fine dining restaurant - Orient Express. While I thank you for this valuable feedback, I have ensured that it has reached each and every associate at the Orient Express.

Thank you for patronizing Taj Palace and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

With best regards,

Taljinder Singh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
51 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Awe struck”
Reviewed 11 June 2014 via mobile

Needless to say and comment on one of the top rated restaurants on the country. Brilliant food and staff. Excellent presentation and standards. Just what you would need and wana have from starters tool the desserts.

Helpful?
Thank rachitkakkar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tphgm_del, General Manager at Orient Express, responded to this review, 25 October 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Taj Palace, New Delhi!

Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding your meal experience at the Orient Express - our European fine dining restaurant.

Orient Express captures the mystique of the legendary train, the Orient Express, which has been traversing Europe for over a century. The dining area successfully recreates a carriage in the train, and with it, the ambience of a bygone era. Although the Orient Express menu includes cuisines from all those countries through which the train passes, the focus is on classical French.

Your appreciation for the food and staff has been noted and conveyed to the Orient Express team.

Thank you for patronizing Taj Palace and look forward to welcoming you back again.

With best regards,

Taljinder Singh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Orient Express also viewed

New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
 
New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
 
New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
 

Been to Orient Express? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing