We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent hotel in good location.”
Review of Hotel Pooja Palace

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Pooja Palace
Ranked #121 of 779 Hotels in New Delhi
Reviewed 13 April 2013

I stayed here at the beginning and end of an Intrepid trip. Good sized, clean rooms with decent bathroom with hot water. Neither of my rooms had windows so were a bit dark but that was my only complaint. Great to have a roof terrace to finish the day with a cold beer and to sit and read. I also enjoyed breakfast on the terrace and thought it was tasty and good value. Great location close to a few shops and restaurants and also close to the metro station so ideal for getting around the sights.
The staff were very friendly and you could also change money at the hotel for a good rate.

Room Tip: It might be worth asking for a room with a window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ALH57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (278)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

202 - 208 of 279 reviews

Reviewed 29 March 2013

we had quite a big room, somewhat 20 sq.m, with a reasonably clean bathroom, however if you need some hot water you have to ask the reception to switch on the boiler which apparently services the whole hotel. I would advise to check out the roof lounge!

the breakfast was awful, but you can just have some coffee and toasted bread as we did, however this is being compensated by the fact that the hotel is located extremely convenient, very close to the subway station, no more than a couple of minutes walking.

beware though, there is no elevator in the hotel, and that is a four-storey building.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nikie11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelpoojapalace, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Pooja Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2013

Madam,
Thank you for your response.We will try to work on your feedback to provide better services and food in future.We regret the inconvenience caused due to the repair work of the elevator but we are glad to inform you that new machinery has been installed to avoid any problem .
Sheetal.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2013

Stayed here twice at the beginning and end of an Intrepid trip. It's a nice enough hotel, rooms were clean, large and had hot showers. What more can you ask for at this price range in Delhi?

It's bang slap in the centre of Karol Bagh, so the shops/market are only a 2 minute walk away and a metro stop is less than 5 minutes walk as well, although riding the metro in Delhi is an experience many people may want to forgo. Hotel staff were unbelievably helpful. On the first day we needed a travel adaptor and asked if they knew where we might buy one. One of the staff went out and bought one for us and brought it back about 15 minutes later.

Downsides - well it was very difficult to find as it is located down a side street. Our tuk-tuk driver spent almost 40 minutes trying to find it, but we got there in the end. The hotel food wasn't great, but there are decent restaurants within 2 minutes walk. Finally, the rooftop garden may not have much in the way of plants, but it is a little oasis of calm in the centre of the madness that is Delhi. It's a good place to have a relaxing Kingfisher at the end of the day.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aaron95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2013

Out of my 6 weeks in India, my worst nights' sleeps were at Pooja Palace. It was cold, the heater was weak, and the bed was really hard. There's hot water only between certain hours of the morning (like 6-8 am or 7-9 am). Our toilet broke then flooded the bathroom. The poor room boy tried so so hard to make it work, but the facilities are just too old and run down. There was grime everywhere. The TV didn't work half the time (I badly wanted to watch Obama's inauguration! :( ) Wifi was pretty pitiful in the lobby. The room boys are very nice and the night manager was nice. No one else was particularly friendly.

The rooftop is nice and is the only thing I enjoyed. The desk manager was cool to let us (quietly) party up there. We got paneer pakora and lassis at 3 am and beer and whiskey were flowing. Bollywood videos and dancing were happening. So that part was fun, but the rooms were just awful.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank K L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2013

The rooms here are larger than many other hotels in Karol Bagh, have a very good shower, lots of space around the bed and a very friendly staff, especially Akhilesh Singh, who runs the main desk. The tv works and the free internet is very valuable especially after experiencing so many other places that say they offer internet but don't deliver a service that works. Rooftop is a good place to get above the noise of the streets at the end of the day. Location near the metro makes it convenient too.

Room Tip: second floor in the back is my choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jOhnm514_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2013

This place had mixed reviews even from within my Intrepid tour group. Free wifi was the highlight, although the rooms were freezing during winter and there weren't too many great features. Good by India standards.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JacMBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2013

Before meeting up with my Intrepid group, I booked an extra night's stay at Pooja. The first room i was given was not very nice at all. THe toilet wasn't too clean and was dripping, the sheets didn't look too clean so i slept in my sleeping bag instead. It was also a very cold evening so i didn't sleep well at all. However, the place completely redeemed itself when the tour returned 2 weeks later. The rooms were all much better lit, toilets were much cleaner, the wifi was available even on the third floor and the roof garden was revamped with great outdoor tables and chairs and the floor was tiled. A much nicer place to enjoy a Kingfisher at sunset. The location is a plus as it's only a few minutes from Karol Bagh metro station and market which sells all sorts of clothing and knickknacks. Not a bad place to stay for the price.

Room Tip: Higher floors are nicer!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Edcky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
Hotel Hill Palace
#122 of 779 in New Delhi
80 reviews
Hotel Rupam
#135 of 779 in New Delhi
353 reviews
Hotel Good Palace
#265 of 779 in New Delhi
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Biden Pura
Hotel Intercity
Hotel Intercity
#188 of 779 in New Delhi
301 reviews
Biden Pura
L' Affaire Luxury Boutique Hotel
L' Affaire Luxury Boutique Hotel
#147 of 779 in New Delhi
50 reviews
Hotel Pawan Plaza
#63 of 779 in New Delhi
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Pooja Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pooja Palace

Address: 15A/11 W.E.A Puja Park, New Delhi 110005, India
Region: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi > Biden Pura
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #121 of 779 Hotels in New Delhi
Price Range: £20 - £31 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Pooja Palace 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is to introduce our hotel, Hotel Pooja Palace. It is a well established family-run boutique hotel in Karol Bagh, New Delhi. The hotel has 30 furnished rooms with A.C., flat screen TV, running hot water, 24/7 room service and free internet facility. It is a minute walk from the comprehensive Karol Bagh market & the metro station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Pooja Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing