We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“peaceful, great food” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lutyens Bungalow

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Lutyens Bungalow
Ranked #16 of 1,049 New Delhi B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Athens
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“peaceful, great food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2012

We have stayed here several times. The rooms are small but spotless. The hotel will arrange pick-up from the airport. It's easy to contact them via phone or email. The food is delicious. Meals are eaten "family style" and you'll meet an interesting group of visitors. The organic garden is beautiful and peaceful. Not a posh place, but very comfortable for the mid - range traveler.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Amine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    119
    71
    12
    3
    7
See reviews for
49
66
22
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Noida, India
Level Contributor
57 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2012

this is just like home, especially for Indians. we use it for our senior staff traveling to Delhi every month.
1. very homely with personalized attention from owners
2. rooms are different but small
3. u even get hot water bottles during winters
4. all basic, NEAT AND CLEAN needs in the rooms including the loo :)
5. home made achaar , jam marmalade available.
6. centrally located- next to india gate and one of the most expensive address in Delhi
7. outside home delivery food is avilalbe too , and trust me nearby restaurants are good!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Vikrantg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Udaipur, India
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2012

A nice little family hotel in New Delhi. Location-wise this place is great, almost in walking distance to Lodhi Gardens and Khan Market. The rooms are standard, most with newly renovated bathrooms. The garden is beautiful and there is a lovely Swimming Pool. I just loved sitting in the garden watching the parrots sitting in the trees above me. The place is a bit pricey though as the rooms are a bit bare. Breakfast is included however.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ute P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2011

We booked a room for two nights with Presi through email. I gave her the credit card details without expiry so I can send it in another email . After she asked for the expiry and I sent it. She then replied that our room that we have already agreed on is no longer available. I emailed her saying that this is really bad service and she has never replied again. Terrible!! If this is the kind of people who you talk to over email, I'm sure it can only get worse when you're there.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank geomat2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2011

Beautiful garden and well maintained pool. Perfect for cooling off in the Delhi heat.

Wonderful chef who made us delicious lunch to order. Communal atmosphere round breakfast table.

Rooms dark and bathrooms a bit damp. Otherwise good.

Taxi available from within the security gates with 15 mins notice. It is very difficut to hail a rickshaw from outside the hotel itself.

Level of service not particularly high- don't expect to be able to change notes into coins, to be given info on local sights etc. Receptionist not very pro active!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Nortic87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2011

Lutyens Bungalows is well received in the 'Wallpaper' guide and it does not disappoint. Shukla is a wonderful hostess. The rooms are beautifully clean, the food is great and the gardens and pool are the perfect means to re-charge in Delhi. Khan Market and Lodi Gardens nearby are worth a visit. Lutyens is an excellent base for the city.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank dr_robert_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brooklyn new york
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2011

We stayed in this lovely B&B for several nights and I can't say enough about the good value for money - the rooms were clean but basic, tv, AC, and phone in each. The bathroom was attached - simple but adequate hot water and good pressure. The breakfast each morning in the garden under the tree with the parrots was my favorite time of day - and when I requested a proper desi breakfast instead of the cornflakes and toast - it arrived with a smile and in 5 minutes. I am going back again this year as a solo traveler and won't hesistate to chose the Lutyens Bungalow to stay.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bklynlarkhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
0.3 mi away
The Claridges New Delhi
The Claridges New Delhi
#23 of 706 in New Delhi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,868 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Leela Palace New Delhi
The Leela Palace New Delhi
#1 of 706 in New Delhi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,622 reviews
0.6 mi away
Taj Mahal Hotel
Taj Mahal Hotel
#7 of 706 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,900 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#8 of 706 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,787 reviews
1.6 mi away
Shangri-La's Eros Hotel
Shangri-La's Eros Hotel
#15 of 706 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,541 reviews
0.7 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Ambassador, New Delhi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lutyens Bungalow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lutyens Bungalow

Property: Lutyens Bungalow
Address: Prithviraj Road, New Delhi 110003, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 1,049 B&Bs / Inns in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Lutyens Bungalow 2.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lutyens bungalow, a heritage property built in 1937, located in the plush environs of Delhi, has sprawling gardens, a playground and swimming pool. It is excellently located, within strolling distance of the Lodhi gardens and Safdurjung Tomb, and within 5 kms of a host of must see attractions. All rooms are air-conditioned and comfortable, with attached bathrooms offering all modern amenities. Our free wifi, sumptuous breakfast (included) and reasonably priced delicious meals are much appreciated. Do come and stay with us to enjoy India's warmth and hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Lutyens Bungalow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lutyens Bungalow Hotel New Delhi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing