We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heaven in busy Delhi”
Review of Lutyens Bungalow

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Lutyens Bungalow
Ranked #16 of 1,084 New Delhi B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Pass
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Heaven in busy Delhi”
Reviewed 22 November 2010

I absolutely loved my stay there. This place make one feel at home in a big foreign city. The food is excellent, the welcoming also, with no problem at the airport and a very fast transfer. My room was great, decorated simply yet nicely. The view was out back, not the best if one wants to enjoy the front garden. Internet worked really well. The food was excellent. The location is perfect, walking distance for the Khan market if one wants to go out shopping, otherwise, close to the main administrative centres. The energy of the place is fantastic. Really, will be back on my next trip to Delhi.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ChristineCharlotte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    124
    72
    12
    3
    7
See reviews for
51
67
24
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2010

Delhi can be hot, crowded, noisy and a bit too much - so this guesthouse is an ideal retreat from a day's sightseeing. It has a wonderful garden, a pool, satellite TV, air con and wifi. The breakfasts are lovely - sitting outside with dogs, squirrels and bird life (including an eagle which regularly landed on the bird bath). Suppers are light vegetarian fare with an 'honesty box' approach to the fridge which is stocked with beer and soft drinks As well as two seperate nights here during a three week tour of nothern India, we spent an unscheduled six days when Iceland erupted - and the owners were incredibly accommodating, even when we did not know from day to day when we would be leaving.

It's not cheap but is no more expensive than a mid-range hotel in Delhi and likely to have far more character. The pool makes it worth the money - especially if you are travelling with kids - and, if you are travelling alone, the atmosphere is far more welcoming than an anonymous hotel.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 2kidsintow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delightful Places
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2010

Within certain circles (mine included) this is a little treasure hot spot in the midst of challenging Delhi esp in the pre monsoon heat. My stay there started with a tiff with the owner. It was settled when I gave up knowing that my concern was not being heard -- and never would be. Oh well. I turned that around by buying a swim suit and thus fully enjoyed the pool again and again. Our room was lovely albeit overpriced. The food was overpriced and nothing fancy but home cooked. Mostly people love this place in Central Delhi so close to most things including the well known "Khan Market".

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Edenla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2010

I stayed here with my partner and 2 children (aged 14 and 10) at the start and finish of our trip to India. The location and the vibe are great. The guesthouse is tucked away in pleasant gardens, away from the hussle and bussle of Delhi. The kids loved the pool and the garden. We met some great people here, many of whom were staying in India for several months or were frequent travellers to India. We also enjoyed the simple and reasonably priced vegetarian home cooking for breakfast lunch and dinner.
The only negative i can think of is that the accommodation and facilities were rather basic and the price seemed a bit expensive for this type of guesthouse, however interesting.
If you like something different and are not on a tight budget, this might be the place for you. If you like your creature comforts and the facilities of a full service hotel, then maybe not..

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mikvik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2010

What an Oasis to find in the middle of New Delhi. It is like being a guest in someone's home, with a wonderful garden full of bird life and a swimming pool and they have there own nusheries selling plants. Initially it seems very expensive for the very basic rooms but it has alot of freebe extras which are real plus points....There is free tea & coffee put out in the garden all day and the breakfast included in your room is fantastic, best being the home made jam and marmalade (produce presumably from their garden!). You can help oneself to cold drinks and beers at a very reasonable price from the fridge and its up to you to write down what you have. It is not very near anywhere except the lovely Lodi Gardens which you can walk to but a ten minute taxi ride to Khan market etc.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Josephinetoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Banbury, UK
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2009

We stayed here for a total of 4 nights at the beginning and end of our trip to India. With a little more TLC this place could be fantastic. We were not told at any stage prior to our arrival that renovations were taking place and so were disappointed to be staying on a building site. It is an expensive place to stay and the rooms are nothing to write home about with VERY thin mattresses and the extra bed for our children was quite frankly a disgrace at 1500 rupees a night. We did get another mattress for that bed eventually. That said however, the location is great and it was really nice to walk in to the garden with its bird and animal life. The pool was super and a life saver for the children in the heat of a Delhi summer and we met some interesting people staying there. A really nice touch was the tea and coffee put out for people to help themselves at tea time and at no charge and breakfast was delicious too. The internet was free as well. I would return here but would like to stay in one of the renovated rooms.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thewelshwanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2009

Stayed 3 nights here with a friend and we both thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The service is very relaxed, but Shukla (owner) is so friendly, kind and accommodating we were able to overlook some of the staff members who were less than enthusiastic!!

We found our shower to be a bit dodgy but other guests said their showers were excellent. No prob with the beds, and the room was clean (& no cockroaches!), also warm and toasty during the cold nights.

We liked the simple evening meals, shared round a communal table in the garden - & with a fridge stocked with cheap Kingfishers - who could complain? Other guests were fascinating, from all walks of life, and most were Luyten's regulars.

The garden is a haven....gorgeous spot for breakfast, afternoon tea is served on the lawn, and at night we sat around an outdoor fire. There are plenty of birds, little squirrels and the friendly dogs.

It was very homely yet unobtrusive.....recommended for those who like space and don't want/need 5 star frills and fuss! It was great to return here at the end of the day ...it really felt like we were returning 'home' as opposed to another bland nameless hotel.

It's not everyone's cup of tea but I will be staying here again when I return to New Delhi in December '09, & I am looking forward to it.

  • Stayed November 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BBandRR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
0.3 mi away
The Claridges New Delhi
The Claridges New Delhi
#36 of 716 in New Delhi
2,019 reviews
0.6 mi away
Taj Mahal Hotel
Taj Mahal Hotel
#9 of 716 in New Delhi
2,039 reviews
0.7 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Ambassador, New Delhi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Le Meridien New Delhi
Le Meridien New Delhi
#17 of 716 in New Delhi
2,728 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Leela Palace New Delhi
The Leela Palace New Delhi
#1 of 716 in New Delhi
2,798 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Lalit New Delhi
The Lalit New Delhi
#40 of 716 in New Delhi
3,761 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lutyens Bungalow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lutyens Bungalow

Property: Lutyens Bungalow
Address: Prithviraj Road, New Delhi 110003, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 1,084 B&Bs / Inns in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Lutyens Bungalow 2.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lutyens bungalow, a heritage property built in 1937, located in the plush environs of Delhi, has sprawling gardens, a playground and swimming pool. It is excellently located, within strolling distance of the Lodhi gardens and Safdurjung Tomb, and within 5 kms of a host of must see attractions. All rooms are air-conditioned and comfortable, with attached bathrooms offering all modern amenities. Our free wifi, sumptuous breakfast (included) and reasonably priced delicious meals are much appreciated. Do come and stay with us to enjoy India's warmth and hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Lutyens Bungalow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lutyens Bungalow Hotel New Delhi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing