We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel with the best location.”
Review of The Apple Blossom

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Shimla
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Apple Blossom
Ranked #9 of 151 Shimla B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 March 2014

This hotel is managed by Himachal Tourism & it is located at a very good location. The rooms are big. The restaurant is v.good but a bit costly. The staff was courteous and helpful and the service better than the other hotels. The hotel offers rooms at very reasonable tariffs for a property that has such a good location. However you have to compromise a bit on the facilities that are provided in private hotels. We were 4 people and we choosed 4 bedroom room and seriously the view from that room was awesome. I cannot forget that view. Actually there is never snowfall in the month of march but it was our luck that there was snowfall on the day we reached Fagu. and seriously the experience of snowfall was like heaven. There was near about 4 feet's snow in our hotel campus and seriously it was an awesome experience.

Now if we talk about the food so as I said it was quite costly but there are no words to express the taste of food. The veg & non-veg dishes from starters to main course all were fabulous.

A NICE EXPERIENCE IN THIS HOTEL AND WILL RECOMMEND IT TO EVERYONE WHO GOES THERE.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mayank1993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (142)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

88 - 94 of 142 reviews

Reviewed 28 January 2014

The Apple Blossom hotel is managed by Himachal Tourism and like most other government owned properties has a brilliant location. The rooms are big and comfortable, the restaurant excellent and the service efficient. All things usually not associated with government run
properties.

The staff was courteous and helpful and the service better than most hotels operating in the same range. The hotel offers very reasonable tariffs for a property of this scale. However, guest will have to compromise a bit on cleanliness and luxuries expected of professionally run hotels.

Room Tip: Rooms on the upper floor with the view of the valley are better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alexander5upertramp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2014

Fagu----by name it means fog----which touches your body & mind and give a feel of winter-------a place to feel / cherish winter. Apple Blossom is simply awesome----by its warm reception, attitude of employees and taste of food.

Room Tip: Rooms are goog and views from rooms are excellent on the 1st floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Swarup2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014

We "ran away" from Shimla and Chail being over crowded due to holiday in Delhi. We heard of this place Fagu from people and decided to check it out. It is only 6 kms from the tourist hot spot of Kufri.
The resort is situated right next to the state road and has a charming building with warm interiors and welcoming staff.
The best part was the room which has Large Windows made of glass that allows one to get a full view of the landscape consisting of the full range of snow peaks in the distance as well as the apple orchards across the region.
The best part for us turned out to be the large portico where they happily laid out a large breakfast for us in the sun that we consumed while having a clear view of the snow clad Himalayas in front of us.
Peace, tranquility and a small town charm. Exactly what we were looking for out of the the hectic life in Delhi and exactly what we got as well.
Apart from Kufri at 6 kilometers, there is nothing much to do there so just laze around, admiring the landscape and breathing the clean air, go for walk in the apple orchard or just take a stroll down the road to the small tea shops of the village to refresh and rejuvenate oneself before heading back to the hectic lives back at home.
Apart from being so close to Kufri there isnt anything much to do

Room Tip: Ask for rooms facing the Himalayas for a breathtaking view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MuditMehrotra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2014

Fagu is at a higher altitude than Kufri - which means it gets a better snow fall. The hotel is located at an elevated level from the road, and the path that leads up to the hotel is covered in snow (at least when we visited) - your own private ski slope - we saw kids gliding on plastic sheets on the gradient. The rooms are ok, the heaters do provide some warmth unlike most other hotels. The staff is courteous - despite the fact that it is govt run. Not everything listed on the menu maybe available. We could not have a bonfire since wood logs are banned as per the staff. The hotel does have a lawn which looks like a skating ground since it's mostly covered in snow and gives an amazing view. You can go to fagu top - an easy trek and on to the temple. Kufri is 20-25 mins walk through a road(branches off from the path before the climb to the temple begins) which could instill a sense of awe and wonder even in those who've seen enough snowfalls and slushy roads. the pine trees and the whiteness all around are magical. suggestion - take that walk. It's a view you should not miss.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rrashmi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2013

The main attraction of the hotel its location. its situated in greatest location ever i see small village misty cloud clash highest peak around totally awesome. rooms are excellent service is great. and its surrounded by apple trees are the great one. totally value for money by HPTDC

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karupu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

Only 25 km from Shimla city, the one of best part out of the concrete jungle for enjoying holiday with close to Himalaya's beautiful valley .The Apple Blossom , a small & good hotels from HPTDC, you can observe the beautiful Himalaya & snow clad peaks from the Hotel. Hotel's staffs are good & can get a good service from them , food is nice , not very expensive. Private taxi service is also available from hotel. A good place for peaceful staying.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank susanta_phani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shimla hotels
6.9 mi away
Fairmount Shimla Forest Greens
7.6 mi away
Kapil Hotel
Kapil Hotel
#3 of 117 in Shimla
872 reviews
0.2 mi away
Snow King Retreat
Snow King Retreat
#100 of 117 in Shimla
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Honeymoon Inn Shimla
Honeymoon Inn Shimla
#5 of 117 in Shimla
816 reviews
9.4 mi away
Snow Valley Resorts Shimla
4.6 mi away
Hotel Himalayan Escape
Hotel Himalayan Escape
#12 of 151 in Shimla
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Apple Blossom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Apple Blossom

Address: Fagu, Shimla 171012, India (Formerly Hotel Peach Blossom)
Region: India > Himachal Pradesh > Shimla District > Shimla
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 151 B&Bs / Inns in Shimla
Price Range: £20 - £35 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 24

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing