We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unprofessional Manager; Bait and Switch”
Review of Spars Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Shimla
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Spars Lodge
Ranked #10 of 137 Speciality Lodging in Shimla
Queenstown, New Zealand
Level Contributor
438 reviews
133 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 560 helpful votes
“Unprofessional Manager; Bait and Switch”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Came here with my wife on 28 May, 2014 based on Lonely Planet recommendation. Arrived at hotel to find front door open but nobody on premises. Sat in lobby for 15-minutes until a disgruntled looking man and three young men suddenly appeared through the kitchen door. Asked for a double room. I was show two initially. One on the bottom floor with view of a rusting corrugated roof for 1,200 Rp per night. Windows opened out onto a debris pile. Bathroom leaking and poorly maintained. Shower did not work. I asked to see another room which was quite nice with great views and much better as far as maintenance. I was offered this room for 2,000 Rp total per night which I agreed to and asked for the room for 3 nights. The manager then told me that he had misquoted the price and that is was now 2,200 per night. A ridiculous scam. Manager is as bad as they come. My complaints were met with smirks and rolling eyes. The young men are as eager as puppies to help with bags. After that they watch cricket on the lobby television. I took the lower room (3 floors down) for one night planning to find a better hotel in town.

WIFI only works in lobby and not in rooms. No place to hang clothing. CRT television. No water glasses, shampoo or soap. Cracks in bathroom electrical outlets. No top sheet. Cigarette burns in bedspread. No breakfast included but room service is available. See photo of menu. Be careful of additional taxes and service charges which are not included in pricing.

Hotel is at top of steep hill and far from town center. How this became a Lonely Planet 'Top Pick' is beyond me. Common areas are very clean and well maintained; Unfortunately this housekeeping does not extend to the rooms. I would not recommend this hotel to anybody. Very poor value.

Room Tip: Do not stay in this hotel unless they suddenly decide to throw you a free room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    30
    11
    14
    6
See reviews for
14
30
14
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014 via mobile

Disinterested staff, rooms bad , even their best room 302 was below average.. very beautiful website but reality is different. Disapointed.. not recommended.. very far from mall road .. islolated and boring location

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank 831sakinak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Shimla hotels

chennai
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2014

the best thing about this lodge is the views. as you wake up in the morning, you are greeted by pure joy and are transported to heaven literally. beautiful views from the rooms. the food and service may not be that good but it is definitely worth every paisa you spend to stay here, just for the views. the rooms are very clean, breakfast is decent. service is not great, dont expect a smiling face to welcome you and dont expect politeness from the staff. didn't have lunch and dinner here, only breakfast and it was decent, no complaints, but takes a while to reach your table after the order has been placed.
access to the lodge is tough especially if you have to walk it up as it is situated on a steep slope, and therefore i wouldn't advice this place as an option for the elderly people who have difficulty in walking up a slope.
to sum it up, in spite of the cons, still i emphatically say it is worth every paisa you spend.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank draet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2014

Our first view in the morning - from the 'restaurant' - was of the sun peeping through to show us the glorious Himalayas. We felt more like we were staying in someone's home and eating in their dining room, it was really charming and cosy. Think homestay rather than 'hotel'.
An easy walk to town and the staff happy to assist with transport and other arrangements.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jaipur, India
Level Contributor
54 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

This place is a heaven within the heavenly city of Simla. Tucked away from the hustle bustle of the mall road it's conveniently located close to viceregal lodge and cart road for ease movement.
All rooms have a great view of Taradevi and the whole valley so be prepared to wake up to some amazing views.
Must try is the trout. Bear in mind they make it fresh so it will take some time, so it's best to pre order it.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pratzila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fresh creek
1 review
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Great view, great staff, and a really genuine hotel combine to give you a real sense of India, especially with the monkeys right outside your window. Don't go expecting the best accommodation money can buy, but do go expecting staff to go out of their way.

Really loved my time there.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AdamFreshCreek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2013

Rooms are old and furniture and bath facilities are moldy and filthy. Stuff boys don't know how to clean (remains of last guests) and the manager (17 years in the hotel) is not there to supervise – the poor middle-aged guy still sleeps on the floor in the lobby and the rich old owners that live near-by, don't really care for the hotel situation. We got average and expensive food for dinner – we took the trout like LP recommendation – and got all the food after long time, cold and ugly. Breakfast is beneath criticism – things are missing and again – like the hotel – overpriced for this situation. It's also very difficult to climb the hill to reach the hotel! The only thing that is nice – the old fashioned colonial-like "salon" which is very nice to seat at.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Oren M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shimla hotels
1.6 mi away
Kapil Hotel
Kapil Hotel
#3 of 111 in Shimla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 851 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Combermere
Hotel Combermere
#22 of 111 in Shimla
4.0 of 5 bubbles 435 reviews
1.9 mi away
Summit Le Royale Hotel
Summit Le Royale Hotel
#32 of 111 in Shimla
4.0 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Fairmount Shimla Forest Greens
1.4 mi away
Clarkes Hotel
Clarkes Hotel
#4 of 111 in Shimla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 478 reviews
1.5 mi away
Honeymoon Inn Shimla
Honeymoon Inn Shimla
#5 of 111 in Shimla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spars Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spars Lodge

Property: Spars Lodge
Address: Museum Road,, Shimla 171004, India
Region: India > Himachal Pradesh > Shimla District > Shimla
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 137 Speciality Lodging in Shimla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Spars Hotel Shimla

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing