We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good-more than value for money.”
Review of Hotel White

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Shimla
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel White
Ranked #34 of 112 Hotels in Shimla
Barasat westbengal
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Very good-more than value for money.”
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed there for 3 nights wef 18/10/2013. Very clean toilet, room, bed and towels. If taken view room (from balcony - R no.25 and 29) the view is not inferior than what can viewed from mall. Only drawback is they have no I house restaurant for lunch or dinner. However there are plenty of eateries within 100 metre. Sebak Bakchi, WEST BENGAL.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sebakbakchi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    38
    94
    33
    9
    7
See reviews for
73
58
6
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Chandigarh, India
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

There are some basic things essential for a good hotel: clean rooms, nice view, cordial staff, this hotel offers all. Ideally located, the rooms are spacious, the manager is an accommodating one and the location is just the icing on the cake, the only drawback is lack of parking around the hotel, but in Simla its always been like that, perfect place for a short stay

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Dhananjay_Bhardwaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delhi
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Excellent location and amazing views from the rooms. Go for Deluxe rooms with balconies as those are valley facing. They don't have a restaurant but have room service. Food is on a bit expensive side though there are plenty of eating options as soon as you step out of the Hotel. Parking has always been a challenge in Shimla but the Manager is very helpful in getting one arranged nearby. Overall a good option location and budget wise.

Room Tip: Deluxe valley facing balcony rooms on the reception floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rahul G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

I stayed in hotel white with my husband and 2 year child for 2 nights and I can say this is the best budget hotel by location wise and room view wise(valley facing).Breakfast is good but limited choice and need to increase the menu items. On my checkout day I leave the luggage at the reception at noon. After explore in the near by areas for 2 hours tirely return in the hotel the manager surendra thakur offer us room for relaxing for 2 hours free of charge because our train leaves shimla station at 5.30 pm (very appreciated).

Thanks to the hotel white team for making our stay confortable and memorable.

Room Tip: it will be better to take valley facing room either balcony or not because balcony not in use becaus...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank nlata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

Pros
Hotel is located very close to ridge, mall road and the views from valley facing rooms are very good. We stayed in a double room (standard room)no 15. There was open space outside the room to stand and see the views. Room had two windows and ventilation was adequate. Even the washroom had a big Window. Room was spacious about 250 feet square area. Linens were clean, white. Blankets and pillow covers were perfectly white. Washroom was clean and had a big geyser. Overall, room was very clean, well appointed and cozy.
Cons
Hotel does not have in house restaurant. They serve only breakfast or tea. Towels very not clean and were in poor condition. Toilet had some leakage after flushing. Monkeys visit too frequently the space outside the room so care needs to be taken. Also, the taxi or vehicle is not allowed to come to the road outside the hotel, so one has to walk about 300 meters from the tunnel.

Overall, hotel provides a comfortable stay to a budget traveler. Though the building does not give the real impression of the hotel and it appears to be a budget, basic type of property. Big advantage is neat and clean spacious, colonial style built rooms and location is superb, only five minutes walk from ridge. One should bring own towels. Rest is fine.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jatin9030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014 via mobile

Having moved here from a different (and filthy) hotel in Shimla, we were delighted to see this hotel follow their namesake and provide clean white sheets and pillows! We had a lovely corner room which meant lots of natural light and space, and great views across the mountains. The bathroom was pretty standard for an Indian hotel, although once again very clean.

The location of this hotel is great, right off Lakkar Bazar and a few minutes walk to The Mall. Staff were friendly and very accommodating, and the hotel was very easy to relax in - it even had free wifi which we were pleasantly surprised by as it was not advertised.

The only downside was that there wasn't a restaurant at the hotel, but instead they provided a very good room service menu which we used each morning for breakfast. Also a word of warning - if you plan to use your balcony, or open windows, then beware of the monkeys... they will have a good look into the room to see what's inside even with the windows closed!

Overall we were very impressed by Hotel White. Although it was our most expensive hotel by quite a long way in India, having looked at a few other hotel rooms in Shimla we can safely say Hotel White represented very good value for the area (although it may not seem so by the price). Also if you can afford it, pay the extra couple of pounds a night for the nicer rooms, as money really does get you more in this town.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thelasthobnob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chandigarh, India
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

There can't be a better place , location wise, budget wise. Hotel White is close to the Ridge, Mall road, Lakkar Bazar. The staff is nice, rooms spacious,neat and clean.
Take a room with spacious balcony and enjoy the cool winds, mountain view. A perfect place to spend time with your family. For last 7 years have been going to Shimla in May/June and never ever thought of changing the hotel.
Mr.Thakur, the manager is cooperative, the staff never ever disturbs you.
You need to book in advance to get a room of your choice.

Room Tip: Look for rooms with Balcony attached, or with open space in front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ASHU68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shimla hotels
0.3 mi away
Kapil Hotel
Kapil Hotel
#3 of 112 in Shimla
864 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Gulmarg Regency
Hotel Gulmarg Regency
#83 of 112 in Shimla
301 reviews
0.9 mi away
Fairmount Shimla Forest Greens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Summit Le Royale Hotel
Summit Le Royale Hotel
#32 of 112 in Shimla
66 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Landmark
Hotel Landmark
#29 of 112 in Shimla
315 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Silverine
Hotel Silverine
#8 of 112 in Shimla
612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel White? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel White

Property: Hotel White
Address: Lakkar Bazar, Shimla 171001, India
Region: India > Himachal Pradesh > Shimla District > Shimla
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Shimla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel White 2*
Number of rooms: 27
Also Known As:
White Hotel Shimla

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing