We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Property in whole of Himachal”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Shilon Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Shilon Resort
Ranked #48 of 111 Hotels in Shimla
New Delhi, India
1 review
“Best Property in whole of Himachal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2013

There is no place compared to shilon resort in terms or pure beauty and nature at its best. I never never seen a 33 acre property in the hills on the main road of a national highway. Staff is courteous (mostly from the village shilon bagh), rooms have an amazing view, good privacy and great place to go for a holiday with friends or family. Exactly what i wanted - something away from city life.

Room Tip: there are two sides. One faces chail and the other faces kufri. it depends what you like, both have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RupamD_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DuttaDN, Public Relations Manager at Shilon Resort, responded to this review, 14 April 2013
Thanks for the compliments. We will thrive to keep it up .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    37
    7
    11
    13
See reviews for
45
16
1
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hervey Bay, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2013

The warmth and hospitality of the people and their willing eagerness to make your stay pleasurable are cornerstones of this property. It takes you back to a time where wooden cupboards were lined with newspaper and the staff took a personal interest in you as a guest.

What amazes is the beautiful vistas and ever changing majestical and mesmerising view that can be enjoyed from your bed. Watch out for the pesky monkey though, one little slip and they will enter your room!! PLUS they are clever enough to turn knobs and brace themselves on door jambs to get in. But then, you know that will happen at a hillside place in Simla, don't you?

I took my family there for a retreat away from the hustle and bustle of Delhi. The place is far enough away from Simla so as not to let the Hill Station intrude your idyll but close enough for you to go there if you want.

Certainly not a five star, chrome and polish, impersonal yet pristine place. But full of old world charm and that Hill Station Holiday place, which is so reminiscent of one's childhood days.

Thanks Shilon Bagh, you were just what I needed to rejuvenate me with heaps of Adrak Ki Chai (Ginger Tea)and Hot Pakodas :)

Room Tip: Choose one of the rooms higher up on the hillside to be able to see as much of the outdoors as possi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RashmiMadhan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2013

Please do not go by their website...that has pics of the hotel when this was built. The present condition is pathetic....plaster coming of the walls, lawns not maintained, our balcony's had color spread out ( we went 2 days after holi , seems they did not clean the balcony).

Good point of the hotel is only their location....looks it would have been very good when it was built but now not maintained as it should have been.

Rooms are very average....not very clean....bathrooms are below average.

It is not worth the money.

Room Tip: try choosing rooms on valley side and lower floor, it has small lawn (not maintained) attached to ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank microdotllc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
121 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2013

We decided to spend our three nights vacation here based on good reviews on TA, and our stay was rewarding. Arriving from Delhi, the drive is great from Chail, scenic & road condition is OK. The property is set in sprawling greenary, the view from rooms is ravishing. We could see the snow clad Kinnar-Kailash & other Himalayan peaks from our balcony. The room size is generous, heating is adequate. But the upkeep could be better.They need to improvise on cleaning & services. For example, once we had to dial up the room service thrice for getting water, didn't have towels in room after check-in. Guests don't expect such hitches from a top class resort like Shilon, especially when they charge a handsome tariff.
About food, evening snacks was delicious but breakfast & meals average. They can work on the quality of food.
A lovely resort nestled in the lap of nature, away from hustle & bustle...

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nehabhushan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2013

I have been to this resort in Mar-2013 along with 25-30 friends.

Rooms are well kept, though signs of old construction can be seen. View from almost all rooms are majestic.

Air is thin and there are quite few steps (read stair steps) from the reception to the rooms. People with breathing problem may feel uncomfortable.

Staff is very polite and helpful, but at times are constrained by the management policies when asked for some "out of the way" request.

Food is good and is not very costly. They do not have many options in the menu but what ever they offer, is very much eatable.

Room Tip: Room 110 takes the least amount of distance to reach from the reception. You can also get the Sunris...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bosepra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2013

We booked 2 rooms for 4 nights for our small party. Our rooms were large and comfortable, if a bit tired, with wonderful views. The hotel food was good and the staff helpful, and the only problem was that whilst we were there a large group arrived and took over the hotel. This meant that service slowed and the dining room was packed and uncomfortable. We would suggest that pre-ordered meals are offered in a quiet corner of the lounge for non group guests (which we worked out for ourselves). It is a good place to rest and relax but be aware that's it is at a high altitude which can be a bit tiring and take plenty of warm clothing. We would stay again.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room on the top level
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jane P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Panchkula, India
Level Contributor
219 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2013

I visited this property twice in past and enjoyed my stay. This is located at Kufri/Chail road & is good to enjoy scenic natural beauty free from city hustle & bustle. The 40 acre property is a family place and every body can enjoy their holidays offers good food, good accomodation, good recreational activities and is value for money.

Room Tip: Prebook your stay with this property and choose rooms built at top.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Satish R B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shimla hotels
9.9 mi away
Shimla Havens Resort
Shimla Havens Resort
#18 of 111 in Shimla
4.0 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
1.6 mi away
Snow King Retreat
Snow King Retreat
#95 of 111 in Shimla
4.0 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
1.6 mi away
Toshali Royal View
Toshali Royal View
#30 of 111 in Shimla
4.0 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Fairmount Shimla Forest Greens
7.2 mi away
Hotel Marina
Hotel Marina
#11 of 111 in Shimla
4.0 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
8.5 mi away
Koti Resort
Koti Resort
#19 of 111 in Shimla
4.0 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shilon Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shilon Resort

Property: Shilon Resort
Address: Kufri Chail Road | Mundaghat, Shimla 171012, India
Region: India > Himachal Pradesh > Shimla District > Shimla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Shimla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Shilon Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located between Shimla & Chail Shilon Resort is a Slice Of Heaven for a true traveller.An all cottage resort built of a Mixture Of Traditional Himachal and Colonial architecture ,it offers luxurious experience to the guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK) and Evoline ltd so you can book your Shilon Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shilon Hotel Shimla

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing