We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Property”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Marigold Sarovar Portico
Ranked #12 of 112 Hotels in Shimla
Certificate of Excellence
National Capital Territory of Delhi, India
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful Property”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Very good resort with lots of open spaces and good view of the sunset. Rooms are very well maintained and the buffet breakfast and dinner were awesome with lot of variety . Staff is very helpful and attentive,

Room Tip: Plan for atleast 3 days stay so as to enjoy the place and surroundings
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PUNEET_DHAWAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    115
    135
    20
    7
    10
See reviews for
166
71
1
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chandigarh, India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

They hotel is a GREAT choice for Location, for Staff, for Room & for Food. Especially if you are a vegetarian like me. If you like Non-veg food, then food of this place is not for you. But Superb quality & choice for all family people with vegetarian choice. Staff is very nice too. The only issue I had with this hotel is few BUGs, Not much but some flies. If they can install some BUG zappers, I can leave some 5 Star hotels for my next trip & choose this one.

Another thing is, If you want a good view, choose either Deluxe rooms or Duplex on the back side of hotel.

Overall, Good Stay!

Room Tip: Look for DELUXE rooms if you want a good view, or choose Duplex on the back side. Otherwise, you mig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KulbirSinghVilkhu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chandigarh, India
2 reviews
Reviewed 20 June 2014

We stayed for 2 nights in April . It's a awesome property so neat , food too good , .staff too helping & courteous .full money value . It's a nice place away from noise and
pollution.landscsping is also awesome

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aditi t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nagpur, India
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Beautiful place with a very peaceful environment.The staff is very helpful and friendly. Nice cottages which rooms are very comfortable.but they must serve non veg they must have sign bords which shows location of their coottage from simla it is diff.while we reach at late night

Room Tip: ask for room towards hill side from were we can get beter vew
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vinayt33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

I have just come back from the trip to himachal , and this property near shimla was used by us on the 24th night , may 2014. The property in question is a decent one and has neat and clean rooms . But then when you go to the hills you go there for the view and not for sleeping and unfortunately the room which we got was overlooking walls and nothing else which was very disappointing , for the amount that was charged for a 1 night stay i definitely feel short changed and will not recommend this property to anyone , there are far better deals available.

this is not more than a home stay and not a resort.
to top it up the attitude of the management was not very cordial to say the least when apprised about the situation. we were told that there nothing written in black and white that the view will be good , hence there is no commitment from their side.

if this is the attitude of the manager in a service based hospitality industry , then you can just imagine what answer you will get for other things
Go this place if you want to see unplastered walls looking in your face when you go to your balcony in the morning to catch a view of the hills.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank YogeshKapoor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ambala
Level Contributor
43 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2014

Beautiful place with a very peaceful environment.Best part of this resort is that it has a pure vegetarian restaurant.
The staff is very helpful and friendly. Nice modern rooms and cottages which are very very comfortable.

Room Tip: Try their duplex cottages!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hitesh J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014 via mobile

I visited this place during Christmas time and stayed in deluxe room , it had very nice and had modern decor..... View from room was great .... Staff was very courteous ...room service was also great .... Only let down points were restaurant and heaters in the room ....

Overall nice place ...

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank 991mukeshm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shimla hotels
5.4 mi away
Snow Valley Resorts Shimla
3.8 mi away
Radisson Hotel Shimla
Radisson Hotel Shimla
#10 of 112 in Shimla
1,057 reviews
4.9 mi away
The Oberoi Cecil, Shimla
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Clarkes Hotel
Clarkes Hotel
#3 of 112 in Shimla
484 reviews
4.4 mi away
Hotel Willow Banks
Hotel Willow Banks
#13 of 112 in Shimla
480 reviews
4.6 mi away
Honeymoon Inn Shimla
Honeymoon Inn Shimla
#5 of 112 in Shimla
792 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marigold Sarovar Portico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marigold Sarovar Portico

Property: Marigold Sarovar Portico
Address: | Village Sidhora, Shimla 171007, India
Region: India > Himachal Pradesh > Shimla District > Shimla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Shimla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marigold Sarovar Portico 3.5*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marigold Sarovar Portico is located at Mashobra Hills in Shimla. The resort offers a virtual bonanza for nature-walk lovers and trekkers. Unearthing the most exciting Shimla trekking, water rafting & picnic opportunities of the hotel. The resort offers a platform to its guests to experience nature and his real self on one hand and on the other acquaint oneself with the country life in Himalayan Villages. The cottages at the resort are made of Himalayan Stone, which are a unique and specialized specimen of Shimla Architecture. Besides, the hotel will offer all modern facilities including all day dining, restaurant, bar, swimming pool, gym and spa, meeting rooms, banqueting facilities, conferencing and destination weddings and other services required for a good 4 Star Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Marigold Sarovar Portico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marigold Holiday Cottages Hotel Shimla

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing