We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel”
Review of Hotel Landmark

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Landmark
Ranked #29 of 112 Hotels in Shimla
New Delhi, India
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good Hotel”
Reviewed 19 August 2014

As it was a peek season so not much hotels were available so took a risk to book this hotel as saw some bad reviews of the hotel before going but the risk paid of very well as the rooms were good.Staff was very friendly and helpful and secondly rooms are with good view and location is superb and lift in hotel is connected to the mall.

Overall a very good experience at the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pradeepak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThakurPawan, General Manager at Hotel Landmark, responded to this review, 13 January 2015
Dear Valued Guest

Thanks for time given to review us on tripadvisor.

We appreciate your feed back and thanks for the appreciation.


We look forward to welcome you soon to your home in Shimla.

Thanks and Regards
Pawan Thakur
General Manager
Hotel Landmark,Shimla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

315 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    70
    143
    58
    25
    19
See reviews for
163
82
4
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, California
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Stayed at this hotel after we were flagged down by a guy on the roadside. Initially had my doubts about this place since they had a guy on the road trying to get customers. Free parking was nice and there is access to Mall Road from the 6th floor. The hotel is NOT new as they advertise, it might be recently renovated but NOT new. There is hot water in the bathrooms which is nice after a long day in the mountains. Be sure to remember this warning, DO NOT eat at the hotel restaurant. Again, DO NOT eat at the hotel restaurant. After a bout of food poisoning from the food there which resulted in me being sick for a week I am speaking from experience. There are plenty of other food options available, even right outside of the hotel on the 6th floor is a good tandoori restaurant that serves everything. Be sure to double check your bill when you check out because there were some charges for room service billed to our room for food that we never ordered. The staff did remove the charges without a problem but it was still bad that the charges were on our bill to begin with. I most likely will not stay at this place again because there are other hotels for the same price that are better in the area.

Room Tip: Double check the sheets to make sure they aren't stained. Ours were stained and they changed th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank anarayan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Pros:

Located close to mall road with good access - 5~10 minute walk to mall road from 6th floor of hotel. (BSNL building end)

The hotel has good parking area - 30 cars can be parked easily. However they can cramp further and increase that number to 40. If number of cars is more you need to give your key.

The valley facing rooms have very nice view of the army ground below and helipad. The valley is the one which is on the opposite side of mall road which is less commercialised and hence more green.

Cons:

Bathrooms aren't that clean. The staff doesn't take care of the cleanliness as you would expect in a Wildflower (stayed at Wildflower in 2011).

Breakfast options were very limited - poori bhaji, chane bhature, parantha curd, grill sandwich, tea, hot coffee. Nothing in desert and no fruits and no cold beverages. No corn flakes or mousli which according to me are basic and default selections. Restaurant staff however was very courteous - you can imagine that from the fact I still remember the name of head attendant - Virender Singh.

Room service is good if you order al-a-carte. Housing keeping was very swift - however the property wasn't even 50% full - so that could be the reason.

Room size is small. Have stayed in bigger rooms in hill stations.

Caution:

The climb to the porch of the hotel is very steep (about 40 meters for ~4 floors) - make sure that the full porch is empty while climbing and also you have space at the top before you climb.

Room Tip: Ask for room facing valley on the 4th floor. Buy some bananas as you may have visitor (monkeys) i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Suprav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014 via mobile

Excellent place to stay in shimla. Stayed for one night on 28.7.2014, along with my family. Everything is good about the hotel, more than what was expected.
Pros: Location ( located at entry point of shimla, just next to tunnel); Lift facility, which takes you on 6th floor of the hotel, so that the guest can go upto 'the mall', hardly half a km; Wifi ( was provided complimentary, though we didn't use it !!); Parking & stay for drivers; Pricing, reasonable;
Food quality was good; Rooms were neat n clean n spacious, we booked 1 s.deluxe,1family n 1 corner, all at 1st floor. Corner room no.104 is excellent as one has valley view along with view of 'Anadale ground' !! ;
Staff was very good n courteous; View from the Terrace is very good......
Cons: so far looking for it !!!

Suggestion:
It will be good if hotel provides battery operated transportation from their roof top up till 'the mall' (i.e as near to that possible or allowed by local Administration), it will benefit old aged people, etc.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Amit B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThakurPawan, General Manager at Hotel Landmark, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sparing your valuable time to review us on TripAdvisor.

We are delighted to note that during your stay, you have acknowledged The Hotel Landmark Shimla as The Best Hotel.

Your appreciation of our service and attention to detail, encourages us to continue with our efforts to pursue excellence.

Your feed back about battery operated transfers on Mall Road is a welcome suggestion but due to core area, administration do not allow any private transport system on Mall Road.

We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to your home in Shimla.

Thanks and Regards
Pawan Thakur
General Manager
Hotel Landmark,Shimla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ghaziabad, India
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

We stayed in this hotel in july 2014.
Hotel is well located near mall road,rooms were clean but smaller.

Towels soaps were missing while we checked in, had to call rooms service for the same.
Food quality is good.

Travel desk took too much time, and we had to wait 40 mins for cab.

Cab driver charged 300 Rs extra for dropping us to new bus stand which is below 10 km from there.

Room Tip: wifi charges 100rs/hour, if you book a cab confirm everything that is included.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vids_cs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThakurPawan, General Manager at Hotel Landmark, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Dear Valued Guest

We greatly appreciate your comments. Your positive feedback is a source of motivation for us as we try to achieve even higher standards of service and care.

We are happy to learn that your stay with us was up to the mark and that you were overjoyed with the services and facilities available.

Towels and soaps are always placed once we prepare room, but your feedback has been forwarded to the concerned department.

Kindly e-mail me at landmark@gmail.com about cab service you got so as to enable me to check with the vendor. Usually charges for ISBT drop are INR 300\- but need to check how you have been charged INR 300\- extra

Look forwards to see you soon in future.

Thanks and Regards
Pawan Thakur
General Manager
Hotel Landmark,Shimla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pune, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Hi,
I had been to Landmark Shimla around 21 feb to 25 feb approx.
I don't want to spoil the opinion of other travelers coming to stay here, the location of Hotel, its facility & food are all fine, so I don't want to the blame owner for anything.

However I had a very bad experience at reception desk while checking out from hotel!

As it had happened, I was required to extend my stay for 1 more day at Landmark Shimla depending on the availability of another hotel in Manali as I was willing to travel there. Luckily I got a room in good hotel in Manali and so I needed to cancel my extended stay at Landmark which I just committed verbally at reception, personally 2 mins before.
Surprisingly, they demanded me One thousand just for cancellation! Well, it were just those 2 mins for which they demanded 1000! really not justifiable!
Alright, I was also having some dilemma due to which I can't assure them....fine... at-least hand me the receipt of those Rs. 1000.....but they had nothing in response to my this question... instead they just stopped me from checking out with my luggage.... pathetic behavior...and indeed a shame.

Also, I would like to bring to notice of the travelers and Goibibo guys as well-
The hotel staff keep a different (weird) perspective towards you if you have a booking made thru goibibo, probably because you get a good deal thru Goibibo.

Room Tip: Choose any room as there is hardly any difference in size, so probably the cheapest room would be be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Amit_Manjre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThakurPawan, General Manager at Hotel Landmark, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Dear Valued Guest

Thanks for time given to review us on tripadvisor.

We appreciate your feed back and thanks for the appreciation about our location and food.

I am continuously working with my team to ensure flawless service and great memorable experience for all our guests.I am sorry for your experience at Reception but i would like to bring to your kind notice that for cancellations we have some policy just like other hotels which says that cancellation received within 72 hours attracts 100 % retention .But as per your statement and my records you have not been charged the amount you supposed to pay.

Further once the entry has been made in register and computer we can not manipulate records because there are authorities like Excise and Taxation and Tourism Department etc just to see the manipulations made in the records.They never accept excuses like 2 minutes , guest did not like the room etc.Not getting a receipt could be a point but why should one pay until unless some one gives you a receipt ?

You have your own observations but we cannot differentiate among our guests coming from different sources , if any agency provides discount to their guests that's in their marketing budget we get our payment as per our contract.


It will be great help if you could elaborate clearly the deficiencies found to landmark.sml@gmail.com

We will try our level best to improve and come up to your entire satisfaction next time you visit us.


Thanks and Regards
Pawan Thakur
General Manager
Hotel Landmark,Shimla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014

We went for family outing and stayed in family suite. Following aspects:

1. The staff is helpful and well mannered.
2. Their own packages for travelling are quite convenient.
3. They have their cab facility for pick n drop.
4. Room provided was good, well maintained and not cramped.
5. Near to mall road and railway station.
5. Food is not of good quality. We preferred eating out.

So, overall stay was comfortable.

Room Tip: Staywise good but eat food out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Amritansh4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThakurPawan, General Manager at Hotel Landmark, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sparing your valuable time to review us on TripAdvisor.

We are delighted to note that you along with your family enjoyed your stay at Hotel Landmark,Shimla.

Your appreciation of our services encourages us to continue with our efforts to pursue excellence.

Your feedback about food has been forwarded to the concerned department and action will be taken positively so as to come up to your entire satisfaction.

We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to your home in Shimla soon.

Thanks and Regards
Pawan Thakur
General Manager
Hotel Landmark,Shimla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shimla hotels
0.9 mi away
Hotel CK International
Hotel CK International
#19 of 112 in Shimla
300 reviews
0.9 mi away
Kapil Hotel
Kapil Hotel
#3 of 112 in Shimla
864 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Silverine
Hotel Silverine
#8 of 112 in Shimla
613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Willow Banks
Hotel Willow Banks
#16 of 112 in Shimla
489 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Combermere
Hotel Combermere
#25 of 112 in Shimla
448 reviews
1.2 mi away
Summit Le Royale Hotel
Summit Le Royale Hotel
#33 of 112 in Shimla
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Landmark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Landmark

Property: Hotel Landmark
Address: Near Gorton Castle Square, Shimla 171001, India
Region: India > Himachal Pradesh > Shimla District > Shimla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 112 Hotels in Shimla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Landmark 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Landmark is situated at the famous Mall Road.Hotel has some exceptional feauters i.e.! Connectivity from circular road to Mall Road! Exceptional valley view from rooms! Covered car parking! Two dedicated elevators inside Hotel! Toal 65 rooms categorized in Six categories to accomodate every segment of society as per their taste and requirement! 24 hour hot & cold water! Wooden flooring in all rooms! Centrally heated in winters! Assistance for secretarial services ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK) and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Landmark reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing