We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Peterhoff Shimla
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Marina(Shimla)
US$204
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$213
Radisson
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$208
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$152
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$110
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$76
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$122
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$118
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$132
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$296
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$246
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Kapil Hotel(Shimla)(Great Value!)
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
Reviews (167)
Filter reviews
167 results
Traveller rating
39
84
27
10
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
39
84
27
10
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbanquet hallhuge lawnstate museumhimachal tourismbig hallsgovt run hotelrooms are hugehuge parkingviceregal lodgehptdc websitebritish erathe snow capped mountainschaura maidanmain cityfirst floorhot water facilityplace to stay
Filter
Updating list...
141 - 146 of 167 reviews
Reviewed 19 December 2011

my dear friend if you are planning to go shimla and want to saty in luxirous hotel then this hotel is good for you lot of shooting centre is near to this place. you can visit Advance studies centre which is also known as viceroy lodge. really this place is good

Room Tip: rooms are big
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SandeepSaxena-IIP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2011

We reached d hotel at 8am, after walking a good distance uphill from where the volvo last stop. Beware of preying cab drivers waiting for d volvo. Its always a walking distance to the Hoff. Best is enquire for direction from the locals.
On reaching d Hoff, the room tht we booked wasnt free, so we'd to wait in d restnt for nearly two hrs, no prob, coz we gotta used d washroom n did our breakfast.
On the rooms, dont take d cheap ones, start from cozy double bedroom. Its 3700 + 12% Taxes.
The food is v good. We tried many items n all excellent. Room service was also good.
You cn get a cab for daily tour of Shimla from reception, but if u dnt trust d counter, u cn check out many other travel agents available on mall road, etc.
Dont forget d Advanced Studies Institute(viceregal's palace) a 7 mins walking from d Hoff. It opens at 9.30am n beware it closes on holidays.
The view of d hotel is awesome n more is d panaromic view of Southern Shimla.
Monkeys r common in d compound, but it seems everywer in Shimla, its d same monkeyfest.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Shanlang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2011

I stayed with my family for a few days in 2005 at Hotel Peterhoff Shimla. Probably the best location in Shimla and food was fantastic and reasonably priced. Walkable to the Mall etc if I remember and the view is just unforgettably beautiful from the hilltop. Owned by HP tourism, they really make you want to go back sometime again.

Overall you can expect a very good experience. (Unless a whole lot has changed since 2005)

Room Tip: They are all huge rooms. Its a british built structure.
  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Frequent_T_22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2011

The Peterhoff enjoys the best and most peaceful location in Shimla, away from the hustle and bustle, on a quiet ridge overlooking the valley.

The rooms are large and spacious with big picture windows. A lush green lawn welcomes visitors at the front of the hotel and there is more than adequate parking at the rear.

Service is prompt and courteous. The menu offers standard north Indian and Indian Chinese fare, whatever we tried was very tasty. The hotel also has a bar.

Furry monkeys and colourful Himalayan birds frequent the lawn.

The Ridge and Mall are a pleasant twenty minute walk away on one side and the stately Vice Regal Lodge is a short walk from the back entrance of the hotel. A rather run down little Himalayan aviary is just outside the back gate for anyone who is interested.

The Peterhoff is close to some of the finest forested walks in Shimla - to the Glen and to Annandale, far removed from the bustle of the Ridge.

This is a premier HPTDC property and rates are on the higher side compared to their other hotels. HPTDC offers a Privilege Card with substantial discounts on accommodation and F&B. This is worth considering if your stay at the Peterhoff and other HPTDC hotels is of more than a few days duration.

The best part of staying the Peterhoff is that one forgets the overbuilt urban conurbation that Shimla has now become. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Take a look at the room before checking in
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Gita-TA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2011

I stayed at Peterhoff along with family and kids in the second week of April. The weather was a bit nippy and the hotel great. The rooms were airy and clean. The food was actually great. Was a bit skeptical about the place after reading some adverse remarks, but found the place to my liking. The hotel is centrally located with a great view of the valley.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank vikasm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews