We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, Location, Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Shimla British Resort
Ranked #29 of 111 Hotels in Shimla
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Location, Location, Location”
Reviewed 14 February 2014

Off season, the electric fire (which didn't have a plug, just two wires pushed into the socket) barely made an impact on the cold in the room. The restaurant was (if possible) even colder. BUT the food was really good, the location was fantastic, and the building was a step back into the British Raj.
If I could have stayed longer I would have. It was more than I could have imagined.

Room Tip: If you come out of season, dress warmly
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HaxbyClive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
adityagoel162, Manager at Shimla British Resort, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from " Shimla British Resort!!!!"

Thank you for your heartfelt review. I am deeply humbled by your gracious comments. Team British Resort is very happy to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and we could add warmth to your beautiful memories.

Team British Resort is delighted with your praise and recognition of the location and the British Architecture and thanking you for your gracious comments and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

We have noted your comments regarding the lack of the proper electric sockets and it has been already taken care of.

Once again thank you for being such a wonderful guest and it was a delight to be your hosts.

Stay Blessed and Warm regards,
Shimla British Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    73
    44
    16
    7
    11
See reviews for
66
29
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2013

A little distance away from Mall Road, Shimla and difficult to access by big cars, lies Shimla British Resort. True to its moniker, it is a vintage-styled resort which makes for a comfortable stay. They provide amenities like room heaters, cable TV, etc. and the food is reasonable. It is priced slightly above your regular hotel, but totally worth it.

Helpful?
Thank shishirb2015
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
adityagoel162, Manager at Shimla British Resort, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings!!!

Thank you for the precious moments removed from your busy schedule to post a review for us.Team British Resort is happy to know that you appreciated our services an amenities and your stay with us was comfortable.

Thank you so much for this wonderful review. We truly appreciate it as it means a lot to us. We are glad that we could add warmth to your memories on your special trip.

Thank you being a wonderful guest and we look forward to welcoming you, your family and friends at Shimla British Resort!!!

Blessings and regards,
Shimla British Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Wuerzburg
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 November 2013 via mobile

British resort is well hidden in the woods, yet location is not bad at all and close to the railway station - the only downside is that you have to manage a steep ascent to reach Mall Street (15 min on foot). On the plus side you get a pretty and affordable (check out prices on indian hotel sites for good rates), laid back place to stay where few has changed since the Brits left. You'll come across some odd antiques, photographs, pianos...Gladly they renewed bathrooms and added all amenities you'd expect from modern hotels like flatscreens, rain showers, comfy mattresses, tea set, fridge, heater...There's a suite room in the main building, the Danish rooms (that's what we had) are just across the lawn in a beautiful old house. Food in the restaurant is good but pricey and rather luke warm. And don't expect too much (especially speed) from the service as well. That said we really liked the place, felt a bit like in the olden days and would come back for sure.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hsr008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
adityagoel162, Manager at Shimla British Resort, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings!!!

Thank you for the precious moments removed from your busy schedule to post a review for us.Team British Resort is happy to know that you appreciated our architecture an amenities and your stay with us was comfortable. Thank you so much for this wonderful review. We truly appreciate it as it means a lot to us. We are glad that we could add warmth to your memories on your special trip.

However, after reading your review,I did make the effort to manage our services and staff and provide more speedy and efficient service to our guests.

Thank you being a wonderful guest and we look forward to welcoming you, your family and friends at Shimla British Resort!!!

Blessings and regards,
Shimla British Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vientiane
Level Contributor
38 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2013

nice clean hotel in the heart of nature.
it was a good memory to stay there.
nice clean rooms with friendly hotel staff.
it was a good memory to stay there.
nice clean rooms with friendly hotel staffnice clean rooms with friendly hotel staff.
it was a good memory to stay there.
nice clean rooms with friendly hotel staff

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ManvendraVientiane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
adityagoel162, Manager at Shimla British Resort, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear Guest!!!

Greetings from "Shimla British Resort"!!!

We are overwhelmed and delighted with your praise and recognition of the Shimla British Resort .Thank you so much for this wonderful review. It encourages us and means a lot . Thank You. I am glad that you appreciated the services and amenities extended to you during your stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming your friends and family too at Shimla British Resort in the near future.Thank you once again for being such a wonderful guest and it was indeed a pleasure to be your hosts.

Warm regards,
Shimla British Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gurgaon, Haryana, India
Level Contributor
34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2013

I went to British Simla Resort with couple of friends. All over stay was really calm and nice. It's a old house so don't expect shiny stuff in hotel rooms. We took master bedroom in first cottage filled up with furniture and paintings from 19th Century. Staff is friendly and they also showed us the main house as well which has been showcased in several advertisements and movies.

Overall everything was nice and good.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Gaggid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
adityagoel162, Manager at Shimla British Resort, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear Guest!!!

Greetings from "Shimla British Resort"!!!

We are overwhelmed and delighted with your praise and recognition of the Shimla British Resort .Thank you so much for this wonderful review. It encourages us and means a lot . Thank You. I am glad that you appreciated the services and amenities extended to you during your stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming your friends and family too at Shimla British Resort in the near future.Thank you once again for being such a wonderful guest and it was indeed a pleasure to be your hosts.

Warm regards,
Shimla British Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 November 2013

Shimla British Resort is far away from main city about 10 mins from car... You may feel that its a haunted place while approaching it but once you enter the hotel rooms you will find the calmness... the hotel is in the forest far away from traffic and market area... best place to chill out with family and to relax... the rooms are amazing with a heritage look and it has new wing which has rooms with new looks and modern amenities but I would prefer you to stay in main block which is near restaurant... the staff is very polite and if hotel is not having rush then chef tends to prepare what we like to have..the food is awesome and is served hot on the plate on beautiful round table .. this hotel is the best place to relax outside the crowd and pollution...
less

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kunhal2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
adityagoel162, Manager at Shimla British Resort, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear Guest!!!

Greetings from "Shimla British Resort"!!!

We are overwhelmed and delighted with your praise and recognition of the Shimla British Resort .Thank you so much for this wonderful review. It encourages us and means a lot . Thank You. I am glad that you appreciated the services and amenities extended to you during your stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming your friends and family too at Shimla British Resort in the near future.Thank you once again for being such a wonderful guest and it was indeed a pleasure to be your hosts.

Warm regards,
Shimla British Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyderabad, India
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

I stayed in this hotel for 1 day. It was one of the most memorable experience. The rooms were awesome. The furniture's reminded of some other era. The hotel staff was very supportive, specially the manager. We stayed there well past the checkout time and he even managed a place in mall road so that we can keep our luggage there till the time we did not left for kalka.
many people have written about difficulty in reaching this resort. Well i don't know what happened to them but for me they provided with complimentary pick up and drop facility from railway station, and even complimentary drops to mall road. The Cedar forest surrounding the resort is beautiful and you can not ask for better location inside Shimla. Regarding price - i would say that i had a dirt cheap deal as i visited on a weekday and in off-season. So i would suggest to go for some bargain before sealing the deal. Manager is very good and he will certainly waive off whatever is possible.
From my point of view I would love to recommend this resort!

Room Tip: Try for a balcony room. Danish imperial rooms with balcony are very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Manujrohit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
adityagoel162, Manager at Shimla British Resort, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear Guest!!!

Greetings from "Shimla British Resort"!!!

We are overwhelmed and delighted with your praise and recognition of the Shimla British Resort .Thank you so much for this wonderful review. It encourages us and means a lot . Thank You. I am glad that you appreciated the services and amenities extended to you during your stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming your friends and family too at Shimla British Resort in the near future.Thank you once again for being such a wonderful guest and it was indeed a pleasure to be your hosts.

Warm regards,
Shimla British Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shimla hotels
1.3 mi away
Shimla Havens Resort
Shimla Havens Resort
#18 of 111 in Shimla
4.0 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Willow Banks
Hotel Willow Banks
#13 of 111 in Shimla
4.0 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Combermere
Hotel Combermere
#22 of 111 in Shimla
4.0 of 5 bubbles 435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
WelcomHeritage Woodville Palace Shimla
10.6 mi away
Sandhya Hot Spring Health Care
8.9 mi away
Snow King Retreat
Snow King Retreat
#94 of 111 in Shimla
4.0 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shimla British Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shimla British Resort

Property: Shimla British Resort
Address: Near Vidihan Sabha | Annadale Road, Shimla 171004, India
Region: India > Himachal Pradesh > Shimla District > Shimla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 111 Hotels in Shimla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Formerly the residence of a British Architect, is situated at an impressive 7250 feet above sea-level. The resort is surrounded by 2000 acres of magnificent cedar and pine forests and enjoys breathtaking views of the Greater Himalayas. All guest rooms and public areas overlook dense cedar forests. Shimla British Resort provides an opportunity to get close to nature and experience the mystery, romance and adventure of the Himalayas while enjoying the comfort and luxury in a setting which dates back to 1893. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing