We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing home stay”
Review of Aapo Aap Home Stay

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Aapo Aap Home Stay
Ranked #2 of 139 Shimla B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Amazing home stay”
Reviewed 26 February 2014

Shivi was an excellent host, making us feel welcome from the very beginning with delicious masala chai and biscuits after our long journey. He really took the time to talk to us about Indian culture and traditions which we really appreciated because we had so many questions. I went with a friend and we were completely blown away by the relaxing atmosphere and the very cosy feel to the place. It was quite cold when we were there and the electric blankets were a godsend. The rooms were spacious and comfortable with satellite television.
The dinner was excellent, I still dream about the dal we were served. Also the food was excellent value for money considering it was pretty much a buffet for 250 rupees. The breakfast was the only place in India that had real jam as well.
I would highly recommend this place and look forward to going back if I go back to India. Thank you Shivi for such a great stay!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jessvoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shivi S, Innkeeper at Aapo Aap Home Stay, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Dear Guest,

We enjoyed your company and we do hope to have you again.

Warm regards,
Shivi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    176
    17
    7
    2
    0
See reviews for
55
85
25
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, Delhi, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

We were not even supposed to come here. Our original destination, Fagu was snowed under and we were given the number of Shivi, whose family owns the place. We called him and he arranged for us to be picked up and brought to his homestay.

We were in a valley facing room. There was a large living room with a kitchenette and an equally big bedroom with adequate blankets, heaters and wonder of all wonders - an electric blanket. It was snowed out for the next two days but thanks to the power backup (rare even in hotels in the region) we were all nice and toasty.

I am a big fan of seclusion and from that point of view Aapo Aap is probably not adequate. There are a few quiet walks nearby though.

This is a great place for couples or families. The facilities are worth wayy more than what you actually pay. On top of that, Shivi is a great guy and he will go out of his way to make you feel comfortable and at home.

Room Tip: Talk to Shivi and explain your needs. He will suggest the best room for you. You can trust him. I di...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bsenroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2014 via mobile

We are a couple travelling and chose aapo aap home stay as it wasn't in the main busy part of shimla but easy to get into the centre via taxi. We were travelling in February 14 and shimla is very cold this time of year, but shivi our host made sure we had a heater and electric blankets at no extra cost with a kettle and tea and coffee in the room. We were also given extra wooly jumpers to use if needed!
We felt fully relaxed and taken care of for our three night stay. Exploring shimla town centre on one day - shivi lent us a great walking tour book which was much better than the travel guide we had. And one day wandering around the mountain to a monastery and getting henna art done.
The views r stunning from the large communal balcony.
Just make sure u get ur taxi driver to speak to aapo home stay on route as it is a little tucked away and our taxi driver got lost!

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Sally O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2014

We are currently traveling around Asia for a number of months and made the perfect decision in booking Aapo Aap for our Christmas, it was a perfect getaway from the trials of traveling and the bustle of India. We had one of the self-contained apartments and were able to make it feel like home for a few days.

Shivi was most accommodating with his advice, a lift into town when he was going that way, letting us borrow items from around the rest of the place to decorate our room to give a festive feel, delivering food to us in the room when my partner was unwell and even bringing us small xmas gifts which was a lovely touch.

The home was lovely, views amazing and made for a very relaxing stay.

Would definitely recommend, though only for those happy to be outside of Shimla itself...

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rgk82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Property is excellent, with a picturesque sight in the background, mix of green forest n bald patch of hill mounds, sun soaked bedrooms n drawing room makes u feel at home n with nature. gr8 stay but at a fraction of the hotel stay.

Though far from Shimla city... n that's why its in the lap of natural beauty.

Room Tip: seeing is believing
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sangwansurender
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nha Trang, Vietnam
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014

Very pleasant experience. Owner was very happy to accommodate our every request and even provided a mobile phone while in Shimla. nice clean and big rooms with views of the hills and valley. A little out of town however easily accessible by either public bus or taxi. as this is a homestay the place is rather quite however a refreshing change from the busy and noisy hostels. we virtually had a wing of the house to ourselves. would stay again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mtoco1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2013

I have stayed with my family from 26th to 30th December 2013. The place is amazing with excellent views of valley. Our stay has been memorable. The place being away from Shimla by about 15 kms, offers serenity and just right for people who enjoy staying away from city's chaos. Shivi with his ever smiling and helping attitude is a big support for the guests. He even helped us with our itinery

Veg food is personalised and absolutely enjoyable (non-veg not available).

For techno crazies.... no wifi available; which I think is a positive - you n family are alone with yourself and nature and have all the time to catch-up the lost time in city's busy schedules

Overall, an excellent stay and kudos to Shivi for making our stay wonderful......Donot forget to try their home made mango pickle.... While stying there, suggest visiting the nearby monastery. Having own vehicle is a definite plus point

Would definitely stay again and recommend to friends...

BM Rao
Mumbai

Room Tip: All rooms are valley facing. Staying in higher floor helps to move luggage easily
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank madhurao50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shimla hotels
3.4 mi away
Kapil Hotel
Kapil Hotel
#3 of 111 in Shimla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 851 reviews
2.5 mi away
Honeymoon Inn Shimla
Honeymoon Inn Shimla
#5 of 111 in Shimla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 784 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hotel CK International
Hotel CK International
#15 of 111 in Shimla
4.0 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Clarkes Hotel
Clarkes Hotel
#4 of 111 in Shimla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 478 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel Silverine
Hotel Silverine
#7 of 111 in Shimla
4.0 of 5 bubbles 591 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Oberoi Cecil, Shimla
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aapo Aap Home Stay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aapo Aap Home Stay

Property: Aapo Aap Home Stay
Address: | Aapo Aap Building, Near Sargheen Chowk, Panthaghati, Shimla 171013, India
Region: India > Himachal Pradesh > Shimla District > Shimla
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 139 B&Bs / Inns in Shimla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Aapo Aap Home Stay 2*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aapo Aap Home Stay - a bed and breakfast accommodation, is part of the initiative taken by the Himachal Pradesh Government to promote rural tourism & stands duly registered with the Himachal Pradesh Tourism Department. Distance from our homestay: Mall Road - 10 Km, Shimla Railway station & bus stand- 12 Km. Taxi charges Rs.400-600 For one side trip. Bus charges Rs.20-30 Per person for one way transfer. Free Wi-fi in the lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Cancelon so you can book your Aapo Aap Home Stay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing