We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A breakaway from the chaos!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mitwah Cottages

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Shimla
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Mitwah Cottages
Ranked #32 of 132 Speciality Lodging in Shimla
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A breakaway from the chaos!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2013

I visited Mitwah Cottages sometime in June 2013 and had a great stay! The service is amazing and the food is just awesome! We were stuck in our cottage due to heavy rains on one of the days. Yet we had a wonderful time since the property is surrounded by greenery and it also has a tree house! The staff also provided us with umbrellas to enjoy a nice stroll in the morning drizzle.
The rooms aren't excellent, but at that price and given that we booked at the very last moment, it was worthwhile. The washrooms however were my biggest problem. Our first room had a very tiny..extremely claustrophobic washroom. We had to ask for another room the following day with a larger washroom.
This was my first experience with home-stay and would recommend this for a peaceful break!

Room Tip: Ask for pictures of rooms and especially ask for rooms with bigger washrooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sohan_p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    8
    1
    0
    2
See reviews for
7
5
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Faridabad, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2013

I stayed there for 4 days, had a great experience. Good hospitality, served me awesome food at very nominal prices.
I liked its location too(away from city's noise and pollution). Big green trees surrounded by mountains with so many apple trees around.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chirag78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Udaipur, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2013

This is the place where you can enjoy & relax your life, out from the noisy & polluted biggg cities, Home away from Home, my first experience in Homestay & was fully satisfied. Its outside from the city on towards Naldehra makes it more beautiful. Big green trees, splendid mountains.
we reached cottage pretty early morning & it was raining & was chilled. as soon as we entered the premises somebody was there to welcome us. we stayed there for 03 nights. the food was awesome.
I would definitely will come with whole family to make them believe what heaven is all about.
No second thoughts to recommend Mitwah Cottage, Shimla.
Very thanks to Vikram, Sandeep & owner Sonia Singh....

Room Tip: They have 10 rooms, all rooms are good with the views. but let them decide what will be the best for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suniludr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new delhi
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2013

I stayed at Mitwa cottage for 3 days from 17 June to 20 June 2013 alongwith my family members and booked 3 bedroom cottage.
Even though surroundings are wonderful , staff is courteous. Bathrooms are very badly maintained. Out of 3 bathrooms , only 2 bathrooms had geysers out of which only one was working All six of us were using the same bathroom. even bedsheets were not changed. bed room occupied by me had different colours of upholstry. Bedsheet one colour and pillows of another colour. Two chairs in the room different colors of cushion cover. Curtainswere of 3 varities. Moreover it seems that property has not painted for the last atleast 5 yrs.
Conveyed to the owner also to make this property atleast livable.

Room Tip: Not recommended
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank savitaNewDelhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2013 via mobile

I had gone to this scenic place with great expectation n believe me wasn't dissatisfied at all. The staff s are extremely helpful , eager to please and always happy to serve. The food was wholesome and tasty. I would not hesitate to recommend this place to my friends. The Bonfire every evening on request was a awesome experience. Love to visit again.

Stayed March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Sujit S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
67 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2013

Stayed at this cottage for one night and thoroughly enjoyed our time there. Owner is very proud of his establishment and nothing was a bother. We arrived late but still got a lovely hot meal and personal service. Had a nature walk in the dark to see the flowers and get a feeling for the area. Thank you for taking care of us.

Room Tip: We stayed in the duplex type room, bedroom downstairs and upstairs. Not sure what else was available...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elaine J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2013

My friend had booked this cottage. We were here for two days.The place has a taste and courteous disposition...makes you feel at home. The place was most comfortable ,Staff is very courteous and ready to help. Food is of a great quality... Awesome Exprience
Our next visit to Shimla when occasion arises would definitevely be attractively supportted by this place...

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 525KChawla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shimla hotels
0.6 mi away
Marigold Sarovar Portico
Marigold Sarovar Portico
#13 of 111 in Shimla
4.0 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
0.6 mi away
Koti Resort
Koti Resort
#18 of 111 in Shimla
4.0 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
4.4 mi away
Honeymoon Inn Shimla
Honeymoon Inn Shimla
#5 of 111 in Shimla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 770 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Clarkes Hotel
Clarkes Hotel
#4 of 111 in Shimla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 456 reviews
4.2 mi away
Hotel Willow Banks
Hotel Willow Banks
#14 of 111 in Shimla
4.0 of 5 bubbles 458 reviews
4.9 mi away
The Oberoi Cecil, Shimla
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mitwah Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mitwah Cottages

Property: Mitwah Cottages
Address: Near Koti Resort, Shimla 171007, India
Region: India > Himachal Pradesh > Shimla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 132 Speciality Lodging in Shimla
Number of rooms: 6

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing