We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Northmoon - to our expectations”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Shimla
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Northmoon Homestay Shimla
Ranked #4 of 136 Shimla B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Delhi
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Northmoon – to our expectations”
Reviewed 6 November 2013

After having read about Northmoon on the internet and having seen the pictures we made up our mind along with another friend family to stay there during our trip to Shimla. After having spent first night in Shimla we were looking forward to move out of the hustle and bustle of the city to a quieter destination at Northmoon in Fagu with all the expectations. Having made to the place we were quite happy to find it to our expectations.

Rooms are spacious, wood paneled, cosy with a large windows providing scenic views of hills and forests from 3 sides and let in sunshine into the room for major part of the day. Toilets are spacious and clean. Being fussy about cleanliness, we were happy with that. A separate kitchen is also provided for the guests to cook. The Sharmas , the hosts/owners, live in their adjoining traditionally built old house which is interesting with low height doors and their cattle in the lower floor.

Sharmas are very warm hosts and Mr Sharma would keep you engrossed in some or the other interesting talk about his experiences. We at once felt at home. Mrs Sharma serves delicious Pahari cuisine, like ‘Siddoos’ with ghee-shakkar being one. They use locally produced organic vegetables. We had delicious organic apples, royal and golden varieties, picked from their orchards prior to our arrival. We loved the place so much that we extended our stay by another day.

Besides Shimla, there are other interesting places around like Narkanda, Thanedar, Naldehra (our friend played Golf course there), Chail. We were lucky to witness local traditional dance, at Hatu Devi temple on a hilltop with dense forests at Narkanda, by residents of a village who had brought their village deity to that temple. We missed our night safari at Talai due to shortage of time. We came back with a desire to return in different season, probably during snowfall.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank devinderp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    102
    13
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
63
34
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Had a wonderfull 2 day @ Northmoon. Its a fine balance of Homestay and Hotel experience. You live with the family, yet have your own privacy and comfort of a good room. Room size is large enough for kids to have fun and run around. The Owner and his family are committed to make your stay comfortable. Owner is well traveled and knowledgeable and one will enjoy having a chat with him about the Hills, life etc.
Will recommend it to anybody who is looking for something "hatke".
I stayed for 2 days, but wished had planned for couple of days more.

Room Tip: Take the top most room - A1. It has best view. Higher the better in hills.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Parag A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2013

After reading so many good reviews about Northmoon Homestay I felt it was too good to believe. But then I booked this property for 2 nights in Aug 2013. When we actually arrived and saw the place it was more than what you can read through reviews. I was sad with the fact that why we booked it only for 2 nights. It should have been a week or more atleast. The serenity and silence on top of the hill will make you stay back and not go out. I am sure one who is looking for a break from crowed and noise of vehicles must definitely visit this place. On top of this the home made food by Mrs. Sharma and person attention from Mr. Sharma will make your stay more pleasant and comfortable. Surrounded by apple orchids and valley side view is just too good. We just sat down in the baloney and enjoyed the view. All in all we will sure visit Northmoon Homestay once again. Thanks a lot Mrs. and Mr. Sharma for making us feel home away from home. Our little princess had lot of fun there and we fondly remember you for good memories and a nice and comfortable stay.

Room Tip: All rooms are good. Book any as there are only 4-5 rooms only.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Rakesh K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ludhiana, India
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2013

I had visited Northmoon in April 2013 and decided to visit it again in a different season .What could be better than monsoon ? so booked it for 15-17 August and reached there.As soon as we entered into the valley i left vehicle and started walking towards the Northmoon .The valley in-front of Northmoon in monsoon shows a different world.I took so many snaps .When reached there Mr. Sharma were waiting for me with his everlasting smile.
I spent two nights and felt very good to be there.I wanted to stay more but people with me were tired as they were out of home since 7-8 days.
this time i fulfilled my long desire to pick apples and eat them in the apple garden itself. An apple tree was just outside the window of my room.We walked through the apple archred and took many snaps. next day morning we walked into the deep valley for two-three kms and came back after spending two-three hours .
Having our dinner in Sharmaji's parental kitchen was speechless experience. We again enjoyed ''Siddhu'' with deshi gee. It was really awesome .
Last day sharmaji took us to a place which was incredible .This was around 10 km from Talai .A very vast valley view which was unforgotable.
On our third day we returned with another desire to come back in winters also .I hope i would be there again in december or January .

Here i suggest tourists not to stay in Shimla city as they would remain unblessed with the real beauty of Himanchal .There are so many homestay in villages which are approved with Himanchal govt. .Just choose any one(must see tripadvisor's rating) of them and always stay in a village.You would be wrong if you think that villages are not properly connected with big towns and they do't have basic facility .Himanchal has good road connectivity and 100% electrification .Literacy rate is also high so you would feel always comfortable in villages .This would help in improving rural economy also.
Finally my sincere thanks to Suresh sharma ji and his wife Indira sharmaji who made our stay most comfortable.

Room Tip: all roms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank mishrack_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ludhiana, India
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2013

Northmoon Homestay is an ideal place to stay for those who want to stay away from tourist crowd of Shimla City. Situated 22 KM away from city in Fagu Valley, it offers excellent views and enough fresh air that will help you to relax and get rid of all tensions of your busy life.

Apple trees of Mr. Sharma are just at an arm length from rooms and you can enjoy sweet apples directly from trees. Rooms are big and beautiful. Mr and Mrs. Sharma do lot of hard work to make sure that you get all facilities you can expect in a high quality hotel. Food is fresh and home cooked by Mrs.Sharma

Overall, it is a great place for a peaceful vacation and at reasonable prices where you will always love to come back.

Room Tip: All rooms offer great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Gagandeep S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chandigarh, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2013

My sincere thanks to the Sharma family for making my visit memorable.It was sheer paradise away from the sweltering heat of the plains.My first experience at a homestay with excellent food was great.The view of the mountains and apple orchards are inviting all through the year ,but would love to go and pluck some nice and juicy apples.

Room Tip: Room at the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Gbk283
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2013

For those who want to stay away from the city busy life and want to be close to mountains covered with the Green all around this is the ideal place to stay. The place is not very far from Shimla city and will take less than 1 hour drive to reach. Life is not busy around here and one could stay peacefully here without having to worry anything about the service which is taken care well by Sharmaji.
After a long and tiresome journey from Bangalore we reached late night around 11 PM in Shimal, we were surprised and happy to see Sharma himself to pick us. Even though it was past mid night when we reached home stay we were taken care very well with the same service as one would expect during the day time.
Sharmji was very polite and helpful during our stay and helped us with arranging the cab to visit the places we had planned for. We loved the food (only Veg) prepared by Sharmaji's wife which took care of our taste bud and appetite. The food was well served and always ontime as requested by us. We would never forget the hospitality received here and will always be my preference to stay here if i ever plan to Visit Shimla again.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Suhas N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shimla
8.1 mi away
Kapil Hotel
Kapil Hotel
#3 of 111 in Shimla
840 reviews
7.9 mi away
Honeymoon Inn Shimla
Honeymoon Inn Shimla
#5 of 111 in Shimla
781 reviews
9.3 mi away
The Oberoi Cecil, Shimla
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Wildflower Hall, Shimla in the Himalayas
9.8 mi away
Snow Valley Resorts Shimla
10.6 mi away
Shimla Havens Resort
Shimla Havens Resort
#18 of 111 in Shimla
234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Northmoon Homestay Shimla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Northmoon Homestay Shimla

Property: Northmoon Homestay Shimla
Address: Village Talai, Post Office Fagu, Shimla 171209, India
Region: India > Himachal Pradesh > Shimla District > Shimla
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 136 B&Bs / Inns in Shimla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A real homestay in a peaceful village near Shimla city. You can have close view of the Himalayas from the front window. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing